Duplicate Channels

An evolving, supported alternative to Rovi
Forum rules
★ Download the latest EPG123 here: http://epg123.garyan2.net <> Setup guide here: http://epg123.garyan2.net/downloads/epg123_Guide.pdf
Post Reply
johnmmason

Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Oct 25, 2019 5:12 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

Duplicate Channels

#1

Post by johnmmason » Tue Nov 05, 2019 10:23 pm

I've installed EPG123 and ran through the clean start and all seemed to work fine except that I have a lot of channels duplicated in the guide.
How to I delete the duplicates.
I also don't understand the purpose of lineups.
Can anyone advise me please.
Thanks

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 3862
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#2

Post by garyan2 » Tue Nov 05, 2019 10:59 pm

Not sure what you mean by duplicates. Do you have multiples of the same channel number (ex. 1002), or multiples of the same station (ex. CNNHD)?
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

choliscott

Posts: 579
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2011 8:56 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#3

Post by choliscott » Wed Nov 06, 2019 5:44 pm

Is your TV provider Comcast/Xfinity? They have a bunch of channels which are duplicated (i.e. Disney Channel HD is on 700 and 1450) with the same channel abbreviation spelling. You would need to remove the duplicates in the guide section in WMC.
Sort the items by name to see where there are duplicates.

johnmmason

Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Oct 25, 2019 5:12 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#4

Post by johnmmason » Wed Nov 06, 2019 10:49 pm

I'm on UK Freeview and I have quite a number of duplicate channel numbers

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 3862
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#5

Post by garyan2 » Wed Nov 06, 2019 11:08 pm

If you open the client, you should see the duplicate channel numbers on the left side on separate rows. If you scroll to the right, you will see the tuning info... are they different?

Could you take a snapshot of the gui showing that information and post it?
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

User avatar
IT Troll

Posts: 653
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2011 9:42 am
Location: Edinburgh, UK

HTPC Specs: Show details

#6

Post by IT Troll » Wed Nov 06, 2019 11:46 pm

I'm guessing it will be this: viewtopic.php?f=99&t=11920

I believe it is when the same channel is found at multiple frequencies from different transmitters or weird reflections.

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 3862
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#7

Post by garyan2 » Wed Nov 06, 2019 11:50 pm

Different frequencies is what I would expect to see. If that is the case, I would recommend merging them. Unfortunately that is something to be done within WMC since EPG123 doesn't support that action.
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

User avatar
IT Troll

Posts: 653
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2011 9:42 am
Location: Edinburgh, UK

HTPC Specs: Show details

#8

Post by IT Troll » Thu Nov 07, 2019 12:03 am

Typically the duplicates will have poor signal strength and so are not worth keeping. Just leaving them disabled is best otherwise they may just get rediscovered.

johnmmason

Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Oct 25, 2019 5:12 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#9

Post by johnmmason » Sat Nov 09, 2019 4:21 pm

Thanks very for your replies.
I have gone through each channel to see which work Ok.
I have unticked the ones which do not work.
I've attached a screenshot of the gui.
Thanks again
Attachments
epg123.PNG

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 3862
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#10

Post by garyan2 » Sat Nov 09, 2019 7:26 pm

Looks like you're all set. You may not have been aware, but looking at your screenshot you could have sorted the channel listings by the TuningInfo column, selected all 'UHF C49' and 'UHF C54' channels and disabled all at the same time.

Of course, you would have needed to know that C49 and C54 were weak signals and not wanted.
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

johnmmason

Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Oct 25, 2019 5:12 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#11

Post by johnmmason » Sun Nov 10, 2019 12:38 pm

Thanks again for your help. It Seems to be working fine, I'm experimenting with tweak options now.

Post Reply