Trying to Keep Media Center in the Publics View

jfreiman

HTPC Specs: Show details

Trying to Keep Media Center in the Publics View

Post by jfreiman » Sun Jul 06, 2014 8:44 am

Well, other than the other Windows Media Center believers on this forum, there ins't much being talked about regarding Windows Media Center.

So I figured I'd write a couple blog postings about the benefits of Windows Media Center and how Windows Media Center compares to offerings from Apple and Google.

Entertainment Wars – Cable and Network Programming http://audiovideofile.wordpress.com/2014/07/06/1059/
Satya Nadella: The Answer is Xbox One Media Center http://audiovideofile.wordpress.com/201 ... ia-center/

I'm not a professional writer, but I figured that the squeaky wheel gets the grease -- so I'm trying to be really squeaky! Hopefully this will inspire more of us to shout out loud how great a platform we have and how it's available to everyone.

choliscott

Post by choliscott » Sun Jul 06, 2014 11:38 pm

One thing I noticed was the lack of Windows 7 being mentioned. Windows 7 (besides Home Basic) came with WMC & if someone had to purchase Windows, 7 OEM would be cheaper then 8 Pro OEM (since you only need 7 Home Premium at a minimum).

While there is a lack of discussion that we can see (especially from MS), I'm thinking there is more active discussion then we think there is. For example, if you look at the deal websites that show a Ceton or Silicon Dust TV tuner device on sale, there are multiple pages of people talking about it in some fashion. Along with that, there is probably other discussion between friends & family where one tells there friend about this "exciting" new thing they got or a friend or family notices something different & starts to ask questions.

While your article did cover some items, usually people want to know the following:

1) How much is it going to fully cost me (initially & monthly) for the hardware & software & how quickly can I start to save money.