Two missing cable channels

Help with tuners from ATI, Hauppauge, AverMedia and more.
rbmorse

HTPC Specs: Show details

Two missing cable channels

Post by rbmorse » Sun Jan 22, 2012 3:38 pm

Using a Ceton InfiniTV4 fed from Comcast Digital HD service in Albuquerque for the last six months or so and have been pleased with the result. Yesterday, I noted that I could not receive channels 255 and 256 via the Ceton. They work fine on from Comcast's cable box on the TV in the other room.

Symptoms:

1. All other channels to which I have a subscription, both SD and HD, work fine (I tried every blessed one of them).

2. Tuning either 255 (SpeedHD) or 256 (FXHD) gives me the Media center background, the info flash with the channel number and program description at the bottom, then either nothing at all or an error that reports, "There is currently no TV signal detected for this channel. The channel may be temporarily off the air. Try again later."

3. Under "check channel authorization" on the CableCard tab of the Ceton Diagnostic Tool, entering 255 or 256 returns "Tuning Channel 255 (256)... not found in channel list or signal too poor." Signal strength is around 13 to 14.5 dBMv with a reported SNR of around 34dB.

4. Looking at the Log on the WEB diagnostic page there is this entry (among many others):

00094.206971: mpeg: cetonmpeg_get_pmt_with_pat_w_timeout:357 WARNING: Unable to find program number 29 in pat
00094.208221: ocur: cas_GetPatPmtAndPids:1977 ERROR: [1] No pat returned

I spoke to Comcast about this and they were enthusiastic and cheerful and clueless, although they did say they "reset" the cable card during both of the conversations I had with them on the issue. No change in behavior, of course.