Logitech ending Harmony remotes

Latest and Greatest in the world of Technology and/or Media Center.
Post Reply
Ed 

Posts: 808
Joined: Sat May 24, 2014 3:14 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

Logitech ending Harmony remotes

#1

Post by Ed  » Sat Apr 10, 2021 12:59 pm

https://www.engadget.com/harmony-remote ... 10167.html

I personally use the Harmony 350 (when it was the 300 or it later changed to the 350i - something like that) at 4 TVs ever since using WMC - and it was discontinued years ago by Logitech, so I bought a bunch when announced that model will be no more. Was gonna go to Harmony Hub and remotes after all my 350s died, but I guess that plan is scrapped.

ike301

Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2014 10:34 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#2

Post by ike301 » Sun May 16, 2021 5:24 pm

For anyone who's interested, I've been using the 4-1 inteset remote for the past 5 years and it's worth the money. You can't beat the features of this remote for $25. It's well built, backlit and programable through the roof. You can find this remote on Amazon.

Ken H

Posts: 231
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2015 9:14 pm
Location: Ann Arbor, home of the NCAA College Football National Champions!

HTPC Specs: Show details

#3

Post by Ken H » Fri Jan 19, 2024 3:31 am

If you have a Harmony remote that is older and has frequently used buttons that no longer work reliably, I can strongly suggest using the ButtonWorx product to fix the remote.

I've used the product to repair a Harmony and can recommend it 100%. The owner is very helpful and has a number of YouTube videos to assist you with the disassembly and reassembly of the remotes.

They also can help with other remote button repairs. I've tried a number of remote button solutions over 15 years, and ButtonWorx is the only one that permanently fixes the problem.

https://buttonworx.com/

I have no financial interest in this product. Just a very happy end user.

cvguy

Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 1:53 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#4

Post by cvguy » Wed May 22, 2024 2:45 pm

I guess the big question is when will Logitech shut down the remote control servers which the Harmony Remote software uses. After all, they finally did it for the Squeezeboxes a few months ago (it only affects internet radio thru their servers).
I currently use the Harmony 550 (got 5 for spares) and also 2 Squeezeboxes.
I hope they keep it up and running so we can still configure and re-configure these great devices.

Post Reply