Can't reinstall WMC in Windows 10 DISM error?

Discussion of getting WMC to work on Windows 10 (unsupported)
Post Reply
mikecandu

Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2015 4:31 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

Can't reinstall WMC in Windows 10 DISM error?

#1

Post by mikecandu » Sun Mar 03, 2019 2:22 am

Hi,

I installed WMC on a windows 10 PC and it worked for a while. I was going to set up a couple extenders tonight and I noticed WMC had disappeared, or at least the EXE file wasn't working.

I tried to reinstall and ran into this error:

[https://1drv.ms/u/s!AsJiko0hVbGs52NO4aQQQ4ZE0BFs

Hopefully that link will work. Something like "the specified package is not compatible with this image". DISM apparently stands for Deployment Image Servicing and Management tool.

Anyone seen an error like this before?

Mike

pbcopter

Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2014 6:13 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#2

Post by pbcopter » Mon Mar 04, 2019 4:19 pm

I would run the uninstaller in WMC 8.8.2 then reboot and reinstall using WMC 8.8.2.

mikecandu

Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2015 4:31 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#3

Post by mikecandu » Fri Mar 15, 2019 10:46 pm

Hi,

It seems I have the wrong version of DISM for the download.

This is what happens after I run Installer.cmd:

**********************************************************************************

Prepare...

Install DISM packages...

Deployment Image Servicing and Management tool
Version: 10.0.17763.1

Image Version: 10.0.17763.379

Processing 1 of 1 - Adding package Microsoft-Windows-MediaCenter-Package~31bf3856ad364e35~amd64~~6.3.9600.16384
[==========================100.0%==========================]

Error: 0x800f081e

The specified package is not applicable to this image.

The DISM log file can be found at C:\WINDOWS\Logs\DISM\dism.log


Installing package failed, reverting...

You may reboot and try again
refer to C:\Windows\Logs\CBS\CBS.log to find error details

Press any key to exit.

McGary

Posts: 69
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2014 1:03 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#4

Post by McGary » Mon Mar 25, 2019 8:22 am

Did you get this resolved? I noticed you're using v1809 => does anyone have WMC working with this release?

… note that just to complicate matters even more v1903 is only a few weeks away !!

I think the best approach for WMC is to simply keep your WMC machine on Windows 7 :-)

Post Reply