New Install - No Tuners

Discussion of getting WMC to work on Windows 10 (unsupported)
Post Reply
moshsom

Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2017 11:33 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

New Install - No Tuners

#1

Post by moshsom » Wed Aug 09, 2017 11:43 pm

I just built a new computer and installed the latest windows 10 version 1703 build 15063.540. I have a hdhomerun prime running latest firmware 20170808beta2. I have tried several installation packages of WMC for windows 10. Ive used 8.8, version V12 and whatever else I could find. Most of them installed just fine and launched without a problem. The main issue I am running into is when I try to setup live tv I get the no tuners error. I've spent hours reading through forums trying lots of fixes but nothing seems to work. Including the sleep wake up fix. I'd love to not have to roll back to windows 8.1 if possible! Any direction would be greatly appreciated, thanks in advance!

SpencerC

Posts: 121
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2015 1:35 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#2

Post by SpencerC » Thu Aug 10, 2017 2:38 am

Read thru this and see my comments. I noted all the steps I've taken to get this set up on my new computer. You will need an older version of Win10 to utilize your HDHomeRun with Cable card. viewtopic.php?f=97&t=11013

moshsom

Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2017 11:33 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#3

Post by moshsom » Thu Aug 10, 2017 3:12 am

I have two version of windows 10 I can install. One is 1703 the other is 1607. You think 1607 will be the way to go or I need to get a 1511 iso? Thanks so much for your help and the link to the thread. Been reading for hours my head is spinning :crazy:

SpencerC

Posts: 121
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2015 1:35 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#4

Post by SpencerC » Thu Aug 10, 2017 6:35 am

I'm not too sure about 1607, but I know for sure that 1703 won't work. They are intentionally trying to break WMC on Win10 with the updates. At least that is my opinion. What I do know is that my old computer was running 1511 and I was able to get WMC working, along with everyone else. Then when updates occurred it started breaking things. As a result, with my new computer I set it to the state of my old computer at 1511 and disabled windows updates. You can try 1607. But you will definitely need to older drivers for HDHomeRun that was listed in that thread.

SpencerC

Posts: 121
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2015 1:35 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#5

Post by SpencerC » Thu Aug 10, 2017 6:42 am

with that said, if you are uncomfortable with getting your computer patched, go back with windows 8.1 or find another solution.........and in my opinion there really isn't a better solution yet to WMC. SiliconDust is working on a DVR solution but it isn't complete. And it requires you to update the drivers for your HDHomeRun and those drivers break WMC.

moshsom

Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2017 11:33 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#6

Post by moshsom » Thu Aug 10, 2017 5:22 pm

I totally agree WMC is the best, nothing else even comes close to it. I've been using it for years on windows 8.1 and finally upgraded my 10 year old computer and thought id try win 10 again. Hopefully one of these days soon plex or HDHomerun DVR will work more like WMC. I found a 1511 iso and plan to install it today, fingers crossed! Thanks again for your help.

SpencerC

Posts: 121
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2015 1:35 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#7

Post by SpencerC » Thu Aug 10, 2017 6:50 pm

good luck!

moshsom

Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2017 11:33 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#8

Post by moshsom » Thu Aug 10, 2017 10:41 pm

OK! I got it work flawlessly with the help of your thread. To make it easier for people I wrote some notes while trying this out and have listed the steps below:

1. Installed windows on a freshly formatted disk with Windows 10 version 1511 build 10586 (google search for iso)

2. Update using KB3176493 to upgrade to version 1511 build 10586.545 (google search for direct download of update)

3. Install older hdhomerun drivers, disable updates / don't update when prompted (hdhomerun_windows_20150826.exe another google search)

4. Install version 8.8.1 WMC for windows 10 (search on the forums here)

5. Run WMC as admin and run live tv setup - Tuners found!

6. PlayReady would not install right away for me. I had to click next and back a few times, then I clicked next after it wouldn't install. After that, there are two options back or finish. I hit back to get to the PlayReady install section and tried it again. Boom, for some reason it worked this time.

7. Had to do a restart (don't remember why) but in the time I was messing with PlayReady, Windows installed an update KB4034660. After reboot I had a tuner conflict issue.

8. Go to windows updates options / uninstall windows features and uninstall KB4034660 (I forget if I had to restart after that or not, if I was forced to I did, if I wasn't I probably didn't) but I was back in action and able to watch live tv again.

9. No guide data will download - which was standard for me from past installs even on Windows 8.1 (even tried adding the two ip's to my hosts file - but no luck)

10. Install and use EPG123 with my subscription for SchedulesDirect.

11. Pop a can of beer and watch / record some tv! Thanks SpencerC for your direction! Now I need to figure out how to stop windows from updating permanently instead of just deferring updates. I'll follow up if I get that far.

cwinfield

Posts: 558
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2013 1:14 am
Location: Monroe, NC

HTPC Specs: Show details

#9

Post by cwinfield » Thu Aug 10, 2017 11:47 pm

All you need to do to stop windows 10 updates is stop windows update service and change to manual. This also unfortunately causes issues using the store and needs to be re enabled to download any apps you want to install.

SpencerC

Posts: 121
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2015 1:35 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#10

Post by SpencerC » Fri Aug 11, 2017 4:21 pm

cwinfield wrote:All you need to do to stop windows 10 updates is stop windows update service and change to manual. This also unfortunately causes issues using the store and needs to be re enabled to download any apps you want to install.
Exactly!

But I set the windows update service to disabled instead of manual. Just an extra pre-caution.

Post Reply