A New Project for Modern WMC Development

Discussion of getting WMC to work on Windows 10 (unsupported)
jachin99

Posts: 1170
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 3:36 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

Re: A New Project for Modern WMC Development

#161

Post by jachin99 » Tue Feb 12, 2019 2:20 am

I might be in the minority but live TV picture quality is causing me looking at other options. With ffdshow support I can do a lot more including use media control to fine tune the picture in real time.

kenidot

Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2019 1:21 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#162

Post by kenidot » Wed Feb 13, 2019 6:03 pm

W10MC wrote:
Mon Feb 11, 2019 8:55 pm
kenidot wrote:
Mon Feb 11, 2019 2:12 pm
hope it will be available in the TV Guide (If you do the IPTV part)
The ability to launch from the guide is a work in progress. It is functioning well in testing and would definitely be a great feature to have.
Awesome! can't wait to try it out when it's completed :)

Me Myself & Optimus

Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2019 6:28 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#163

Post by Me Myself & Optimus » Thu Feb 21, 2019 7:26 am

Is there any way to make/is the project able to be installed on a Linux distro?
I [may]not agree with what you have to say, but I'll defend to the death your right to say it.

Evelyn Beatrice Hall

User avatar
W10MC

Posts: 104
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2016 7:45 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#164

Post by W10MC » Thu Feb 21, 2019 8:25 am

Me Myself & Optimus wrote:
Thu Feb 21, 2019 7:26 am
Is there any way to make/is the project able to be installed on a Linux distro?
Not natively. You could try using Wine, but I'm not sure if WMC would even run unless it's in a VM.
-Mike

Windows 10 Media Center Community
An independent project for media application development.

john9kover

Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2016 10:30 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#165

Post by john9kover » Thu Feb 21, 2019 4:01 pm

any way to use this with different icon themes? I can't use weather and sports with any other theme icons?

User avatar
W10MC

Posts: 104
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2016 7:45 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#166

Post by W10MC » Thu Feb 21, 2019 8:20 pm

john9kover wrote:
Thu Feb 21, 2019 4:01 pm
any way to use this with different icon themes? I can't use weather and sports with any other theme icons?
You should be able to use Media Center Themer to replace the sports icon(s):
STARTMENU.QUICKLINK.SPORTS.SCORES.FOCUS.PNG
STARTMENU.QUICKLINK.SPORTS.SCORES.NOFOCUS.PNG

The weather icon can be changed by replacing STARTMENU.QUICKLINK.INTERESTS.WEATHER.PNG in ProgramData\ModernMedia\UI+\images. Note that any changes made to files in this folder will be lost if you update to a new resource build in the future.
-Mike

Windows 10 Media Center Community
An independent project for media application development.

john9kover

Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2016 10:30 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#167

Post by john9kover » Fri Feb 22, 2019 1:35 am

thanks for the reply, but what I mean is I change to a different theme ex: batman theme, all the icons are still modern theme, I can handle the weather and sports not changing, (by the way works great), its the rest of the icons that are not changing. Using MMU build 190113 trial, windows 10, I have themes in their own folders and can change themes with simple reg file.

User avatar
W10MC

Posts: 104
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2016 7:45 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#168

Post by W10MC » Fri Feb 22, 2019 4:10 am

john9kover wrote:
Fri Feb 22, 2019 1:35 am
thanks for the reply, but what I mean is I change to a different theme ex: batman theme, all the icons are still modern theme, I can handle the weather and sports not changing, (by the way works great), its the rest of the icons that are not changing. Using MMU build 190113 trial, windows 10, I have themes in their own folders and can change themes with simple reg file.
Without knowing how your themes are being applied, I can't give a definitive answer. In general, it is recommended to use Media Center Themer when making additional modifications to the modern theme. It usually prevents this type of behavior.
-Mike

Windows 10 Media Center Community
An independent project for media application development.

User avatar
dejavux2

Posts: 89
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2011 7:26 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#169

Post by dejavux2 » Fri Feb 22, 2019 5:46 am

Before I try this, there are a few concerns that I have.

I don't see anything about reverting/restoring WMC back to the way it was before any of these are installed/updated.

I currently use Media Center Studio, and have several custom strips created. How is this going to affect those strips?

User avatar
W10MC

Posts: 104
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2016 7:45 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#170

Post by W10MC » Fri Feb 22, 2019 8:25 am

dejavux2 wrote:
Fri Feb 22, 2019 5:46 am
I don't see anything about reverting/restoring WMC back to the way it was before any of these are installed/updated.
Prior to making any changes, the application will make a backup copy of each file to be updated (ehres.dll, Microsoft.MediaCenter.Shell.dll and Microsoft.MediaCenter.UI.dll). If you disable the theme in ModernMedia UI+, the original files will be restored to the ehome folder.
dejavux2 wrote:
Fri Feb 22, 2019 5:46 am
I currently use Media Center Studio, and have several custom strips created. How is this going to affect those strips?
If your custom menu strips are embedded in the WMC files, they will likely be removed when applying the modern theme. This is why Media Center Themer is the preferred way to add customizations since they are made in memory instead of updating the resources directly.
-Mike

Windows 10 Media Center Community
An independent project for media application development.

User avatar
dejavux2

Posts: 89
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2011 7:26 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#171

Post by dejavux2 » Fri Feb 22, 2019 10:50 pm

Can Media Center Studio be used after the theme is applied, to re-add the strips?

User avatar
W10MC

Posts: 104
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2016 7:45 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#172

Post by W10MC » Fri Feb 22, 2019 11:40 pm

dejavux2 wrote:
Fri Feb 22, 2019 10:50 pm
Can Media Center Studio be used after the theme is applied, to re-add the strips?
Yes, that should work.
-Mike

Windows 10 Media Center Community
An independent project for media application development.

john9kover

Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2016 10:30 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#173

Post by john9kover » Sat Feb 23, 2019 5:37 am

W10MC wrote:
Fri Feb 22, 2019 4:10 am
Without knowing how your themes are being applied, I can't give a definitive answer. In general, it is recommended to use Media Center Themer when making additional modifications to the modern theme. It usually prevents this type of behavior.
I am using media center themer. If I disable theme in MMU, (remove check mark), then everything works but missing weather and sports.

jachin99

Posts: 1170
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 3:36 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#174

Post by jachin99 » Sat Feb 23, 2019 7:16 pm

You NEED the theme to be enabled for sports and weather to work properly. Regardless of that, there are a few WMC components that need to be prevented from being applied over top of the sports and weather additions. These are in the Programdata\ehome\packages folder. If you rename the packages folder to packages.old then they should show again. Here is a link to the support thread for MMUI+ where you might be able to read about specific tweaks and issues like this. viewtopic.php?f=9&t=11849&start=60

john9kover

Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2016 10:30 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#175

Post by john9kover » Sun Feb 24, 2019 12:31 am

cool thanks

theGBGuy

Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 1:53 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#176

Post by theGBGuy » Sun Mar 10, 2019 12:36 pm

Does anyone know how to make a ceton 6 eth TV tuner work with Win10 MC?

I just loaded Win10 x64 1809 on my duel boot system and wanted to install WMC for Win10, I installed ver 8.8.1 x64_TS and it starts fine, but I can't install the ceton app needed to talk to the ceton 6 eth box...

I was able to install the "cable adviser" which shows in the extras gallery, I ran it fine and it was approved for cable card use...

My cable card is already activated w/Comcast as I use it with Win 7 x64...

I installed the ceton infiniTV x64 app for Win 8.1 and the services are started and after the install the app is launched and shows green ticks for everything, but the app never shows in WMC for me to select which tuners WMC can use, so when I try and setup TV signals "no tuners" are found...

Any suggestions?

Post Reply