EPG123 Bug Reports

An evolving, supported alternative to Rovi
Forum rules
★ Download the latest EPG123 here: http://epg123.garyan2.net <> Setup guide here: http://epg123.garyan2.net/downloads/epg123_Guide.pdf
DSperber

Posts: 209
Joined: Thu Jan 16, 2014 1:35 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details
2+ Yrs TGB Veteran

Re: EPG123 Bug Reports

#881

Post by DSperber » Sat Jan 26, 2019 11:17 am

More clues...

(1) I have a 31" Eizo CG318-4K which I run in 2560x1440 resolution, also 125% and Aero. And with this higher resolution situation the text from EPG123 in the title bar does display.

Image

It's on my other machine, which runs 1920x1200 and 125% and Aero where the EPG123 text in the title bar is missing.

(2) I have another legacy application, Clockwise, which I also have been running for many years and for which the text in the title bar (day) does or does not display. Interestingly, again on the 2560x1440 resolution Eizo the text DOES display.

Image

Once again, on the other machine which runs 1920x1200 the Clockwise text in the title bar does not display.

Image

DSperber

Posts: 209
Joined: Thu Jan 16, 2014 1:35 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details
2+ Yrs TGB Veteran

#882

Post by DSperber » Sat Jan 26, 2019 11:17 am

(3) Note that if Aero is suppressed and the 1920x1200 screen runs in Basic mode, lo and behold the Clockwise title bar text now is presented.

Image

User avatar
Einstien

Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2018 12:54 am
Location: Los Angeles CA

HTPC Specs: Show details

#883

Post by Einstien » Mon Jan 28, 2019 9:09 am

garyan2 wrote:
Tue Jan 22, 2019 2:14 am
Einstien wrote:
Fri Dec 28, 2018 5:25 am
Hello again,
about the mini guide timeout. Personally, I would like it to stay on until I hit the back button to kill it, but any longer option would be welcome. What bugs me, is it times out after a few seconds, then when you re-initiate it, it does not pick up where you left off, so you have to start from the begging all over again. It's a handy little feature as you can still monitor your channel while stepping through the guide. I think it would be a nice feature in the tweaks if possible. Thanks
BTW, sorry for the long post in Introducing EPG123. I am just so excited and impressed - GENIUS!
Hadn't forgotten about you. The registry key you are looking for is...

Code: Select all

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Media Center\Settings\VideoConstants]
"NowPlayingTimeout"=dword:00002ee0
The default (00002ee0) is 12000 milliseconds, or 12 seconds. You could set it to dword:0001d4c0 which is 120000 ms, or 120 seconds. Should be plenty of time.
Just checked back in and found your post. Thank you so much. i searched and searched for this and could never find it!

SoNic67

Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:31 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#884

Post by SoNic67 » Wed Jan 30, 2019 10:54 pm

I have a yellow symbol on my EPG123 icon. I am at the latest version 1.2.10. See the attached log.
Any hints?
Attachments
trace.zip
(47.55 KiB) Downloaded 8 times

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 3436
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#885

Post by garyan2 » Thu Jan 31, 2019 12:39 am

SoNic67 wrote:
Wed Jan 30, 2019 10:54 pm
I have a yellow symbol on my EPG123 icon. I am at the latest version 1.2.10. See the attached log.
Any hints?
There was no schedule information for HBO Latina on the last update. Basically, for that station, you only have 20 days of guide listings as opposed to 21.
You also had some time discontinuities in the schedule data for UCLAS on 1/31, 2/1, and 2/2. That stations guide might have an error in it on those days.
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

SoNic67

Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:31 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#886

Post by SoNic67 » Thu Jan 31, 2019 2:17 am

Oh, that is good! Because I don't have HBO Latina or UCLAS anyway.
Thank you!

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 3436
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#887

Post by garyan2 » Thu Jan 31, 2019 2:54 am

You can always unselect those stations you don't have or watch for download. The extra effort will reduce the file size, your database size, and reduce the likelyhood of getting warnings for channels you don't care about. But anytime you have a yellow icon, just search the trace.log file for WARNG... a red icon means there was an ERROR that you need to search for.
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

GaryDZ

Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 1:07 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#888

Post by GaryDZ » Thu Jan 31, 2019 9:55 pm

I searched the Log for Warning and found a few of the following:


[1/28/2019 1:09:04 AM] [WARNG] The imported MXF file contained a WARNING in its status field.

Is there a way to identify what channels are causing the MXF error (Not sure if what I said is the right way to say it) :)

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 3436
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#889

Post by garyan2 » Fri Feb 01, 2019 3:24 am

GaryDZ wrote:
Thu Jan 31, 2019 9:55 pm
I searched the Log for Warning and found a few of the following:


[1/28/2019 1:09:04 AM] [WARNG] The imported MXF file contained a WARNING in its status field.

Is there a way to identify what channels are causing the MXF error (Not sure if what I said is the right way to say it) :)
The warning you posted is put in the log file by the client program after it imported the MXF file and inspected it. The real warning is going to be from the configuration program. Wherever the MXF file is created, that machine will have the real Warnings and Errors that you can track down what the problem station is.
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

middlfam

Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Jun 03, 2017 3:53 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#890

Post by middlfam » Wed Feb 06, 2019 7:14 pm

I get a warning in EPG123 about a warning flag in the MXF file. What am I supposed to do?

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 3436
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#891

Post by garyan2 » Wed Feb 06, 2019 7:58 pm

middlfam wrote:
Wed Feb 06, 2019 7:14 pm
I get a warning in EPG123 about a warning flag in the MXF file. What am I supposed to do?
Nothing really. It is letting you know something may not be 100% correct... the trace.log file will be able to tell you which station and when. If the problem is persistent, then letting SD know is a good idea.
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

middlfam

Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Jun 03, 2017 3:53 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#892

Post by middlfam » Thu Feb 07, 2019 12:26 am

I looked at the trace.log to find the MXF warning error. There was no information about what was causing it, at least not that I saw. There were a lot of new channels that I do not watch, nor really even know what they are. So I unchecked those and ran EPG123 again as I was leaving for work. I will check when I get home.

middlfam

Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Jun 03, 2017 3:53 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#893

Post by middlfam » Thu Feb 07, 2019 5:09 am

clearing out the new channels fixed the warning issue.

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 3436
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#894

Post by garyan2 » Thu Feb 07, 2019 5:32 am

middlfam wrote:
Thu Feb 07, 2019 5:09 am
clearing out the new channels fixed the warning issue.
Just checked, and yup... at some point I decided that I would make the users that do not automatically add new stations to the download aware of them by making it a warning. By updating the configuration file with the new stations, you cleared out the warnings.
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

SoNic67

Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:31 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#895

Post by SoNic67 » Fri Feb 08, 2019 3:30 am

My icon is red again. Log attached.
Any clues?
Attachments
trace.zip
(83.86 KiB) Downloaded 7 times

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 3436
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#896

Post by garyan2 » Fri Feb 08, 2019 3:56 am

SoNic67 wrote:
Fri Feb 08, 2019 3:30 am
My icon is red again. Log attached.
Any clues?
Something is going on during the automatch routine. Everything else is working fine, so updates are not an issue. You could turn off the automatch routine in your scheduled task, or can try the following:

1) Open the client
2) select all channels on the left side (Ctrl+A) works for that.
3) right-click any channel on the left side and select unsubscribe (this will take a few seconds, maybe tens of seconds)
4) on the right side, select your OTA lineup then click the Match by: [# Number] button on the left side above the channels
5) on the right side, select your cable lineup then click the Match by: [# Number] button on the left side again
6) on the right side, if there are any lineups in the pulldown that you do not use, select them and then delete them by selecting the red 'X' to the right of the lineup pulldown (you may have to extend the window to see it or click the expand down arrow)
6) Close the client and open the configuration GUI
7) Click the [Save & Execute] button to try again

If you still have a red icon, then may need to see your trace.log file again.
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

SoNic67

Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:31 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#897

Post by SoNic67 » Fri Feb 08, 2019 12:12 pm

That seemed to work, thank you!

SoNic67

Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:31 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#898

Post by SoNic67 » Sun Feb 10, 2019 4:42 pm

Well, yellow is back.
And the channels logos are gone too.
Attachments
trace.zip
(17.3 KiB) Downloaded 5 times

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 3436
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#899

Post by garyan2 » Sun Feb 10, 2019 5:24 pm

As the trace.log shows, you have a yellow icon now because there were no guide listings provided for CNN International. Nothing to worry about unless it persists (tomorrow/next day).

Losing channel logos does not make sense. All the channel logos?

I see you are still having the "Skipped matching ..." entries in the trace.log file. Did you do all the steps outlined above, to include deleting lineups that you do not use? That would be number 6 (the first #6 ... just noticed that :oops: ).
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

SoNic67

Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:31 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#900

Post by SoNic67 » Sun Feb 10, 2019 10:45 pm

I did delete the unused lineups.

Post Reply