On scheduled update I get ERROR: Access is denied

An evolving, supported alternative to Rovi
Forum rules
★ Download the latest EPG123 here: http://epg123.garyan2.net <> Setup guide here: http://epg123.garyan2.net/downloads/epg123_Guide.pdf
Post Reply
wgf_bean

Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2015 3:51 am
Location: Massachusetts USA

HTPC Specs: Show details

On scheduled update I get ERROR: Access is denied

#1

Post by wgf_bean » Mon Jan 13, 2020 3:49 pm

On this PC it's in Client Mode. If I open the EPG123 Client Tool to see how the last scheduled update performed I'm getting "ERROR: Access is denied", yet if I click on Manual Import it works every time.

If Manual Update works and it's pointing to the exact same MXF file shouldn't the Scheduled update work?

wgf_bean

Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2015 3:51 am
Location: Massachusetts USA

HTPC Specs: Show details

#2

Post by wgf_bean » Mon Jan 13, 2020 7:45 pm

Update:

If I run the Client Tool as administrator the problem goes away. So what happens if I restart the PC and don't go look at the Client Tool? Will the scheduled task work correctly? How do I know that the process necessary to run this task has the right privs?

TomC

Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2015 4:50 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#3

Post by TomC » Mon Jan 13, 2020 9:22 pm

You can try looking at the log (View Log button on the client tool) and see if the task completed correctly. For example, this is what my log says about the scheduled update last night (1:00 AM):

[1/13/2020 1:01:10 AM] [ INFO] Successfully started the PvrScheduleTask task. Exit code: 0
[1/13/2020 1:01:10 AM] Exiting runWmcTask(PvrScheduleTask). SUCCESS.
[1/13/2020 1:01:10 AM] [ INFO] Completed EPG123 client execution.
[1/13/2020 1:01:10 AM] [ INFO] EPG123 client execution time was 00:01:09.8843403.

The access is denied error is probably because the Client tool needs admin privilege's to query the task scheduler, this doesn't mean the task didn't run at the scheduled time. If you are using a shortcut to run the client tool you can change the shortcut's properties to "run as administrator", click "Advanced'' in the properties dialog.

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 5415
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#4

Post by garyan2 » Tue Jan 14, 2020 3:04 am

The status you see is not the status of the task, but is the error code generated because you can't view the task status. In Win10, you will only be able to see the task status if the GUI is run with elevated privileges.
- Gary
Keeping WMC alive beyond January 2020. http://epg123.garyan2.net

wgf_bean

Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2015 3:51 am
Location: Massachusetts USA

HTPC Specs: Show details

#5

Post by wgf_bean » Thu Jan 16, 2020 1:18 pm

I'm still getting this error on a daily basis:

[1/14/2020 11:36:01 AM] [ERROR] File "\\SHUTTLE\epg123\output\epg123.mxf" does not exist.
[1/15/2020 11:36:01 AM] [ERROR] File "\\SHUTTLE\epg123\output\epg123.mxf" does not exist.

This is a file shared by another computer on my network. I can navigate to it in explorer and I don't have a problem. If I load the Client and run as admin it can access the file. But when it comes time to do the background daily update it fails.

What have I configured wrong?

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 5415
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#6

Post by garyan2 » Thu Jan 16, 2020 2:14 pm

You will need to edit the task in Task Scheduler to remember the user's password and/or change the user to an account that has network access and access to the shared folder.
- Gary
Keeping WMC alive beyond January 2020. http://epg123.garyan2.net

wgf_bean

Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2015 3:51 am
Location: Massachusetts USA

HTPC Specs: Show details

#7

Post by wgf_bean » Thu Jan 16, 2020 3:57 pm

I'm confused. Why should I have to provide log in credentials to access a shared folder that has been set to allow access for "Everyone"?

joeer77

Posts: 78
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2015 8:22 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#8

Post by joeer77 » Thu Jan 16, 2020 7:58 pm

wgf_bean wrote:
Thu Jan 16, 2020 3:57 pm
I'm confused. Why should I have to provide log in credentials to access a shared folder that has been set to allow access for "Everyone"?
Try sharing just the "output" folder on your server. Make folder available "offline" in Windows share properties. This fixed it for me.

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 5415
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#9

Post by garyan2 » Fri Jan 17, 2020 1:49 am

I think making it available offline is just hiding the problem.

You need to add credentials (username and password) in order for the task to access the network regardless of how the shared folder is set up. If the user doesn't have a password, then I think it would work okay.
- Gary
Keeping WMC alive beyond January 2020. http://epg123.garyan2.net

joeer77

Posts: 78
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2015 8:22 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#10

Post by joeer77 » Fri Jan 17, 2020 6:04 am

Gary, one other observation I forgot to mention. Before my offline fix, I was unable to manually update the client PCs until I double clicked mapped "output" folder from client PC "My Computer" screen. That seemed to make the shared output folder available to windows task or EPG123. That's when I decided to check my share settings in server. If you got a write up on how to do credentials over network to access file for update that would be helpful. Maybe I'm doing it the hard way.

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk


wgf_bean

Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2015 3:51 am
Location: Massachusetts USA

HTPC Specs: Show details

#11

Post by wgf_bean » Sat Jan 18, 2020 3:16 pm

joeer77 wrote:
Fri Jan 17, 2020 6:04 am
Gary, one other observation I forgot to mention. Before my offline fix, I was unable to manually update the client PCs until I double clicked mapped "output" folder from client PC "My Computer" screen. That seemed to make the shared output folder available to windows task or EPG123. That's when I decided to check my share settings in server. If you got a write up on how to do credentials over network to access file for update that would be helpful. Maybe I'm doing it the hard way.

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk
Which version of Windows are you running the PC that is the master which has the output folder?
Which version of Windows are you running on the client only PC?

joeer77

Posts: 78
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2015 8:22 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#12

Post by joeer77 » Sat Jan 18, 2020 4:56 pm

All my computers run Windows 7.

wgf_bean

Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2015 3:51 am
Location: Massachusetts USA

HTPC Specs: Show details

#13

Post by wgf_bean » Sat Jan 18, 2020 5:37 pm

My master PC is Win 7 and another PC with client only is also Win 7. My third PC is Win 10.

When the task scheduler starts the client to get the update from the output folder of the other PC, my Win 7 machine works fine without the need to pre-configure it with credentials. However the Win 10 needs credentials on the task scheduler for it to work.

Note that the password on my Win 7 PCs are both empty and this may be the reason it works rather than which OS is on the machine. The Win 10 PC has a password, although in User Accounts "Users must enter a user name and password to use this computer" is unchecked.

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 5415
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#14

Post by garyan2 » Sat Jan 18, 2020 7:20 pm

The task will only need a password if it is to access a shared network folder. If the user password is blank, that is okay as long as the network share allows it.

So yes, you tasks for computers that do not have a password for the user, you won't need to store the empty password for the task to work. For the computers that have a password for the task user, it will need to be stored in order to successfully run.
- Gary
Keeping WMC alive beyond January 2020. http://epg123.garyan2.net

recapen

Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2020 1:07 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#15

Post by recapen » Thu Feb 06, 2020 1:11 pm

Similar issue - I get the "Access Denied" message unless I start EPG123 as Administrator.
From other posts, the access denied is only for the results of the report - I'll let it cook for a couple of days to make sure it is actually updating.

The new Windows 10 stuff is a bit quirky.....
Is there a way to always run EPG123 as administrator without the right click selection?

This is a brand new Win10 build - recently installed WMC, got EPG123 up and running (sorta), after it cooks a few days, I'll transfer my recording schedule from my old Win7 box.
Just wanting this to run as clean as possible.

Thanks in advance for your help!

Space

Posts: 2055
Joined: Sun Jun 02, 2013 9:44 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#16

Post by Space » Thu Feb 06, 2020 2:16 pm

On the shortcut that points to EPG123 (this does not work directly on the exe file), right click and select "Properties" from the menu, then go to the "Shortcut" tab, then press the "Advanced" button. Put a check mark next to the "Run as Administrator" option and press the "OK" button. Press the "OK" button on the Properties window.

Now, when you start EPG123 via that shortcut, it should run it as Administrator.

Post Reply