After using extender, FF/RW/Skip stops working on main HTPC?

Troubleshoot and discuss the XBOX 360, XBOX One, Linksys, and other extenders.
mobidutch

HTPC Specs: Show details

After using extender, FF/RW/Skip stops working on main HTPC?

Post by mobidutch » Tue Jun 24, 2014 1:46 am

I have been using a Windows 7 Media Center HTPC for several years, and so far it has enjoyed a pretty good wife-acceptance-factor. We recently added a TV in the bedroom, and in an attempt to preserve the WAF, I went with a LinkSys DMA2100 media extender. The extender itself seems to work great..pretty much replicating the same media center experience to the bedroom (minus the Netflix plugin).

However...every time I start an extender session in the bedroom, the fast/skip forward and rewind functions on the main HTPC in the living room stop working, and only a reboot will fix it. What could be causing this? Has anyone else seen this same issue?

Thanks!

barnabas1969

Post by barnabas1969 » Tue Jun 24, 2014 1:29 pm

Do you have iTunes installed on the PC?

mdavej

Post by mdavej » Tue Jun 24, 2014 1:42 pm

It's also been recently discovered that Google running in the background can also hijack remote control functions. So check your tray and make sure Google isn't running.

barnabas1969

Post by barnabas1969 » Tue Jun 24, 2014 2:02 pm

mdavej wrote:It's also been recently discovered that Google running in the background can also hijack remote control functions. So check your tray and make sure Google isn't running.
I think that probably depends on the extensions which are installed in Google Chrome. I have Chrome running in the tray for AutoRemote (to forward events from the Tasker app on my smartphone to EG on the HTPC), and it doesn't affect the Media Center remote.

mobidutch

Post by mobidutch » Tue Jun 24, 2014 5:28 pm