Stop EPG123 from changing logos?

An evolving, supported alternative to Rovi
Forum rules
★ Download the latest EPG123 here: http://epg123.garyan2.net <> Setup guide here: http://epg123.garyan2.net/downloads/epg123_Guide.pdf
Post Reply
Ken H

Posts: 197
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2015 9:14 pm
Location: Ann Arbor, home of the Big House with the little coach

HTPC Specs: Show details

Stop EPG123 from changing logos?

#1

Post by Ken H » Mon Feb 22, 2021 11:47 pm

Hi to all, I've been using EPG123 and My Channel Logos for over a year together fine until the most recent 1.6.2.5 update, which I just did. I previously had the EPG123 box checked for no logos. Many of the SD logos are dark and can't be seen against the dark WMC guide background. Many of the SD logos are not as good as what I've been able to get from MCL or importing from the internet.

Now with the update the logos have all reverted to what SD provides and the no logo check box is gone. I've set EPG123 for not including logos in .\logos folder, do not download SD logos, and none for alternate SD logos. When I do a Save & Execute the SD logos return.

How do I stop EPG123 from replacing the My Channel Logos?

Thanks!

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 5825
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#2

Post by garyan2 » Tue Feb 23, 2021 12:04 am

Browse to your .\logos folder and delete all the logos present. Looking at the code I see that regardless of the option to include station logos in .\logos folder, if the file {callsign}.png exists, it will still use it. I'll get that fixed in next release.
- Gary
Keeping WMC alive beyond January 2020. http://epg123.garyan2.net

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 5825
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#3

Post by garyan2 » Tue Feb 23, 2021 12:07 am

BTW: There has been a lot of improvement with the logos lately to include using custom logos. You can open the configuration GUI, right-click any station and view/edit logos, and see what is available from SD. You can also drag/drop custom logos... even logos from MCL.
- Gary
Keeping WMC alive beyond January 2020. http://epg123.garyan2.net

Winston

Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2021 7:32 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#4

Post by Winston » Wed Feb 24, 2021 7:25 pm

from your post "You can open the configuration GUI, right-click any station and view/edit logos, and see what is available from SD"

I noticed that there are many category of logos on the right column such as
Custom logo
Default logo
Black SD Logos
White SD logos
and several others

Which one does EPG use first? in what order does EPG choose a logo to use?

e.g. if I set my logo preference as
Preferred Logo: Black SD logos
Alternate logo: White SD logos

does EPG use Custom logo first,
if no Custom logo exists, EPG uses the Preferred logo 9in my case, it's the Black SD logos)
if no Preferred logo exists, EPG uses the Alternate logo (in my case, it's the White SD logos)
if no Alternate logo exists, EPG uses the Default logo

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 5825
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#5

Post by garyan2 » Wed Feb 24, 2021 7:45 pm

Winston wrote:
Wed Feb 24, 2021 7:25 pm
if no Custom logo exists, EPG uses the Preferred logo 9in my case, it's the Black SD logos)
if no Preferred logo exists, EPG uses the Alternate logo (in my case, it's the White SD logos)
if no Alternate logo exists, EPG uses the Default logo
Correct on all counts.
- Gary
Keeping WMC alive beyond January 2020. http://epg123.garyan2.net

Winston

Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2021 7:32 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#6

Post by Winston » Wed Feb 24, 2021 8:39 pm

If I don't want EPG to update my station logs,Will the following action work?
open the configuration GUI, right-click each station and view/edit logos
delete any logo located on the left hand side column

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 5825
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#7

Post by garyan2 » Wed Feb 24, 2021 9:01 pm

No, what is shown on the left is what is provided by Schedules Direct.

Delete all logos currently in the .\logos folder and uncheck the option to 'Include station logos in .\logos folder'. EPG123 will not download any logos, and there will be no logos available in the .\logos folder for it to include.
- Gary
Keeping WMC alive beyond January 2020. http://epg123.garyan2.net

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 5825
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#8

Post by garyan2 » Wed Feb 24, 2021 10:30 pm

I want to be a little more clear on the logo form. What is on the left side is what is available from Schedules Direct to be downloaded and used by EPG123 based on your preferred/alternate selections. If the preferred logo is available for download, it will download it, crop it, and save it to the .\logos folder. If the preferred is not available, it will do that for the alternate... then the default if the alternate is not available. EPG123 will not download the logo if there is already one in the .\logos folder for that style (dark,white,light,gray,default).

The logos on the right are what are currently in the .\logos folder. They can be deleted or copied over using the form, but EPG123 will never programmatically delete or copy over a logo that already exists. This means that if a station updates its logos and Schedules Direct reflects that change, you will not see any change in WMC until you either delete the old logo(s), or drag/drop the new logo to the right manually.

The custom logo is king, so anything you drag into that picture box will be used regardless of any other logos available in your .\logos folder. I mention this because it is possible for you to drag a logo from MCL into the custom picture box and it will become your custom logo... not using any logos from SD for that station. This gives you the ability to not use MCL anymore and have 1 less program to worry about, but still have the logos just the way you like.
- Gary
Keeping WMC alive beyond January 2020. http://epg123.garyan2.net

Winston

Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2021 7:32 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#9

Post by Winston » Wed Feb 24, 2021 11:14 pm

Thanks for the clarification.
Based on what you said, will the following method keep my station logo from being changed forever (even if I check the option to 'Include station logos in .\logos folder') ?

Open the configuration GUI, right-click each station and view/edit logos
Add my own station logo to the Custom logo picture box

The logic is, as you mentioned, Custom logo trumps all logos in the .\logos folder. I am guessing that the Custom logo will not be copied to the .\logos folder. Correct?

Is there any size or resolution limitation for Custom logo?

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 5825
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#10

Post by garyan2 » Wed Feb 24, 2021 11:43 pm

If you have a custom logo, it will stay there forever until you change it yourself. The custom logo is copied to the .\logos folder after going through a crop and resize operation if needed. The cropping will remove surrounding transparent pixels and the resize will occur if what you add is greater than 360 pixel width and/or 270 pixel height. The logos provided by MCL are way smaller than that. Take a look at at the image from this post and see that I took a picture from my phone which was very large and it got resized no problem to the 360x270 limit.

It is currently broken, but next release will make sure if you select to not use logos in .\logos folder then it won't use any... to include the custom logos. I haven't looked, but I probably broke this in v1.6.2.4 when I created the logos form.
- Gary
Keeping WMC alive beyond January 2020. http://epg123.garyan2.net

Winston

Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2021 7:32 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#11

Post by Winston » Thu Feb 25, 2021 1:04 am

Thanks.
BTW, I did not find any donation link on this forum. Could you Kindly show me the link?

kkingsto

Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2017 8:36 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#12

Post by kkingsto » Thu Feb 25, 2021 3:20 pm

Winston wrote:
Thu Feb 25, 2021 1:04 am
Thanks.
BTW, I did not find any donation link on this forum. Could you Kindly show me the link?
http://epg123.garyan2.net/ There's a PayPal button you can use to pay Gary.

Winston

Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2021 7:32 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#13

Post by Winston » Thu Feb 25, 2021 7:40 pm

Thanks. No wonder I can't find it here.

User avatar
IT Troll

Posts: 888
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2011 9:42 am
Location: Edinburgh, UK

HTPC Specs: Show details

#14

Post by IT Troll » Sun Feb 28, 2021 10:16 am

Gary has released v1.6.2.8 which includes the fix for the do not use logos bug.
Are you a Recorded TV HD user or want to give it a try? Check out the new community-made update; Recorded TV HD v2.1.1

Post Reply