Feature Request: Sort by selected

An evolving, supported alternative to Rovi
Forum rules
★ Download the latest EPG123 here: http://epg123.garyan2.net <> Setup guide here: http://epg123.garyan2.net/downloads/epg123_Guide.pdf
Post Reply
NOYB

Posts: 111
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2020 8:03 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

Feature Request: Sort by selected

#1

Post by NOYB » Thu Feb 25, 2021 11:58 pm

What do you think about adding sort by selected column.
Maybe click callsign column once for alpha/numeric sort
Second time for reverse alpha/numeric sort.
Third time for selected/alpha/numeric sort.
Last edited by NOYB on Fri Feb 26, 2021 5:38 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 5917
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#2

Post by garyan2 » Fri Feb 26, 2021 3:34 am

Before I say no, what do you mean by "selected column"? In the configuration GUI or the client GUI?
- Gary
Keeping WMC alive beyond January 2020. http://epg123.garyan2.net

NOYB

Posts: 111
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2020 8:03 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#3

Post by NOYB » Fri Feb 26, 2021 4:57 am

The checkbox column. Group the channels by the checked (selected) uncheck (not selected) state.
In both the config and client GUI.

Space

Posts: 2245
Joined: Sun Jun 02, 2013 9:44 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#4

Post by Space » Fri Feb 26, 2021 5:25 am

If you're going to be messing with the sorting, can you also add an indicator as to which column it is sorted. Normally you'll see a triangle pointing up (descending) or down (ascending) in the column that is sorted.

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 5917
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#5

Post by garyan2 » Sat Feb 27, 2021 5:33 pm

Okay, after some back-and-forth, I've implemented this sort-by-selected feature, but only for the configuration gui. The client has a bit more complex sorting that this would be very difficult to implement. In the client, you can select to filter enabled channels only, but not disabled channels only. Clicking a column in the client for sorting, the 'empty' rows are at the bottom, sorted by channel number, and the ones that are not empty are at the top.

This feature in the configuration gui will always be ascending with the selected channels on the top when in this mode. Multiple clicks need to be within 1 second of the last completed sort... 3rd click will put it in this sort mode.

I also added an arrow indication in the column header to show ascending/descending sort.
- Gary
Keeping WMC alive beyond January 2020. http://epg123.garyan2.net

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 5917
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#6

Post by garyan2 » Sun Feb 28, 2021 12:44 am

v1.6.2.8 is now released. Give it a try.
- Gary
Keeping WMC alive beyond January 2020. http://epg123.garyan2.net

Space

Posts: 2245
Joined: Sun Jun 02, 2013 9:44 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#7

Post by Space » Sun Feb 28, 2021 4:45 am

Sounds good!

Is there a reason why you cannot run the configuration GUI without having a current SD subscription? My subscription has expired and I haven't renewed it yet (hope to do so next month). Is there something from SD that is required in order for proper operation of the GUI or is it just that most functions need an SD sub, and it is easier just to disallow proceeding without one?

I was just going to check out this new sorting but remembered this problem, also a couple days ago I was going to try out some of the new logo stuff but couldn't. I would assume without access to SD, you could still generate the MXF from the cache, so technically I would think you would not need access to SD just to change the logos.

I'm not asking for any changes here (obviously this is a rare circumstance), just curious about how it works.

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 5917
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#8

Post by garyan2 » Sun Feb 28, 2021 5:22 am

EPG123 doesn't cache a users lineups or the schedule md5 values. It can't create an MXF file off the cache alone. So basically, the GUI is useless without a current and valid SD membership.
- Gary
Keeping WMC alive beyond January 2020. http://epg123.garyan2.net

NOYB

Posts: 111
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2020 8:03 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#9

Post by NOYB » Sun Feb 28, 2021 8:01 pm

Works nice. Though not quite what I had in mind. My bad for not communicating clearly.
I probably should have said group them by selected / unselected state. And still sort them by one of the columns, but keeping them grouped.
So all the selected channels grouped at top of list and sort them by one of the columns.
No need to sweat it though. Maybe if doable roll it in somewhere down the road.

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 5917
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#10

Post by garyan2 » Sun Feb 28, 2021 8:57 pm

That is how it works. I've found you need to click at a slower than usual cadence... the last sort needs to complete before it will accept the next click.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

- Gary
Keeping WMC alive beyond January 2020. http://epg123.garyan2.net

NOYB

Posts: 111
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2020 8:03 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#11

Post by NOYB » Mon Mar 01, 2021 12:05 am

Oh I see. Do the 3 clicks, or the 3rd click, on the column to sort by.
I was just doing 3 clicks on the call sign column. Didn't occur to me to triple click on one of the other columns. :lolno: :crazy: :roll: :oops:
Thanks for the explanation. :D

NOYB

Posts: 111
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2020 8:03 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#12

Post by NOYB » Mon Mar 01, 2021 3:41 am

Now that that's taken care of...
How about configurable sort column/order?

<SortColumnOrder>23</SortColumnOrder>

Where the last digit is the order (1=ascending; 2=descending; 3=grouped ascending), and the preceding digits are the column number on which to apply the sort order. Or separate the column and order codes with a delimiter.

Post Reply