No guide data after W10 update

Discussion of getting WMC to work on Windows 10 (unsupported)
Post Reply
dgre057

Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 9:06 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

No guide data after W10 update

#1

Post by dgre057 » Sat Mar 11, 2017 5:10 am

Hi there,

A while ago I accidentally updated my Win10 HTPC to version 1607. At the time I was running WMC for W10 v12 and everything was working well. As I've found with other PCs, if Windows 10 installs a major update, WMC breaks and it isn't easy to reinstall. I couldn't get v12 to reinstall, so I switched to v8.8.1. That installed fine and found and played all the channels (I use DVBLink TVSource).

Anyway, the difficulty I have is, for some reason, it won't load in the guide data from DVBLink. DVBlink has the guide fully populated, but it never arrives in Media Center. The DVBLink installation hasn't changed, just Media Center has been reinstalled.

My next step is to reinstall Windows and hope Media Center might work then...but I'd like to avoid that if I can help it. Does anyone know what might be causing this problem?

Thanks a lot!

User avatar
Crash2009

Posts: 4356
Joined: Thu May 17, 2012 12:38 am
Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan

HTPC Specs: Show details
5+ Yrs TGB Veteran

#2

Post by Crash2009 » Sat Mar 11, 2017 5:44 am

I had some trouble with the guide too. Some of it was self inflicted...mcepg transplant etc. Eventually I got it working. I made about 100 screencaps during that project in August of 2016. I'll take a look and see if I made any guide notes.

I dont think reinstalling windows is a good idea. That would be like shooting a mouse with a cannon.
Attachments
14393_095.jpg
Last edited by Crash2009 on Sat Mar 11, 2017 6:16 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Crash2009

Posts: 4356
Joined: Thu May 17, 2012 12:38 am
Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan

HTPC Specs: Show details
5+ Yrs TGB Veteran

#3

Post by Crash2009 » Sat Mar 11, 2017 6:15 am

I think you need to install the DVBLink client or plugin in WMC, then you have to go into WMC and setup DVBlink, then Syncronize Channels

Wait a long time....best to do it just before you go to sleep. check it in the morning.
Attachments
14393_092.jpg
14393_093.jpg
14393_094.jpg

dgre057

Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 9:06 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#4

Post by dgre057 » Sun Mar 12, 2017 7:09 pm

Oh right, so you think DVBLink needs to be installed AFTER WMC is installed? Which I guess would usually be the case when I'm setting up from a fresh install...

I'll give that a go, thanks! It will mean reinstalling (and re-setting up) DVBLink as well as WMC each time Windows performs a major update. A bit of a pain, since DVBLink is unaffected by the updates. But better than reinstalling Windows for sure...

User avatar
Crash2009

Posts: 4356
Joined: Thu May 17, 2012 12:38 am
Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan

HTPC Specs: Show details
5+ Yrs TGB Veteran

#5

Post by Crash2009 » Mon Mar 13, 2017 1:25 am

Dvb link needs to be set up again. Use the backup configuration feature next time and you won't have to go through all that work all over again. Not sure if you have to do the whole dvblink you might get away with just setting up the DVB part with in WMC

If you use WMC version 8.8.1 that one has backup and restore settings built into it. That would save you a bit of time next time also.

dgre057

Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 9:06 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#6

Post by dgre057 » Mon Mar 13, 2017 7:45 am

Great news, I'm back up and running! DVBLink server had an update waiting - installing that did the trick. It reinstalled the WMC plugin and everything's groovy.

So thanks for your help! Glad I didn't have to use a cannon...

Post Reply