Restore on new windows installation

An evolving, supported alternative to Rovi
Forum rules
★ Download the latest EPG123 here: http://epg123.garyan2.net <> Setup guide here: http://epg123.garyan2.net/downloads/epg123_Guide.pdf
Post Reply
Kick4U

Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 7:36 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

Restore on new windows installation

#1

Post by Kick4U » Mon Dec 31, 2018 1:53 am

I'm encountering the same problem as described on this thread:
viewtopic.php?f=5&t=8203&p=83308&hilit= ... a0b#p83308

It seems GuideTool 1.2.5 doesn't allow me to restore without donating, but the donation feature doesn't work since the website is down. Also noticed a GuideTool 1.4 was released, but can't find a download for it.

Is there a "best practice" to creating a backup and restoring on a different OS install?

Old OS was Windows 7 x86 Ultimate
New OS is Windows 7 x64 Ultimate

Same computer:
AMD Athlon II 170u2.00GHz
4GB Ram
ATI TV Wonder HD 650
MCE 6.0

Please let me know if I need to provide more information.

Thanks!

Edit: I have reinstalled a few times and found that setting up EPG123 as a new system is working fine. I just can't use a backup that had everything setup already (channel order and lineups).

Here's the crazy part: it seems the tuner is fine; when I navigate to Tasks->settings->TV->Guide->Edit Channels and have a channel disabled and saved. The 'Show Preview" works! The preview WON'T work with the channel enabled and this is causing me the frustration.

Kick4U

Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 7:36 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#2

Post by Kick4U » Mon Dec 31, 2018 3:19 am

So I found where the problem is, but not a simple solution. After using Guide Editor 2.1.0.2 (viewtopic.php?f=44&t=97) I found that I had to "Clear All" from the 'Edit Channels' page and enable the channels manually using Guide Editor 2.1.0.2; even though it seemed like enabling them within MCE was doing the same thing.

I found that selecting all the channels in EPG123 and clicking one of the check boxes enables all the channels at once!

So... after a fresh installation of Windows, you can use the Restore feature in EPG123, than go into MCE settings and clear all the channels, than return to EPG123 and enable the channels. Not sure why this is the only way it works on my computer. Maybe it's because the ATI driver for my tuner is flaky and never officially supported for Windows 7?

Anyways, it seems to be working! Thanks!

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 3602
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#3

Post by garyan2 » Mon Dec 31, 2018 4:36 am

Kick4U wrote:
Mon Dec 31, 2018 3:19 am
I found that selecting all the channels in EPG123 and clicking one of the check boxes enables all the channels at once!
Yes, multi-select works. The space bar would have worked as well to check and uncheck all the selected channels.

Not quite sure of what was going on before, but glad you got it working. The best thing to do now, once you have all your customizations done (channel number, names, groups, ...) is to click the [Backup] button in the client. That will create a zip file with all that information to be available whenever you need it.
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

Kick4U

Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 7:36 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#4

Post by Kick4U » Mon Dec 31, 2018 4:52 pm

So I went ahead and reinstalled Windows x86 to see if it was an issue between backing up on x86 and restoring on x64. Unfortunately the same issue came up again.

It's crazy how I have to disable the channels in MCE and enable in EPG123 to make the channels work. Disable than enable within MCE won't work (even if I disable, restart computer, and enable in MCE) nor does disable and enable in EPG123.

I'm not sure how this can work within EPG123, but once I do this once the restore feature works without a problem.

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 3602
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#5

Post by garyan2 » Mon Dec 31, 2018 5:07 pm

Kick4U wrote:
Mon Dec 31, 2018 4:52 pm
So I went ahead and reinstalled Windows x86 to see if it was an issue between backing up on x86 and restoring on x64. Unfortunately the same issue came up again.

It's crazy how I have to disable the channels in MCE and enable in EPG123 to make the channels work. Disable than enable within MCE won't work (even if I disable, restart computer, and enable in MCE) nor does disable and enable in EPG123.

I'm not sure how this can work within EPG123, but once I do this once the restore feature works without a problem.
I'm actually surprised you can get it to work at all between the x86 and the x64 installs... not because 1 is 32-bit and the other is 64-bit, but because they are completely different installs and your tuner drivers may assign a different GUID. If the GUID is different between, then the restore will probably not work because WMC will be looking for a tuner that is not there. Since you get some level of success, then I figure it is due to your tuner being an internal card.

EPG123 does some level of repair to the merged channels in the database if it sees an issue. Is there anything in the trace.log file describing those repairs?
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

Kick4U

Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 7:36 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#6

Post by Kick4U » Mon Dec 31, 2018 5:49 pm

It's a USB tuner! The GUID is different, which I had originally assumed as the problem and figured there was no way to make it work... but it does work, just need to do a few presses of the mouse within MCE to disable the channels and enable afterwards in EPG123 and voila!

trace.log only shows that importMcfFile was successful, ReindexSearchRoot was successful, and RunWmcTask was successful. Nothing strange at all.

Happy New Year!!!

Kick4U

Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 7:36 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#7

Post by Kick4U » Wed Jan 02, 2019 3:32 am

Excited too soon. It seems the recording feature has been broken. I can't record live shows or create upcoming recordings. I guess I'll reinstall Win7 to see if recording didn't break from sometime else that I've done in the last few days. Will report back in a few days...

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 3602
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#8

Post by garyan2 » Wed Jan 02, 2019 3:40 am

I've seen this a couple times and have no idea why it happens, but take a look at the sources for your channels (settings->TV->Guide->Edit Channels and select a channel and then click 'Edit Sources'). You will probably find that your recording sources are disabled... hence nothing is scheduled to record. This is probably a side effect of how you were trying to restore your previous setup.

I would suggest simply biting the bullet and starting from scratch with WMC and EPG123.
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

Kick4U

Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 7:36 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#9

Post by Kick4U » Wed Jan 02, 2019 8:28 pm

You got me thinking and I found 'guid' and 'recorderId' within lineup.mxf needed to be changed.

After the LiveTV setup is completed a file is created under 'C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\ehome\mcepg2-0\backup\lineup'. The newest file needs to be scanned for the parameters 'guid' and 'recorderId' around line 55. All that needs to be done is to use these two parameters in place of the old ones within the backup.zip file.

Tried a few times it is working great.

Original backup 'lineup.mxf' line 55:

Code: Select all

      <Device id="004CE" guid="323f4728f89b409091b38e02b54a45d4" countryCode="US" name="ATI AVStream Analog Tuner" recorderId="61dfd177-4731-4238-8f70-1a03b0b60622" preferredOrder="11050" isChannelTuningInfoSupported="false" isDVBTuningInfoSupported="false" isStringTuningInfoSupported="false">
New lineup file found under 'C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\ehome\mcepg2-0\backup\lineup' line 54:

Code: Select all

      <Device id="003F5" guid="8f534298324743fdb771f9fdfdcb0ee8" countryCode="US" name="ATI AVStream Analog Tuner" recorderId="66fcddf8-e31b-4208-8f7a-f6de8417c061" preferredOrder="12050" isChannelTuningInfoSupported="false" isDVBTuningInfoSupported="false" isStringTuningInfoSupported="false">
New edits of backup 'lineup.mxf' line 55:

Code: Select all

      <Device id="004CE" guid="8f534298324743fdb771f9fdfdcb0ee8" countryCode="US" name="ATI AVStream Analog Tuner" recorderId="66fcddf8-e31b-4208-8f7a-f6de8417c061" preferredOrder="11050" isChannelTuningInfoSupported="false" isDVBTuningInfoSupported="false" isStringTuningInfoSupported="false">

Notice, the reason the lines don't match up is that the EPG123 backup file had '<Type name="CodedApplicationBinding" />' on line 20 which the mcepg2 file did not.

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 3602
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#10

Post by garyan2 » Wed Jan 02, 2019 8:39 pm

That is awesome... I'll work on this and I may include a WMC transfer ability. Don't know how it will look, but the ability will be there!

Great work! :thumbup:
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

Kick4U

Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 7:36 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#11

Post by Kick4U » Wed Jan 02, 2019 10:39 pm

That would be awesome! I'm glad I found it.

I'm getting a second tuner in about a week and will poke around at the xml to see what issues will arise when two are present and if there is a way to easily distinguish between them.

Thanks for the help

Post Reply