ModernMedia UI+ - Modern Theme and All-New Features

jachin99

Posts: 1152
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 3:36 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

Re: ModernMedia UI+ - Modern Theme and All-New Features

#61

Post by jachin99 » Mon Sep 24, 2018 2:33 pm

W10MC wrote:
Mon Sep 24, 2018 10:00 am
A few adjustments have been made for compatibility with legacy software like MCE Reset Toolbox in the latest build (180924). Previously, resources referenced in the new Start menu strip prevented MCE Reset Toolbox from launching properly.

jachin99 wrote:
Sun Sep 23, 2018 11:19 pm
I have a custom theme applied but I didn't change the names of anything, and I haven't had any problems there however, on both of my PCs with this theme applied I don't get the Interests strip. Is there a way to fix this?
Does the strip show up when you disable your custom theme? You may want to look through the theme file to make sure it is not modifying SM.SPORTS.XML.
I'm not using any kind of resource edits, and with media center themer disabled, I still can't get these strips to show up. I even tried to uninstall, and reinstall MMUI+. Is there a way to clean everything out, and start fresh with UI+? The only thing I can possibly think of is that I had myForecast installed, and its name on the start menu is weather. If your strip has a similar name, then maybe WMC rejected adding the strip somehow? I unistalled myForecast because its no longer needed. Where can I go from here? It looks like you have left quite a bit of room in your UI for expansion, and I don't want to miss out. I looked over my logged resources for MCT, and didn't see sm.sports.xml, and I don't see any of the logos (Like the trophy) in there either but I guess if it doesn't show in the UI, it wouldnt show up there either. Is there a URL I can regsiter on the start menu, and do this manually in case there is a problem? Thanks.

User avatar
aquadextrous

Posts: 64
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2018 8:09 pm
Location: Bristol, UK

HTPC Specs: Show details

#62

Post by aquadextrous » Mon Sep 24, 2018 3:34 pm

I don't know if this helps anybody, but when the new interests strip launched last week i initially didn't get it on my screen from using the update button in the app ( though it did find an update) However i downloaded the latest setup file from the MMUI+ home page, installed that and everything worked. May be worth a try if you've only updated via the button?


Mike thanks again for the updates :) :) :)

jachin99

Posts: 1152
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 3:36 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#63

Post by jachin99 » Mon Sep 24, 2018 5:27 pm

aquadextrous wrote:
Mon Sep 24, 2018 3:34 pm
I don't know if this helps anybody, but when the new interests strip launched last week i initially didn't get it on my screen from using the update button in the app ( though it did find an update) However i downloaded the latest setup file from the MMUI+ home page, installed that and everything worked. May be worth a try if you've only updated via the button?


Mike thanks again for the updates :) :) :)
I tried this also but still no luck.

User avatar
DavidinCT

Posts: 1391
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 3:45 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details
5+ Yrs TGB Veteran Microsoft MVP

#64

Post by DavidinCT » Mon Sep 24, 2018 5:30 pm

Still a watcher right now but, questions that I don't see to see on this thread.

1. I use WMC reset toolbox to change things around and add new strips (and use ReLaunch to create custom entries). Once I install this will this break ANYTHING ?

2. I still use the built in Movie Library with over 450 movies and getting more and more 4K high bit rate videos. Does this do anything with the built in library ?
-Dave
Twitter @TheCoolDave

Windows Media Center certified and WMC MVP 2010 - 2012

jachin99

Posts: 1152
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 3:36 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#65

Post by jachin99 » Mon Sep 24, 2018 5:43 pm

DavidinCT wrote:
Mon Sep 24, 2018 5:30 pm
Still a watcher right now but, questions that I don't see to see on this thread.

1. I use WMC reset toolbox to change things around and add new strips (and use ReLaunch to create custom entries). Once I install this will this break ANYTHING ?

2. I still use the built in Movie Library with over 450 movies and getting more and more 4K high bit rate videos. Does this do anything with the built in library ?
I can't answer you question about MCERSTB but I notice rotten tomato scores for my movies. I use Media Center Themer, and I think that's a lot safer with MMUI+ because it doesn't change any resource files.

Here is a screenshot
Capture.JPG

User avatar
aquadextrous

Posts: 64
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2018 8:09 pm
Location: Bristol, UK

HTPC Specs: Show details

#66

Post by aquadextrous » Mon Sep 24, 2018 6:32 pm

DavidinCT wrote:
Mon Sep 24, 2018 5:30 pm
Still a watcher right now but, questions that I don't see to see on this thread.

1. I use WMC reset toolbox to change things around and add new strips (and use ReLaunch to create custom entries). Once I install this will this break ANYTHING ?

2. I still use the built in Movie Library with over 450 movies and getting more and more 4K high bit rate videos. Does this do anything with the built in library ?
Reset toolbox is working fine on latest build for custom tiles and strips. Also I use a combination of reset toolbox, custom mcl files and relaunch and all these links work fine. Only downside is that the start menu is reset after most MMUI+ updates - but that’s to be expected.

Movie library gains the new look info page as per the last post with lots more info.

jachin99

Posts: 1152
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 3:36 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#67

Post by jachin99 » Mon Sep 24, 2018 7:09 pm

I just thought of this as well. On each machine I swapped out updatable markup in order to restore the built in netflix on both of my machines. Would this hurt anything?

User avatar
W10MC

Posts: 101
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2016 7:45 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#68

Post by W10MC » Tue Sep 25, 2018 2:25 am

aleclindsay wrote:
Mon Sep 24, 2018 12:36 pm
Use MCE reset toolbox, but apart from an atempt to change numbers of rows in guide, have not actively used it since your first build
To confirm that the strip actually exists in your Start menu, you can open MCE Reset Toolbox and go to the Start Menu tab. Scroll down and there should be a menu strip named "Interests" between the TV and Tasks strips. If you don't see it listed there, something else is blocking or overwriting the resource to prevent it from showing.
jachin99 wrote:
Mon Sep 24, 2018 2:33 pm
I'm not using any kind of resource edits, and with media center themer disabled, I still can't get these strips to show up.
...
Is there a URL I can regsiter on the start menu, and do this manually in case there is a problem?
Here is some additional info that may help:

The Interests strip uses the same resource file as the old (discontinued) Sports strip. However, it has been "unlocked" to show the new tiles in its place. Because the Sports and Weather links have been added as built-in features that refer to modified internal pages in WMC, there is no entry point associated with them. This integration is what allows them to be launched as overlays on live and recorded TV.

I don't have enough reports to definitively know why it isn't being displayed on your systems. At this point it seems to work on most systems but not all. My guess is that it's an unexpected side effect of some type of customization.
-Mike

Windows 10 Media Center Community
An independent project for media application development.

jachin99

Posts: 1152
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 3:36 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#69

Post by jachin99 » Tue Sep 25, 2018 2:57 am

W10MC wrote:
Tue Sep 25, 2018 2:25 am

jachin99 wrote:
Mon Sep 24, 2018 2:33 pm
I'm not using any kind of resource edits, and with media center themer disabled, I still can't get these strips to show up.
...
Is there a URL I can regsiter on the start menu, and do this manually in case there is a problem?
Here is some additional info that may help:

The Interests strip uses the same resource file as the old (discontinued) Sports strip. However, it has been "unlocked" to show the new tiles in its place. Because the Sports and Weather links have been added as built-in features that refer to modified internal pages in WMC, there is no entry point associated with them. This integration is what allows them to be launched as overlays on live and recorded TV.

I don't have enough reports to definitively know why it isn't being displayed on your systems. At this point it seems to work on most systems but not all. My guess is that it's an unexpected side effect of some type of customization.
My next idea was to delete the packages folder in program data, and then try to rebuild it via MCUpdate Task but I wasn't sure if that would break MMUI+. Aside from that, what do you suppose would happen if I

1. Restored my old resource via UI+
2. Uninstalled UI+
3. Deleted the program data folder
4. Delted Ui+ under program data, program files, and users where applicable
5. Deleted sports related entries in the registry

I'll have to tinker around with my test machine but now that I have an idea about where the UI pulls info from, I might be able to accomplish everything I need to . I just want to make sure there isn't anything I SHOULDNT do before I start.

User avatar
W10MC

Posts: 101
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2016 7:45 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#70

Post by W10MC » Tue Sep 25, 2018 3:50 am

jachin99 wrote:
Tue Sep 25, 2018 2:57 am
My next idea was to delete the packages folder in program data, and then try to rebuild it via MCUpdate Task but I wasn't sure if that would break MMUI+.
...
I just want to make sure there isn't anything I SHOULDNT do before I start.
ModernMedia UI+ doesn't import any packages into the database, so you should be fine updating or rebuilding. The only issue would be if you delete ProgramData\ModernMedia\UI+ with an activated copy, the activation would be broken. If you are using a test installation (not activated), it would not be a problem.
-Mike

Windows 10 Media Center Community
An independent project for media application development.

jachin99

Posts: 1152
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 3:36 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#71

Post by jachin99 » Tue Sep 25, 2018 1:54 pm

W10MC wrote:
Tue Sep 25, 2018 3:50 am
jachin99 wrote:
Tue Sep 25, 2018 2:57 am
My next idea was to delete the packages folder in program data, and then try to rebuild it via MCUpdate Task but I wasn't sure if that would break MMUI+.
...
I just want to make sure there isn't anything I SHOULDNT do before I start.
ModernMedia UI+ doesn't import any packages into the database, so you should be fine updating or rebuilding. The only issue would be if you delete ProgramData\ModernMedia\UI+ with an activated copy, the activation would be broken. If you are using a test installation (not activated), it would not be a problem.
Media Center was pulling markup from the packages folder located in C:\Program data\Microsoft\ehome. I renamed the folder packages.old, and the interests strip showed up.

User avatar
W10MC

Posts: 101
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2016 7:45 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#72

Post by W10MC » Tue Sep 25, 2018 7:00 pm

jachin99 wrote:
Tue Sep 25, 2018 1:54 pm
Media Center was pulling markup from the packages folder located in C:\Program data\Microsoft\ehome. I renamed the folder packages.old, and the interests strip showed up.
Glad you got it working.
-Mike

Windows 10 Media Center Community
An independent project for media application development.

aleclindsay

Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2016 1:40 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#73

Post by aleclindsay » Tue Sep 25, 2018 7:52 pm

I also renamed the packages folder, and the interests strip appeared for me too! Hurray! Thanks guys.

User avatar
W10MC

Posts: 101
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2016 7:45 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#74

Post by W10MC » Thu Sep 27, 2018 1:15 am

Version 1.1.3 provides improved localization for weather. When possible, forecast data is displayed in the user's preferred language based on system settings. Region-specific weather news is now provided for the following additional locations: Brazil, Canada, Denmark, Germany, Finland, Indonesia, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain and Sweden. A new resource build (180926) has also been released for better compatibility with these changes.
-Mike

Windows 10 Media Center Community
An independent project for media application development.

RyC

Posts: 692
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2012 10:21 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#75

Post by RyC » Tue Oct 02, 2018 11:29 pm

For the "Interests" strip, it seems to be specifically C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\ehome\Packages\MCEClientUX\dSM\StartResources.dll that's causing the strip to be hidden (there may be more than 1 dSM folder). I think this makes sense, I vaguely recall Microsoft pushing an update to hide the old sports strip when they stopped updating it.

I just have two more nagging issues that I've noticed. The seek bar actually doesn't seem to pop up automatically when auto skipping no matter what option is set in DVRMSToolbox settings (popping up automatically is the default in stock). Second, I know you've looked at the info bar being transparent on extenders, but it would be awesome if that was fixed! I may try doing a resource dump with Media Center Themer to poke around the MCML.

User avatar
W10MC

Posts: 101
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2016 7:45 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#76

Post by W10MC » Fri Oct 05, 2018 3:30 am

RyC wrote:
Tue Oct 02, 2018 11:29 pm
The seek bar actually doesn't seem to pop up automatically when auto skipping no matter what option is set in DVRMSToolbox settings (popping up automatically is the default in stock).
Some adjustments have been made to improve functionality of the seekbar setting in the new build (181004).
RyC wrote:
Tue Oct 02, 2018 11:29 pm
Second, I know you've looked at the info bar being transparent on extenders, but it would be awesome if that was fixed! I may try doing a resource dump with Media Center Themer to poke around the MCML.
I have made another attempt to resolve this issue but can't guarantee it will correct the problem. If you want to investigate further, take a look at SLIDEDECK.NOWPLAYING.MCML in ehres.dll.
-Mike

Windows 10 Media Center Community
An independent project for media application development.

jachin99

Posts: 1152
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 3:36 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#77

Post by jachin99 » Tue Oct 09, 2018 2:46 pm

I just tried this for the first time on an extender, and I don't get the transparent overlay. Mine just looks normal. Mike, I don't know if your willing to take a look but I restore the microsoft WMC netflix application on my machines but after installing MMUI+ WMC netflix crashes when I attempt to play anything. Web pages seem to launch just fine though.

User avatar
W10MC

Posts: 101
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2016 7:45 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#78

Post by W10MC » Wed Oct 10, 2018 3:40 am

jachin99 wrote:
Tue Oct 09, 2018 2:46 pm
I restore the microsoft WMC netflix application on my machines but after installing MMUI+ WMC netflix crashes when I attempt to play anything.
I have not used or tested the native Netflix app, but I can try to take a look at it.
-Mike

Windows 10 Media Center Community
An independent project for media application development.

jachin99

Posts: 1152
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 3:36 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#79

Post by jachin99 » Wed Oct 10, 2018 4:59 pm

W10MC wrote:
Wed Oct 10, 2018 3:40 am
jachin99 wrote:
Tue Oct 09, 2018 2:46 pm
I restore the microsoft WMC netflix application on my machines but after installing MMUI+ WMC netflix crashes when I attempt to play anything.
I have not used or tested the native Netflix app, but I can try to take a look at it.
If you need the Netflix application, which is simply an old copy of updateable markup, I can share it with you. If your having trouble getting Netflix to show up after you have replaced updateable markup then simply rename the folder it resides in -2 -3 etc. As applicable. I can give more detailed instructions if need be.

dugepg793

Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2017 4:07 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#80

Post by dugepg793 » Fri Oct 12, 2018 5:54 pm

Question: What's the expected turn around time for getting an activation key? I paid the $15 for one about 40 hours ago and haven't seen it yet -- thanks.
I am very impressed with what you've done, I think the interface is 10/10.

Post Reply