HP Stream 200-010 Mini Desktop

A place to talk about GPUs/Motherboards/CPUs/Cases/Remotes, etc.
jdpapas

HTPC Specs: Show details

HP Stream 200-010 Mini Desktop

Post by jdpapas » Fri Apr 10, 2015 6:54 am

I'm finally tiring of using my MCE over wireless, and losing playback anytime someone makes popcorn, and want to get a simple HTPC to put next to the TV and run WMC on Windows 8.1.

This is my first time looking into an HTPC, and I'd love some advice on choosing the right PC. Apologies in advance for what are likely noob questions.

I found the HP Stream 200-010 on Amazon, and I like the form factor, but am not sure it will pack enough oomph.

Specs:
Processor: 1.47 GHz Celeron 2957U
RAM: 2 GB DDR3
Memory Speed 1600 MHz
Hard Drive: 32GB M.2 SATA Solid State Drive
Wireless Type 802.11bgn
Number of USB 3.0 Ports 4
Video graphics: Intel HD Graphics. Up to 983MB Total Available Graphics Memory as allocated by Windows 8

I plan on perhaps upgrading to 6GB RAM and 128 GB SSD to give a little bit more space.

For a tuner, I was planning on the Ceton InfiniTV 6 ETH.
Looking at the minimum requirements from Ceton, it seems like I might be ok for memory, graphics, and CPU, but I'm worried about storage.

128 GB isn't much, and while I could plug in an external 2T USB HDD, I worry that reads/writes over USB might affect playback performance.

Thoughts?

Ed 

Post by Ed  » Fri Apr 10, 2015 8:22 am

If all you're doing is recording and playback, no transcoding, that CPU will be fine.

4GB of RAM is all you need for HTPC duties. 6GB won't hurt, but won't help really either. Just FYI.

I'd recommend the HDHomeRun Prime over the Ceton unit.

You don't want to record to an SSD, the constant writes will decrease the lifespan of the drive. Go the USB route.

Be sure to uninstall everything, and I mean everything, that comes preloaded on that PC.