Screen dimming on xbox 360

Discuss My Media Center for Windows 8, Windows RT, iOS, Android, and WP, and ask Ceton for support.
Forum rules
Ceton no longer participate in this forum. There is no official support mechanism for My Media Center.
Post Reply
burtalert

Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2014 7:03 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

Screen dimming on xbox 360

#1

Post by burtalert » Sat Feb 08, 2014 7:33 pm

I can control my xbox 360 running media center using the remote control and controller all day long without a problem.

The moment I use My Media Center to send a command to the 360, a 10 minute screen dimming timer begins. Sending another command from either the app or remote will wake it up, but only for another 10 minutes. The only fix for the 10 minute cycle is rebooting the 360 and not using the app. It is obviously extremely annoying.

Windows 7 media center x64 running the latest stable and beta builds of My Media Center on the PC and android phone app.

Please help!

werds

Posts: 495
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 3:35 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#2

Post by werds » Sun Feb 09, 2014 3:12 am

I don't have a fix but I noticed this behavior as well, have not seen it when I use my Harmony remote instead, I used to see it all the time before I modified the extender account information on the main HTPC for each extender. But seen this occur now only when I use the app... :(

Figure i would chime in was all...

Embiggens

Posts: 196
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 3:29 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#3

Post by Embiggens » Sun Feb 09, 2014 3:20 am

Yeah this issue is something like a year old. It was reported as fixed at one point, but either it never was or the behavior reverted within the last couple services versions.

It's not clear if it happens for everyone. For me, I just don't use the remote feature. Good app otherwise, hope they maintain it.

burtalert

Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2014 7:03 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#4

Post by burtalert » Sun Feb 09, 2014 2:26 pm

Ceton tech support sent me to this forum for a "higher level of support." I hope they were sincere...

gator99

Posts: 54
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2012 1:08 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#5

Post by gator99 » Mon Feb 10, 2014 12:25 am


gator99

Posts: 54
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2012 1:08 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#6

Post by gator99 » Mon Feb 10, 2014 12:26 am

And here: http://www.thegreenbutton.tv/forums/vie ... php?t=6589

I don't believe this will ever get resolved. Too bad really.

burtalert

Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2014 7:03 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#7

Post by burtalert » Tue Feb 18, 2014 11:24 am

Well, now Ceton tech support tells me that their engineers are aware of the problem and are working on it and to keep my eyes open for beta updates. I'm skeptical but it's better than nothing.

User avatar
Polen

Posts: 47
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2013 11:01 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#8

Post by Polen » Fri Feb 21, 2014 8:16 pm

I'm not sure if this will help with your problem, but I have three Xbox 360's and all of them dim after 10 minutes. I posted a work around here.
http://social.technet.microsoft.com/For ... f=required

RyC

Posts: 709
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2012 10:21 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#9

Post by RyC » Sat Feb 22, 2014 4:45 am

Polen, I use My Memories on an Echo and I had the exact same issue with it dimming after 10 minutes. The Echo settings to turn off the screen dim didn't work (go figure) but your solution worked! Thanks a bunch!

User avatar
Polen

Posts: 47
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2013 11:01 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#10

Post by Polen » Sat Feb 22, 2014 5:20 am

RyC wrote:Polen, I use My Memories on an Echo and I had the exact same issue with it dimming after 10 minutes. The Echo settings to turn off the screen dim didn't work (go figure) but your solution worked! Thanks a bunch!

Glad I could help.

erkotz

Posts: 1378
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2011 9:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#11

Post by erkotz » Mon Feb 24, 2014 8:32 pm

We are currently testing an update which addresses some issues, including this.
Quality Assurance Manager, Ceton Corporation

IownFIVEechos

Posts: 696
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2013 2:29 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#12

Post by IownFIVEechos » Mon Feb 24, 2014 8:35 pm

erkotz wrote:We are currently testing an update which addresses some issues, including this.
An Echo Update! Thank you; you have made my day :)

Yikes I re-read what you were talking about :(

Embiggens

Posts: 196
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 3:29 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#13

Post by Embiggens » Tue Feb 25, 2014 3:37 pm

erkotz wrote:We are currently testing an update which addresses some issues, including this.
Great news!

UkiwiS

Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2014 5:55 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#14

Post by UkiwiS » Thu Jul 30, 2015 8:48 pm

Excellent news....This has made my day.....a fix is coming.....soon....LOL

Post Reply