Recorded TV HD Addin

User avatar
IT Troll

Posts: 822
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2011 9:42 am
Location: Edinburgh, UK

HTPC Specs: Show details

Re: Recorded TV HD Addin

#221

Post by IT Troll » Sun May 03, 2020 6:56 am

The installer is a single MSI which is 5.55 MB. This is often distributed in a ZIP archive which may also be split into two parts because of file size limits on forums etc.

What do you have and where did you get it?

On this forum it is packaged as a single ZIP file:
viewtopic.php?p=138165#p138165
Are you a Recorded TV HD user or want to give it a try? Check out the new community-made update; Recorded TV HD v2.1.1

caliskier

Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Jan 05, 2020 6:00 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#222

Post by caliskier » Sun May 03, 2020 5:34 pm

Thanks IT Troll for responding, and ultimately all the help you have been giving on this. Here is specifically what I am talking about...

1. Your post 201 in this thread
2. Has this link: http://recorded-tv-hd-forum.1045789.n5.nabble.com/
3. Which Has this link from March 14th 2020: http://recorded-tv-hd-forum.1045789.n5. ... 09631.html

You said the following:

Here is the latest (and most likely last) version of Recorded TV HD.
Beta v2.0.3
Zip archive split into two files due to Nabble attachment limits.

I downloaded both links but only one worked and it seams to work on my TV but I don't know I have not used all the functionality. Did I do it right or should I start over?

User avatar
IT Troll

Posts: 822
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2011 9:42 am
Location: Edinburgh, UK

HTPC Specs: Show details

#223

Post by IT Troll » Sun May 03, 2020 9:38 pm

That is a two part zip file. It is split in two because of file size limits on that forum. It should extract to a single 5.55MB MSI file. I don’t think it would install at all if you hadn’t manage to extract it correctly. So I think you are OK.
Are you a Recorded TV HD user or want to give it a try? Check out the new community-made update; Recorded TV HD v2.1.1

caliskier

Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Jan 05, 2020 6:00 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#224

Post by caliskier » Mon May 04, 2020 1:35 am

Yeah, the file I got was 5.684 extracted to a file folder that is 6.54, so I assume i am good

Marty_S_McFly

Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2020 5:08 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#225

Post by Marty_S_McFly » Tue Jun 02, 2020 9:23 pm

Uprgaded to latest Windows 10 and RecordedTVHD no longer works in Media Center. Any way to get it working again :cry:

User avatar
IT Troll

Posts: 822
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2011 9:42 am
Location: Edinburgh, UK

HTPC Specs: Show details

#226

Post by IT Troll » Tue Jun 02, 2020 9:59 pm

If it is not important to run the latest Windows 10, your best bet may to be rollback to the previous install.

Each new release of Windows 10 brings compatibility challenges for Media Center and RecordedTVHD is no longer being supported or developed.
Are you a Recorded TV HD user or want to give it a try? Check out the new community-made update; Recorded TV HD v2.1.1

Marty_S_McFly

Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2020 5:08 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#227

Post by Marty_S_McFly » Wed Jun 03, 2020 3:37 pm

IT Troll wrote:
Tue Jun 02, 2020 9:59 pm
If it is not important to run the latest Windows 10, your best bet may to be rollback to the previous install.

Each new release of Windows 10 brings compatibility challenges for Media Center and RecordedTVHD is no longer being supported or developed.
Oh well, nice while it lasted. :|

jachin99

Posts: 1243
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 3:36 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#228

Post by jachin99 » Wed Jun 03, 2020 10:59 pm

The TVDB has been bought out, and they are alluding to a new site in November. https://yabb.jriver.com/interact/index. ... #msg869737 This doesn't mean that RTVHD will surely break again but it doesn't look good either. I'm assuming metadata will still be added via guide data for recorded .WTV files but cover art and fanart might turn into a manual process

User avatar
IT Troll

Posts: 822
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2011 9:42 am
Location: Edinburgh, UK

HTPC Specs: Show details

#229

Post by IT Troll » Wed Jun 03, 2020 11:27 pm

They will certainly be looking at opportunities to commercialise. Hopefully the will keep community access free seeing as it is community-sourced data. I know there is talk of TheTVDB V4 later in the year which could cause problems.
Are you a Recorded TV HD user or want to give it a try? Check out the new community-made update; Recorded TV HD v2.1.1

mogulman

Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2011 9:35 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#230

Post by mogulman » Sat Jun 06, 2020 2:21 am

Doesn't seem to work any more. I tried manually entering Stargirl. Found the Tvdb ID, but when I tried updating via the service it gets a 404 error.

User avatar
IT Troll

Posts: 822
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2011 9:42 am
Location: Edinburgh, UK

HTPC Specs: Show details

#231

Post by IT Troll » Sat Jun 06, 2020 5:12 am

mogulman wrote:
Sat Jun 06, 2020 2:21 am
Doesn't seem to work any more. I tried manually entering Stargirl. Found the Tvdb ID, but when I tried updating via the service it gets a 404 error.
Unfortunately, the ID based override no longer works and gives the 404 error. Auto update does work though (if you have the latest version) and so your artwork should get fixed as the periodic check kicks in.
Are you a Recorded TV HD user or want to give it a try? Check out the new community-made update; Recorded TV HD v2.1.1

mogulman

Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2011 9:35 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#232

Post by mogulman » Thu Jun 11, 2020 1:27 pm

IT Troll wrote:
Sat Jun 06, 2020 5:12 am
Unfortunately, the ID based override no longer works and gives the 404 error. Auto update does work though (if you have the latest version) and so your artwork should get fixed as the periodic check kicks in.
Yep... Auto is working.

User avatar
IT Troll

Posts: 822
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2011 9:42 am
Location: Edinburgh, UK

HTPC Specs: Show details

#233

Post by IT Troll » Fri Jun 12, 2020 6:48 am

mogulman wrote:
Thu Jun 11, 2020 1:27 pm
Yep... Auto is working.
It would seem that in the last release, the code for the background service was updated, but the Settings utility wasn’t and is still using the old invalid URL format. References to these can be seen with a hex editor but without the source code I am not sure this can be changed.
Are you a Recorded TV HD user or want to give it a try? Check out the new community-made update; Recorded TV HD v2.1.1

User avatar
IT Troll

Posts: 822
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2011 9:42 am
Location: Edinburgh, UK

HTPC Specs: Show details

#234

Post by IT Troll » Mon Jun 15, 2020 4:54 pm

I spent some time with Charles Proxy and a hex editor and I can see that the Settings utility is sending an invalid URL. Unfortunately, I haven't found a way to correct it as the URL is being constructed within the code.
Are you a Recorded TV HD user or want to give it a try? Check out the new community-made update; Recorded TV HD v2.1.1

User avatar
StinkyImp

Posts: 339
Joined: Thu May 11, 2017 7:53 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#235

Post by StinkyImp » Tue Jun 16, 2020 2:00 pm

Just spitballing... but back in the old days (Windows 3.x) we used the "hosts" file to redirect URL's.

If the invalid URL is actually pointing to an IP address, or null address, you could redirect it to the proper URL in the hosts file. If that's workable, then a simple entry into the hosts file would (maybe, might, could) fix it??

Please bear in mind that this idea is worth two cents (or less)! :wtf:

User avatar
IT Troll

Posts: 822
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2011 9:42 am
Location: Edinburgh, UK

HTPC Specs: Show details

#236

Post by IT Troll » Tue Jun 16, 2020 2:20 pm

StinkyImp wrote:
Tue Jun 16, 2020 2:00 pm
Just spitballing... but back in the old days (Windows 3.x) we used the "hosts" file to redirect URL's.
Unfortunately, it is the path and parameters which are incorrect, rather than the hostname. The Settings app is still using the old v1 API methods. Support for this is rather sketchy now. Even if you correct the URL (something which can be done with Charles Proxy) the Settings app doesn't handle the response correctly.

The new v3 API does use a new hostname but that also using a different authentication system.
Are you a Recorded TV HD user or want to give it a try? Check out the new community-made update; Recorded TV HD v2.1.1

tonywagner

Posts: 176
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2016 1:53 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#237

Post by tonywagner » Tue Jun 16, 2020 2:46 pm

IT Troll wrote:
Tue Jun 16, 2020 2:20 pm
Unfortunately, it is the path and parameters which are incorrect, rather than the hostname. The Settings app is still using the old v1 API methods. Support for this is rather sketchy now. Even if you correct the URL (something which can be done with Charles Proxy) the Settings app doesn't handle the response correctly.

The new v3 API does use a new hostname but that also using a different authentication system.
Yeah, you'd need to redirect to your own local proxy server, which could translate the old API URL and data format calls to the new ones (and back again, for the response?). Probably a lot more trouble than it's worth!

User avatar
StinkyImp

Posts: 339
Joined: Thu May 11, 2017 7:53 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#238

Post by StinkyImp » Wed Jun 17, 2020 1:37 pm

IT Troll wrote:
Fri Jun 12, 2020 6:48 am
References to these can be seen with a hex editor but without the source code I am not sure this can be changed.
I don't know if you're a programmer, but if you are... Have you approached Mark about releasing the source code under a "hold harmless - can't sell it - must always be free" license so you (or someone else) can make changes?

I'd be curious about his reasons for not releasing it since it's effectively abandoned.

User avatar
IT Troll

Posts: 822
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2011 9:42 am
Location: Edinburgh, UK

HTPC Specs: Show details

#239

Post by IT Troll » Wed Jun 17, 2020 2:07 pm

I asked him a few times and he said it wouldn’t be released. I even asked when he turned off the website and gave me admin access to the forum. I thought he might at that point but sadly no.
Are you a Recorded TV HD user or want to give it a try? Check out the new community-made update; Recorded TV HD v2.1.1

Marty_S_McFly

Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2020 5:08 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#240

Post by Marty_S_McFly » Sat Jun 27, 2020 8:59 pm

Since it no longer works for me is there any program that can change the theme for media center in Windows 10? :(

Post Reply