Record OTA?

An evolving, supported alternative to Rovi
Forum rules
★ Download the latest EPG123 here: http://epg123.garyan2.net <> Setup guide here: http://epg123.garyan2.net/downloads/epg123_Guide.pdf
User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 5185
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

Re: Record OTA?

#21

Post by garyan2 » Mon Sep 14, 2020 4:00 pm

Or AntennaWeb. I find it easier to get to the answers I am looking for. TVFool used to be my go-to but I've found errors in their data recently.
- Gary
Keeping WMC alive beyond January 2020. http://epg123.garyan2.net

DSperber

Posts: 279
Joined: Thu Jan 16, 2014 1:35 am
Location: Marina Del Rey, CA

HTPC Specs: Show details

#22

Post by DSperber » Mon Sep 14, 2020 5:01 pm

SugarFree wrote:
Sun Sep 13, 2020 8:34 pm
The replies here have been really helpful - my thanks to all of you!
If you want to spend a bit more money, and your OTA live-viewing/recording habits justify needing more than two tuners, I can recommend the Hauppauge Quad (1609) PCIe tuner card. It has FOUR OTA/ATSC tuners in it, so WMC will have four digital ATSC tuners that can be used simultaneously for viewing and/or recording.

I've gone through quite a number of OTA/ATSC tuners over the past 15 years (even before going to WMC in 2010 when Ceton tuners became available for Win7), using pre-WMC 3rd-party software to be my TV/DVR. I was using BeyondTV for many years before it was disappeared by unstoppable competition from the availability of free WMC with Win7. It was AMD back in those days which was making the OTA/ATSC tuner cards, originally just a single tuner and then eventually two tuners. These also supported analog S-VHS input and analog NTSC antennas for 480i TV, appropriate in those analog TV days.

So the Hauppauge QuadHD is really an all-digital 4-tuner evolutionary product. I have two of them, in each of my two HTPCs, along with a Ceton 6-tuner device (PCIe in one, ETH in the other) in each HTPC as well. WMC supports all 10 tuners, and my SD subscription (for EPG123) supports both the Spectrum cable lineup as well as my local OTA/ATSC digital cable channel lineup (for my roof antenna). EPG123 supports both lineups, so my WMC GUide shows everything... both Spectrum cable channels as well as local OTA/ATSC digital broadcast channels.

stuartm

Posts: 481
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 8:05 pm
Location: Longmont, CO

HTPC Specs: Show details

#23

Post by stuartm » Mon Sep 14, 2020 6:48 pm

Since the OP on;y wanto record a couple of ota shows a week it sounds like the quad tuner is a bit of overkill, also said no available PCI slots. Note that Hauppauge now also offers a quad USB tuner: https://www.hauppauge.com/pages/webstor ... d-usb.html

SugarFree

Posts: 183
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2011 6:28 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#24

Post by SugarFree » Wed Sep 16, 2020 12:34 pm

Thanks for the tip on Rabbit Ears. Turns out the stations I want are less than 10 miles away - but-not just VHF, they're both Lo-VHF. Fewer than 60 stations in the entire country still use that frequency, but the two I want are in that group. To bring them in, I'll need the kind of antennas we used to see on roofs, called Dipoles. They do still make them, and they do HD and 4k as well - but not cheap. Not sure it's worth it for 2 or 3 channels...

User avatar
StinkyImp

Posts: 322
Joined: Thu May 11, 2017 7:53 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#25

Post by StinkyImp » Wed Sep 16, 2020 4:06 pm

SugarFree wrote:
Wed Sep 16, 2020 12:34 pm
Thanks for the tip on Rabbit Ears. Turns out the stations I want are less than 10 miles away - but-not just VHF, they're both Lo-VHF. Fewer than 60 stations in the entire country still use that frequency, but the two I want are in that group. To bring them in, I'll need the kind of antennas we used to see on roofs, called Dipoles. They do still make them, and they do HD and 4k as well - but not cheap. Not sure it's worth it for 2 or 3 channels...
For what it's worth... I use one of these mounted on the roof. https://www.amazon.com/Antenna-Satellit ... B0024R4B5C

It's fairly cheap and pulls all my local channels (32 miles) without amplification and also pulls a few remote channels (~100 miles) with the previously mentioned PCT in-line amplifier.

Note: Walmart has these for the same price as Amazon and are in-stock at some local stores.

https://www.walmart.com/ip/RCA-Suburban ... t/10828410

stuartm

Posts: 481
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 8:05 pm
Location: Longmont, CO

HTPC Specs: Show details

#26

Post by stuartm » Wed Sep 16, 2020 5:05 pm

Just a note. HD and 4K are characteristics of the transmitted data and have nothing to do with the performance of any antenna. The antenna will either pull in the frequency well or it won't. If it does then whatever the signal type is will be watchable. Antenna makers throw around 4k and HD as meaningless buzzwords. All antennas are 4k and HD capable for the channels they pull in well.

SugarFree

Posts: 183
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2011 6:28 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#27

Post by SugarFree » Wed Sep 16, 2020 5:11 pm

> Satellite Antenna

It's not a question of pulling in stations - nor whether an antenna can 'do' VHF. Most antennas can do that. But if a listing does not specifically state "LO VHF" - and yours doesn't - it won't bring in channels 2 - 7. It will only bring in the VHF channels above that, known as High VHF. For LO, you *must* have a Dipole antenna, or add a Dipole to an existing antenna. That's what makes them expensive.

My guess is the reason you get all 'local' stations is because they're all either High VHF or UHF.

adam1991

Posts: 2871
Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2011 2:31 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#28

Post by adam1991 » Thu Sep 17, 2020 1:13 am

SugarFree wrote:
Wed Sep 16, 2020 12:34 pm
Thanks for the tip on Rabbit Ears. Turns out the stations I want are less than 10 miles away - but-not just VHF, they're both Lo-VHF. Fewer than 60 stations in the entire country still use that frequency, but the two I want are in that group. To bring them in, I'll need the kind of antennas we used to see on roofs, called Dipoles. They do still make them, and they do HD and 4k as well - but not cheap. Not sure it's worth it for 2 or 3 channels...
There's no such thing as an HD or 4K antenna.

The same antenna your dad put up in 1955 to get Channel 4, will continue to get Channel 4 today. And if Channel 4 is broadcasting HD (which it is), then you'll get...HD.

If someone is trying to tell you that you need to spend gobs of money to get a digital HD antenna, he's lying--in more ways than one.

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 5185
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#29

Post by garyan2 » Thu Sep 17, 2020 1:49 am

SugarFree wrote:
Wed Sep 16, 2020 5:11 pm
It's not a question of pulling in stations - nor whether an antenna can 'do' VHF. Most antennas can do that. But if a listing does not specifically state "LO VHF" - and yours doesn't - it won't bring in channels 2 - 7.
Some antenna specs won't specify VHF LO, but they may specify the frequency range. If it goes down to 54MHz or lower, you're good. I use Lava Omnipro HD-8008 which goes down to 40MHz in my attic space.
- Gary
Keeping WMC alive beyond January 2020. http://epg123.garyan2.net

SugarFree

Posts: 183
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2011 6:28 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#30

Post by SugarFree » Thu Sep 17, 2020 3:04 pm

Gary, the station I want is at 54-60MHz - so this may well work. Do you have yours mounted on the optional pole in the attic, or affixed to the ceiling/wall without one? I know every area is different, but how many stations does it bring in? Do I need to buy a separate amplifier (as well as splitter for the Hauppauge)?

Finally, I don't have a window in the attic out of which I can toss a coax - so I would probably have to attach it up high on the side of the house. Do I need the pole for that, or is there an included bracket I can use?

Thanks!

Lisa

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 5185
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#31

Post by garyan2 » Thu Sep 17, 2020 5:21 pm

I mounted my antenna on a temporary stand I made from spare wood for an experiment to see if I could pull everything I need in the attic space. It has been temporary for around 5 years now. If I had a J-pole available, I would have probably hung it down from a rafter or something.

I bring in all the stations that are available in my area. If weather conditions are good, I can almost pull in broadcasts from 110 miles away. I am surrounded by mountains here and have towers directly north, a tower directly south, and more towers west-north-west. The WNW towers are low power and used to service an area in a valley north of its position and that is where my VHF 4 is. I can pull it in if I point the VHF wings in that direction but I needed to point mine north to pick up VHF 9. I'm not missing anything since the VHF 4 stations are also broadcast on UHF 23 from the north.

I personally don't like amplifiers since they amplify both the signal and the noise. If you have low signal then you might consider it, but if you have good signal but poor quality then the amp probably isn't going to do you any good. I have my antenna feed going into a 3-way splitter for my 2 HDHomeRuns and my Sling AirTV (for backup recordings). Still get 100% signal strength on most channels and high 90s-100 on signal quality. The antenna is powered and has its own amplifier built in... the power is provided through the coax so no need to run a separate power cable. Speaking of which, you will need to be sure that the power for the antenna is inserted between your splitter(s) and the antenna, or buy a special splitter that allows DC voltage on one leg and blocks DC on the others.

To mount outside you will need a pole to mount it to so you can point it at your VHF broadcasters.
- Gary
Keeping WMC alive beyond January 2020. http://epg123.garyan2.net

SugarFree

Posts: 183
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2011 6:28 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#32

Post by SugarFree » Thu Sep 17, 2020 5:45 pm

Gary, thanks for the useful info. Looks like the extra $10 for the pole is worth it, especially if I need to hang it outside. I sure have learned a lot in the last week - but I always do here. /s

Thanks to everyone for their help!

Lisa

Post Reply