Unable to connect to Media Center Extender (Win 10)

Discussion of getting WMC to work on Windows 10 (unsupported)
MrSaturn

HTPC Specs: Show details

Unable to connect to Media Center Extender (Win 10)

Post by MrSaturn » Sun Apr 24, 2016 4:46 am

I've been using WMC for a few years now with my HDHomeRun Prime on Win 7 or Win 8.1 computers, but I finally decided to see if I could get it to work on my Win 10 machine. I've (finally) got WMC working great on Win 10, and can see all of my channels perfectly. However, when I try to add an extender, everything falls apart. I modified termsrv.dll as instructed in a YouTube video (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PtzKsAjH-hw), but I'm still having no luck. Every time I attempt to connect to my extender, WMC locks up entirely (I've tried waiting over an hour, and it never proceeds) and the Media Center Extender Service in Windows is disabled. Is there something I'm missing? Does anyone have any ideas?

This is where it seems to most frequently lock up, though it sometimes happens before the "searching" step:

Crash2009

Post by Crash2009 » Mon Apr 25, 2016 1:44 am

Meluvalli was the first in the world to get the Xbox working in WMC_6.3.9600.16384_x64_v12 (aka v12) within Windows 10 Version 1511 (OS Build 10586.0)

What WMC Version are you using? (the full number please)

This process uses RdpWrapper, your Termsrv edits will have to be restored to original. I believe the original termsrv is available on the RdpWrapper site, if your original is unavailable. The 2nd link details the configuration of RdpWrapper
Basically you would need to uninstall some updates to get your Windows 10 down to 10586.0 Then download and extract WMCv12. Place a couple files in the v12 bin (Mcx2Prov and NtRights). Possibly edit install.bat using Notepad++. Then figure out how to install v12. If you get it right, v12 will update all the hard links with the OS and your Xbox's will become installable.

Here is the link to his directions.