Epg123 guide update

An evolving, supported alternative to Rovi
Forum rules
★ Download the latest EPG123 here: http://epg123.garyan2.net <> Setup guide here: http://epg123.garyan2.net/downloads/epg123_Guide.pdf
Post Reply
phillyb

Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2020 8:39 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

Epg123 guide update

#1

Post by phillyb » Wed Oct 07, 2020 9:43 am

Hi everyone

New to this forum hoping someone might be able to help.

I've installed a new tv tuner card into a new computer.

Media center so i needed to run the live TV setup again.

So i did the following:
  • Backup up Epg123
  • Ran the client setup
  • Restored the backup
See below picture:
Image

Everything looks to be right, however when i open WMC I get:
Image

I update the guide i then get:
Image

Which removes all the channels from WMC and removes the link from the right hand side, also turns the number on the right hand side to -1

Any advise would be greatly appreciated.

Dont want to have to retune the channels again already had to this on another system with the same problem.

Thank you for you help.
Attachments
after guide update.PNG
guide.PNG
channels.PNG

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 5344
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#2

Post by garyan2 » Wed Oct 07, 2020 3:09 pm

The [Restore] button returns the WMC configurations to whatever it was when the backup file you selected was created. Doing a [Restore] right after a [Client Setup] will pretty much undo everything you just did.

DVB Satellite lineups from EPG123 will have -1 for channel numbers since the channel numbers that WMC assigns to the scanned transponder channels is somewhat arbitrary. The EPG123 automatch routine uses channel numbers to do its thing, so if the channel numbers of the stations aren't the same between the tuner channels and the downloaded lineup channels, the results will be wrong. However, there will be some channels that will get automatically matched on the first import based on the NID:TID:SID. I am working on a method to make DVB-S users lives a little easier here (at least for 28.8 and 19.2 satellites), but it is very tedious work on my part to get this set up and ready to go... in other words, this won't be available any time soon.

So you need to perform [Client Setup] and for Step 2 you will need to scan your transponders. There is an alternate method to scanning all your transponders using Software Channel-Sorter for WMC tool that another user informed me about, but you will have to figure out how to use that on your own. After studying it a bit, it seems that you will perform Step 2, don't scan your transponders, close WMC and then import the MXF file the tool creates for you... then proceed to Step 3. You will still need to manually map the guide listings to the merged channels in WMC, but you won't have to scan all your transponders manually.

Now I'm a little confused with your images on what lineup(s) you are actually using. Is it Astra 28.8, Freesat, or both?
- Gary
Keeping WMC alive beyond January 2020. http://epg123.garyan2.net

phillyb

Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2020 8:39 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#3

Post by phillyb » Thu Oct 08, 2020 9:48 am

Garyan2 firstly thank you for you reply.

Secondly thank you for keeping the epg123 project going.

I'm running Freesat - Astra 28.2e / Eurobird 1 (28.5e)

Thank you for the software suggestion.

I tried doing what you suggested however i now get a view conflict (see attached).

Do you know how i can fix this?

Or would you suggest starting a new setup?

Thank you in advance for your help and support with this problem.
Attachments
View conflict.PNG

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 5344
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#4

Post by garyan2 » Thu Oct 08, 2020 3:18 pm

Is this error after using the tool above? I may have steered you wrong. I just installed the tool and its output MXF file doesn't appear to support the GBR region. If you used the tool, then that is probably the cause.
- Gary
Keeping WMC alive beyond January 2020. http://epg123.garyan2.net

phillyb

Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2020 8:39 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#5

Post by phillyb » Fri Oct 16, 2020 6:55 pm

Stupid question.

What happens if I click Rebuild WMC database?

Will I loose already tuned channels

The only reason i ask is, I have tune a frequency which found a channel which i did not realize that i need so deleted it.

Now when i re-scan the frequency it does not find the channel that I deleted.

Thank you for you help and support.

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 5344
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#6

Post by garyan2 » Fri Oct 16, 2020 7:15 pm

Open the client and click the sudo undelete button to the right of the [All Scanned Sourced] pull-down. The deleted channel should be listed to restore. You may have to widen the client form to see it, or select the down arrow to the right to show the button.

This is one of those weird WMC features that epg123 can help with.
- Gary
Keeping WMC alive beyond January 2020. http://epg123.garyan2.net

Post Reply