XP MCE 2005 Rebuild and Extender software?

Troubleshoot and discuss the XBOX 360, XBOX One, Linksys, and other extenders.
grcsomd

HTPC Specs: Show details

XP MCE 2005 Rebuild and Extender software?

Post by grcsomd » Fri Dec 28, 2012 2:54 am

Hi Folks,

I have been using a Dell XPS and Win XP/MCE 2005 since about 2007. I have 2 Xbox 360s and 4 Linksys extender devices which have all historically worked fine. (granted no HD to the Linksys, but OTA HD works on the 360s..) I am using Hauppauge and VBox (HD) tuners. With a Terabyte USB HD, the platform serves well as a big DVR. Anyway, a few months ago things started melting down on me... First one, then multiple Linksys extenders would not connect. Went through the whole regenerate the secret keys bit, removed accounts from XP MCE, nothing worked. I decided to attempt another ground up rebuild of the OS, all drivers, etc.. I left it alone for a while, but then started the complete rebuild today... and I am almost done except for one thing... I cannot find the Media Extender/Manager software anywhere anymore. Last time I went through this drill was in late 2010.. I think there was a download on http://www.xbox.com/pcsetup but it points to Microsoft now which only supports Vista+ now in extenders.. :(

So I did check out both Microsoft and Xbox sites.. Googled around quite a bit.. and the support for the XP MCE 2005 extenders has kind of disappeared to say the least.. If anybody has those files stashed away somewhere so I could reinstall the Media Center Extender Manager utilities that are required.. it would help me out big time.. I will try other avenues of course... and my search is just beginning.. but I figured I would start here. I should have saved off those installation packages but I thought possibly there would be updates out there..