Two questions before I install WMC

Discussion of getting WMC to work on Windows 10 (unsupported)
Post Reply
pbcstudios

Posts: 1
Joined: Fri May 06, 2016 4:19 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

Two questions before I install WMC

#1

Post by pbcstudios » Fri May 06, 2016 4:32 pm

Hi and thanks for your reply in advance. I loved WMC for four things. Netflix, TV, DVD playback, and Music management all in one package. It sounds like this version works with music and dvd playback, but that said, before I try to install WMC i am wondering does the Netflix plugin work with this version (I found a website with the plugin download)? Will my HDhomerun work (dont need dvr or even a guide)? I miss my WMC, but would love to hear a success story before installing. Thanks in advance.
-Patrick

mdavej

Posts: 1477
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2012 6:52 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#2

Post by mdavej » Fri May 06, 2016 4:37 pm

- Netflix no longer works inside WMC
- HDHomerun still works fine

User avatar
Scallica

Posts: 2599
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2011 7:09 pm
Location: USA!

HTPC Specs: Show details

#3

Post by Scallica » Fri May 06, 2016 4:40 pm

mdavej wrote:- Netflix no longer works inside WMC
Has anyone tried NetflixMCE in WMC 10?

http://www.thegreenbutton.tv/forums/vie ... f=9&t=9306
HTPC Enthusiast / Forum Moderator - TGB.tv Code of Conduct

User avatar
Crash2009

Posts: 4357
Joined: Thu May 17, 2012 12:38 am
Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan

HTPC Specs: Show details

#4

Post by Crash2009 » Fri May 20, 2016 3:04 am

Scallica wrote:
mdavej wrote:- Netflix no longer works inside WMC
Has anyone tried NetflixMCE in WMC 10?

http://www.thegreenbutton.tv/forums/vie ... f=9&t=9306
Netflix is working today. Login to Netflix using Internet Explorer not Edge. Install the latest Silverlight. My Win10 is using WMCv12. OS is Version 1511 (OS Build 10586.0) yes, I held it back with no updates.

Must be for Remote Control only....cant see the mouse, however when I mouse-over I can see what button I am on. Had to use keyboard windows button to get out. The streaming is nice and smooth both audio and video. No remote right now on this test10.

I don't see any advantage to Netflix at the moment, pretty sure I get all the TVshows on Kodi. I'll pull a remote off one of the other boxes and check out the Movies tomorrow.

Does Silverlight do any tricks that I might be interested in?
Attachments
Netflix001.jpg
Netflix002.jpg

User avatar
Crash2009

Posts: 4357
Joined: Thu May 17, 2012 12:38 am
Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan

HTPC Specs: Show details

#5

Post by Crash2009 » Mon May 23, 2016 3:39 pm

I connected a remote control to the test10. RC works better than kb&m. I have been looking around inside Netflix, on and off, for a few days. I have not found any reason to continue with my Netflix subscription.

Am I missing something?

If you really need Netflix, yes it works.

In addition to Netflix, give Kodi-Pulse a try. There is a plug-in for WMC that allows you to switch back and forth.
Attachments
KodiPulse007.jpg
KodiPulse005.jpg
KodiPulseWmc001.jpg

Post Reply