New User questions

An evolving, supported alternative to Rovi
Forum rules
★ Download the latest EPG123 here: https://garyan2.github.io/ <> Setup guide here: https://garyan2.github.io/install.html
VintageMale

HTPC Specs: Show details

New User questions

Post by VintageMale » Wed Jan 01, 2020 11:04 pm

Hello,
I’m new to EPG123. I started using EPG123 yesterday and I have a few questions about it.

I built two HTPCs many years ago. Back then I was using a program called “Beyond TV” which was put out of business, so I had to start using WMC.

Currently I have two HTPCs configured exactly the same. They both use Windows 7 and WMC with Ceton Infinity 6 tuner cards and two 1TB HDDs in each system. I have Spectrum (previously TWC) standard TV cable (coax) and internet access through my own router and modem. Everything has worked fine for the past 5 years (since I moved to South Carolina). Now I’m having to subscribe to Schedules Direct because of the MS shutdown. Not a problem!

I have a subscription to Schedules Direct and have installed EPG123 on one of my HTPCs. I followed all the instructions I could find, and everything seems to be working. I installed EPG123 “Full Mode” on this first system. I intend to set the second HTPC to get it’s guide info from this first one. I believe I have to install only the EPG123 “client” on the second system and point it to the first system to get the guide.

OK, now I have some questions.

First question:
I get about 135 channels out of 300 from Spectrum. I only want about 20 HDTV channels to show on the on screen guide. I understand that ALL channels on Spectrum Cable service are digital now. However, I want to set up the new Guide to only show the same channels I’m use to.