EPG123 Bug Reports

An evolving, supported alternative to Rovi
Forum rules
★ Download the latest EPG123 here: http://epg123.garyan2.net <> Setup guide here: http://epg123.garyan2.net/downloads/epg123_Guide.pdf
User avatar
DavidinCT

Posts: 1527
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 3:45 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

Re: EPG123 Bug Reports

#1301

Post by DavidinCT » Tue Apr 14, 2020 2:01 am

garyan2 wrote:
Tue Apr 14, 2020 12:07 am
Was this all of a sudden, working one day and not the next? Did you change anything? Have a new AV program or anything that may block EPG123? Apply any hacks to WMC?

The file it is trying to locate is part of WMC and is a reference library for the client to run. Without it, the client won't run as you can see.
This is my first time running EPG123. A few years ago, I a few HEX edits to some WMC files, so I can disable the "Too high resolution" when starting up WMC (I run it at 4K) and the volume pop up that always comes up when a video stops. Two major annoyances that WMC had and some great guys over at MyDigitalLife provided me the hacks to fix....

Otherwise WMC runs perfectly, no other issues.. Well besides guide data with Rovi...

I rebooted in 8.1, and it runs fine but, the annoying messages have returned...sigh.. Was planning to use my Tweaked Windows 7 WMC install for it (I have a dual boot setup)
-Dave
Twitter @TheCoolDave

Windows Media Center certified and WMC MVP 2010 - 2012

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 5528
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#1302

Post by garyan2 » Tue Apr 14, 2020 2:46 am

You have a dual boot system with WMC in both? How does that work?

This may be the issue... EPG123 looks in the GAC for the mcepg, mcstore, and BDATuniPIA dlls to determine what version of Windows it is running and what version of dlls it needs to use. It may be possible that it is finding Win7 dlls in the GAC, but when it tries to load them, there is only the Win8 version? or something like that.

Win7 => looks for version 6.1.0.0 of WMC DLLs
Win8 => looks for version 6.2.0.0 of WMC DLLs
Win8.1 => looks for version 6.3.0.0 of WMC DLLs
- Gary
Keeping WMC alive beyond January 2020. http://epg123.garyan2.net

User avatar
DavidinCT

Posts: 1527
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 3:45 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#1303

Post by DavidinCT » Tue Apr 14, 2020 1:33 pm

garyan2 wrote:
Tue Apr 14, 2020 2:46 am
You have a dual boot system with WMC in both? How does that work?

This may be the issue... EPG123 looks in the GAC for the mcepg, mcstore, and BDATuniPIA dlls to determine what version of Windows it is running and what version of dlls it needs to use. It may be possible that it is finding Win7 dlls in the GAC, but when it tries to load them, there is only the Win8 version? or something like that.

Win7 => looks for version 6.1.0.0 of WMC DLLs
Win8 => looks for version 6.2.0.0 of WMC DLLs
Win8.1 => looks for version 6.3.0.0 of WMC DLLs
First of all, Dual boot.. Years ago, when I setup WMC started with XP WMC then I was a beta tester for Microsoft on Vista WMC, Windows 7 WMC and Window 8.1 WMC (even though 8.1's WMC was not much), a very vocal and high bug bash winner on most tests(and giving so many feature requests it was crazy, only a few actually made it). I did a dual boot setup for WMC and I kept it this way. For years, I have been running 7 as my primary but, 8.1 as kind of a backup. They both have all the same drive mappings, Tuners are all setup, and recorded shows...well for the most part are the same.

There is no menu on startup, You need to go to the control panel to change, or I have a batch script that runs a bunch of tools that is on BOTH desktops, I use the "bcdedit /default" command on each one, so I can open the desktop, double click on a batch, it gives me a menu of 8-9 things, I type in the number I want to run, it will reboot the PC to the other OS and back and forth.

Windows 7 system files were modded as I said to disable the High resolution warning and the volume pop up when ever a video stops (this was bugged and Microsoft refused to fix it !!!!), Windows 8.1 is factory with no mods

The files that are modified on Windows 7 are..

ehshell.dll ver. 6.1.7601.19061
Microsoft.MediaCenter.UI.dll ver. 6.1.7601.17514

Because they are modfied, they would not be signed any more, so it could be the problem.

Edit: Looks like the old Guide Tool Program works, I'll try to see if I can use that to align my guide on my Windows 7 install...
-Dave
Twitter @TheCoolDave

Windows Media Center certified and WMC MVP 2010 - 2012

JohnW248

Posts: 784
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#1304

Post by JohnW248 » Sun Apr 19, 2020 6:06 pm

Schedules Direct server off line. Any update or additional info available? Rejects token and says off line for maintenance.

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 5528
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#1305

Post by garyan2 » Sun Apr 19, 2020 6:39 pm

viewtopic.php?f=99&t=12980&p=139666#p139663
JohnW248 wrote:
Sun Apr 19, 2020 6:06 pm
Schedules Direct server off line. Any update or additional info available? Rejects token and says off line for maintenance.
And this is a bug, why? :eh:
- Gary
Keeping WMC alive beyond January 2020. http://epg123.garyan2.net

JohnW248

Posts: 784
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#1306

Post by JohnW248 » Sun Apr 19, 2020 7:47 pm

Well because this morning I was greeted with a big red X on all my machines and spent six hours trying to find out when and where the announcement and progress was posted. Thanks for the link it led to another link that led to the SD link about the schedule.

JohnW248

Posts: 784
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#1307

Post by JohnW248 » Mon Apr 20, 2020 1:35 pm

Schedules direct is now reporting that the task is complete.

https://forums.schedulesdirect.org/view ... =18&t=3065

But attempting to connect to download I get "Did not receive a response from Schedules Direct for a token request."

Could it be the server is just swamped or is there an issue with the request program?

luv2chill

Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2011 4:03 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#1308

Post by luv2chill » Tue Apr 21, 2020 3:12 pm

Sorry if this has already been reported/addressed--it's a long thread and I'm a fairly new EPG123/SD user.

Periodically I like to look through the guide on Turner Classic Movies and look for films of interest. I usually do this by going to that channel in the guide, arrowing left onto the channel name and selecting that. That brings up the "list view" for that channel, which is a lot easier to browse through when looking ahead for 1-2 weeks.

I was doing that on Sunday night and noticed that when scrolling down, when I would get to certain shows (always the same ones) ehshell.exe would crash. I could work around the problem by using PageDown to skip over the problematic entry. But there ended up being about 4 or 5 different entries in the list which caused the crash.

My guess is that maybe there is one or more characters in the metadata for those entries that WMC can't display, though I admit that's just a guess. What's interesting is that it doesn't happen (at least not so far) in the grid view. I have not tried other channels to see if they have the same problem.

Has anyone else using SD seen this issue? If possible, can you try the same process I described above to see if you also get a crash? For instance, scrolling down to the entry for "Buzzin' Around", airing on TCM this Wednesday April 22nd at 2:00pm Central time crashes on me every time. Also there is a cluster of three shows that all cause a crash--beginning Saturday April 25th @ 7:00am CDT--"weener-a-doodle Dog", "Striper Time" and "Monumental Utah" (all three are short films--9-10 minutes each).

Also, "The Dark Tower" Wednesday April 29th @ 7:30am CDT

Any ideas? Many thanks.

Edit: LOL at the forum software replacing "c0ck" above with "weener". The name of the show is "C0ck-a-doodle Dog" :lol:

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 5528
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#1309

Post by garyan2 » Tue Apr 21, 2020 3:22 pm

luv2chill wrote:
Tue Apr 21, 2020 3:12 pm
Sorry if this has already been reported/addressed--it's a long thread and I'm a fairly new EPG123/SD user.

Periodically I like to look through the guide on Turner Classic Movies and look for films of interest. I usually do this by going to that channel in the guide, arrowing left onto the channel name and selecting that. That brings up the "list view" for that channel, which is a lot easier to browse through when looking ahead for 1-2 weeks.

I was doing that on Sunday night and noticed that when scrolling down, when I would get to certain shows (always the same ones) ehshell.exe would crash. I could work around the problem by using PageDown to skip over the problematic entry. But there ended up being about 4 or 5 different entries in the list which caused the crash.

My guess is that maybe there is one or more characters in the metadata for those entries that WMC can't display, though I admit that's just a guess. What's interesting is that it doesn't happen (at least not so far) in the grid view. I have not tried other channels to see if they have the same problem.

Has anyone else using SD seen this issue? If possible, can you try the same process I described above to see if you also get a crash? For instance, scrolling down to the entry for "Buzzin' Around", airing on TCM this Wednesday April 22nd at 2:00pm Central time crashes on me every time. Also there is a cluster of three shows that all cause a crash--beginning Saturday April 25th @ 7:00am CDT--"weener-a-doodle Dog", "Striper Time" and "Monumental Utah" (all three are short films--9-10 minutes each).

Also, "The Dark Tower" Wednesday April 29th @ 7:30am CDT

Any ideas? Many thanks.

Edit: LOL at the forum software replacing "c0ck" above with "weener". The name of the show is "C0ck-a-doodle Dog" :lol:
Take a look at the release notes for v1.3.5.0. This was a "feature" I introduced in December I believe with movie posters. The ehshell.exe crashes in that view when the guide image is empty, but not a null.

http://epg123.garyan2.net/download/
- Gary
Keeping WMC alive beyond January 2020. http://epg123.garyan2.net

luv2chill

Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2011 4:03 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#1310

Post by luv2chill » Tue Apr 21, 2020 3:46 pm

Thanks garyan2! I should have thought about checking the release notes. Will upgrade to the latest version and (because I'm lazy) will probably just wait a couple of weeks for the old guide data to expire before trying again.

jshrop6004

Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2013 10:37 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#1311

Post by jshrop6004 » Sun May 10, 2020 9:50 pm

Been using the software since January and it has been great, yesterday got a msg on Media Center saying guide data will expire in 3 days. I downloaded and ran the updates, but am still getting the red X in bottom right corner of WMC, any idea's? Thanks,

Joel S

jshrop6004

Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2013 10:37 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#1312

Post by jshrop6004 » Sun May 10, 2020 9:53 pm

Double tap!

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 5528
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#1313

Post by garyan2 » Sun May 10, 2020 9:57 pm

jshrop6004 wrote:
Sun May 10, 2020 9:50 pm
Been using the software since January and it has been great, yesterday got a msg on Media Center saying guide data will expire in 3 days. I downloaded and ran the updates, but am still getting the red X in bottom right corner of WMC, any idea's? Thanks,

Joel S
Use the [View Log] button to see your history and find entries with [ERROR] in them to find out what may be happening. This will determine what the fix action will be.
- Gary
Keeping WMC alive beyond January 2020. http://epg123.garyan2.net

jshrop6004

Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2013 10:37 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#1314

Post by jshrop6004 » Sun May 10, 2020 10:09 pm

ok, looks like the first error was on 5/3, It says the expected number of stations to download is 89 but there are only 84 stations avail from schedules direct, aborting update for revi

then it says "failed to create MFX file. Exiting

the next error is on 5/4 and it says "the mfx file imported is 240 hours old

and it gives the same errors every day from then on.

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 5528
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#1315

Post by garyan2 » Sun May 10, 2020 10:16 pm

Right, so your lineup has lost some stations that you had previously elected to download. They may have been replaced with new stations. Open the configuration GUI ('EPG123', not 'EPG123 Client'), review the stations on the right. The stations that have been removed will not be seen, but any new stations will be highlighted in pink. Add any new stations you want to download and then click [Save & Execute] to update the guide and reset your expected tuner count.

This is a safety feature I added about 3 1/2 years ago to protect everyone's guides from being practically wiped out if there was a problem with Schedules Direct's and/or Gracenote's provided lineups.
- Gary
Keeping WMC alive beyond January 2020. http://epg123.garyan2.net

jshrop6004

Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2013 10:37 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#1316

Post by jshrop6004 » Sun May 10, 2020 10:21 pm

i have 2 stations highlighted in pink, they are both already checked so i am hitting save & execute...

jshrop6004

Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2013 10:37 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#1317

Post by jshrop6004 » Sun May 10, 2020 10:32 pm

That got us back online Gary, thanks a ton!

I still have 2 channels that i have to manually add every day after the update, does the request to fix those go thru schedules direct?

Thanks again!

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 5528
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#1318

Post by garyan2 » Sun May 10, 2020 10:45 pm

I'm assuming you mean re-enable in the guide because they do not have any guide listings from Schedules Direct. You are correct, to get the stations added to your lineup, submit a ticket with Schedules Direct.

If you want to stop having to re-enable after every update, you can delete your current task, disable the 'Automatically match...' / 'Automatch' feature, and create the task again. Disabling automatch will stop EPG123 from disabling channels in your guide that do not have guide listings.
- Gary
Keeping WMC alive beyond January 2020. http://epg123.garyan2.net

jshrop6004

Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2013 10:37 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#1319

Post by jshrop6004 » Sun May 10, 2020 10:48 pm

Will do, thanks very much!

technodevotee

Posts: 597
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2015 4:10 pm
Location: West Midlands

HTPC Specs: Show details

#1320

Post by technodevotee » Mon May 11, 2020 6:54 am

More a feature request than a bug….
garyan2 wrote:
Sun May 10, 2020 10:45 pm

If you want to stop having to re-enable after every update, you can delete your current task, disable the 'Automatically match...' / 'Automatch' feature, and create the task again. Disabling automatch will stop EPG123 from disabling channels in your guide that do not have guide listings.
I don't use automatch because there are more than 4500 channels in my guide across the three satellites I receive and quite a lot of them don't have listings from *anywhere* but that doesn't mean I don't want to watch them.

Would it be possible to make the 'disable if no listings' feature a selectable option?

Post Reply