Guide listings no longer populate

An evolving, supported alternative to Rovi
Forum rules
★ Download the latest EPG123 here: http://epg123.garyan2.net <> Setup guide here: http://epg123.garyan2.net/downloads/epg123_Guide.pdf
RodBarnes

Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2016 11:35 pm
Location: Washington, USA

HTPC Specs: Show details

Guide listings no longer populate

#1

Post by RodBarnes » Mon Dec 21, 2020 4:46 pm

I am no longer seeing channel guide info. (I know my subscription to Schedules Direct is still valid -- renewed it a few months ago.)

Recently, I had to move the position of my tuner card to a different PCI slot. This resulted in having to reinstall the drivers, which resulted in having to redo the WMC setup, which resulted in new channel settings. But, despite the auto channel add having completed in WMC, I am still not seeing any related guide info for those channels appear in WMC. Maybe I also need to do a clean install/setup of EPG123?

For example, the channel 4.1 KXLY-HD was added and I still have KXLYDT selected in EPG123. But no guide info appears for that channel. So, is there some reset step I need to take in EPG123 or something?

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 5665
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#2

Post by garyan2 » Mon Dec 21, 2020 5:25 pm

Open the client, select your antenna lineup in the pulldown on the right side, and click the Match by: [# Number] button on the left side. See if that gets it back. When you perform a TV channel scan, the mapping of guide listings to the tuner channels will be "disconnected" because you actually have new channels. If you don't have automatch enabled, then you have to do the mapping manually.
- Gary
Keeping WMC alive beyond January 2020. http://epg123.garyan2.net

RodBarnes

Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2016 11:35 pm
Location: Washington, USA

HTPC Specs: Show details

#3

Post by RodBarnes » Mon Dec 21, 2020 7:20 pm

After running [Save & Execute] on EPG123 it still wasn't showing the guides. Then I found I had to go into "Edit Channels" in WMC and re-associate the listings with each channel. Appears to be resolved.

RodBarnes

Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2016 11:35 pm
Location: Washington, USA

HTPC Specs: Show details

#4

Post by RodBarnes » Mon Dec 21, 2020 7:23 pm

garyan2 wrote:
Mon Dec 21, 2020 5:25 pm
If you don't have automatch enabled, then you have to do the mapping manually.
Thanks for the reply. I do not see the "automatch" option. I assume this is a settings in EPG123?

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 5665
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#5

Post by garyan2 » Mon Dec 21, 2020 7:27 pm

Correct. It is part of your scheduled task. In the client it is a checkbox for 'Automatch'; in the configuration GUI it is a checkbox for 'Automatically match stations to channels'.
- Gary
Keeping WMC alive beyond January 2020. http://epg123.garyan2.net

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 5665
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#6

Post by garyan2 » Mon Dec 21, 2020 7:28 pm

RodBarnes wrote:
Mon Dec 21, 2020 7:20 pm
After running [Save & Execute] on EPG123 it still wasn't showing the guides. Then I found I had to go into "Edit Channels" in WMC and re-associate the listings with each channel. Appears to be resolved.
Using the Match by: [# Number] handles all this for you in the client so you won't have to do that in WMC. So a ton worth of clicks in WMC is reduced to a single click in the client.
- Gary
Keeping WMC alive beyond January 2020. http://epg123.garyan2.net

RodBarnes

Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2016 11:35 pm
Location: Washington, USA

HTPC Specs: Show details

#7

Post by RodBarnes » Mon Dec 21, 2020 9:06 pm

garyan2 wrote:
Mon Dec 21, 2020 7:28 pm
Using the Match by: [# Number] handles all this for you in the client so you won't have to do that in WMC. So a ton worth of clicks in WMC is reduced to a single click in the client.
I have that setting already in place in the client and everything was working as expected before having to setup the tuners again, WMC again, etc. However, after comnpleting the WMC setup I still had no match with the guides despite having ran EPG123 a couple times via [Save & Execute]. As noted, I had to manually go in and match up the listings.

In any case, it is now matched and working. I'll monitor over the next couple days to ensure the match continues to work correctly.

RodBarnes

Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2016 11:35 pm
Location: Washington, USA

HTPC Specs: Show details

#8

Post by RodBarnes » Mon Dec 21, 2020 9:13 pm

garyan2 wrote:
Mon Dec 21, 2020 7:27 pm
Correct. It is part of your scheduled task. In the client it is a checkbox for 'Automatch'; in the configuration GUI it is a checkbox for 'Automatically match stations to channels'.
I looked in both EGP123 client and config but don't see this. Sorry, 'guess I'm blind. ;) See the attached...
https://photos.app.goo.gl/gV3cdr6CV5oz1xVR8
https://photos.app.goo.gl/mrEt3C9hj95jRjbC7

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 5665
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#9

Post by garyan2 » Mon Dec 21, 2020 9:24 pm

Yah, you don't have automatch enabled and you have custom call signs for 2.1, 2.2, and 2.3 which is why they have a pink background.

Speaking of, you might want to trim down your downloaded stations in the configuration GUI to get rid of the duplicate channel numbers (6.1 K48DXD and 6.1 KHQDT). Choose 1 and stick with it. This avoids log entries during automatch that it was skipped due to station already being assigned to the channel. This will also give you control over which station will be assigned to that channel number.
- Gary
Keeping WMC alive beyond January 2020. http://epg123.garyan2.net

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 5665
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#10

Post by garyan2 » Mon Dec 21, 2020 9:27 pm

RodBarnes wrote:
Mon Dec 21, 2020 9:13 pm
garyan2 wrote:
Mon Dec 21, 2020 7:27 pm
Correct. It is part of your scheduled task. In the client it is a checkbox for 'Automatch'; in the configuration GUI it is a checkbox for 'Automatically match stations to channels'.
I looked in both EGP123 client and config but don't see this. Sorry, 'guess I'm blind. ;) See the attached...
https://photos.app.goo.gl/gV3cdr6CV5oz1xVR8
https://photos.app.goo.gl/mrEt3C9hj95jRjbC7
In the configuration GUI, click the 'Scheduled Task' tab and you will see the option for 'Automatically match stations to channels'.
In the client GUI, in the top left 'Scheduled Task' group, you will see a checkbox for 'Automatch' which is not checked... automatch is disabled.
- Gary
Keeping WMC alive beyond January 2020. http://epg123.garyan2.net

RodBarnes

Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2016 11:35 pm
Location: Washington, USA

HTPC Specs: Show details

#11

Post by RodBarnes » Mon Dec 21, 2020 9:42 pm

LOL! Ok, yes, I am blind. I guess I scanned over it because it is greyed out in both the client and the config GUI. Which is odd, I think, because this was all working without issue for over a year; channel guides were all appearing correctly. Only after this recent issue was encountered did I run into any guides problem.

So, since the settings is disabled, is there a way to edit that setting for the existing task? Or do I have to delete this task and create a new one?

https://photos.app.goo.gl/Prc37Z5ugjZ4zRhY9

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 5665
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#12

Post by garyan2 » Mon Dec 21, 2020 9:59 pm

It is greyed out because it is showing how your existing task is configured. To change the task, you have to delete it, make the changes, and then recreate it.

The matching, for the most part, is a 1-time thing. The automatch, in combination with the autodownload of new stations, only have an effect if your lineup changes or new stations are added.
- Gary
Keeping WMC alive beyond January 2020. http://epg123.garyan2.net

RodBarnes

Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2016 11:35 pm
Location: Washington, USA

HTPC Specs: Show details

#13

Post by RodBarnes » Mon Dec 21, 2020 10:10 pm

Thanks so much for all the help. You are amazing. Having provided EPG123 has saved many of us from a forced march elsewhere and your willingness to help is incredible. Merry Christmas to you and yours.

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 5665
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#14

Post by garyan2 » Mon Dec 21, 2020 10:13 pm

Thanks, to you and yours as well.
- Gary
Keeping WMC alive beyond January 2020. http://epg123.garyan2.net

dahef

Posts: 75
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2016 7:11 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#15

Post by dahef » Sat Dec 26, 2020 9:48 pm

I have several new channels that have appeared in Config that are checkmarked. They also appear in Client under Line-up services but they do not appear on the left side of client. I have run manual import and clicked match by number but they still do not move over to the left side. Automatch in client is checked. Auto import and auto match is checked in config under scheduled task. Is there any way to get all those new channels moved over to the left side of client without using the green plus sign and doing each one manually?

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 5665
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#16

Post by garyan2 » Sun Dec 27, 2020 7:57 pm

Sorry, what is on the right side is just the guide. What is on the left side is the tuner setup within WMC. Downloading a guide listing for a station doesn't automatically create a tuner channel within WMC. The automatch will simply map a guide listing to an existing channel... not create the channel.

Were the missing channels ones you deleted? I'll release an update maybe tonight with the fix for the undelete form. After you undelete the channel, it will then be on the left side and epg123 will be able to map the guide listings to it after that.
- Gary
Keeping WMC alive beyond January 2020. http://epg123.garyan2.net

dahef

Posts: 75
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2016 7:11 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#17

Post by dahef » Mon Dec 28, 2020 12:12 am

That's a good point. I think at one time I deleted from the left side everything I didn't have in my Comcast line-up. I had thought when they became available on Comcast and downloaded into config then to client lineup services that they would magically appear again on the left side. I'll use the undelete after the next update.

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 5665
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#18

Post by garyan2 » Mon Dec 28, 2020 1:05 am

I just release v1.6.0.6 with some fixes to include the Undelete function.
- Gary
Keeping WMC alive beyond January 2020. http://epg123.garyan2.net

kendall43

Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jul 24, 2015 9:09 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#19

Post by kendall43 » Thu Dec 31, 2020 4:55 pm

I've been using EPG for over a year with no problems. Today when I open windows media center the guide listings are gone; says no data available. Listings were there yesterday. I haven't made any changes to EPG setup or WMC setup. I am on the current version 1.6.0.6 (upgraded today when looking for issues) but the update had no effect. Any guidance? thanks

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 5665
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#20

Post by garyan2 » Thu Dec 31, 2020 5:02 pm

Sounds like you had a database recovery which means the guide listings will have to be imported again. Most of the time, the only thing that is needed is to import the latest MXF file and the guide will be back. Open the client, click the [Manual Import] button, and select 'epg123.mxf'. Once that is done, check your guide.
- Gary
Keeping WMC alive beyond January 2020. http://epg123.garyan2.net

Post Reply