Page 1 of 1

Missing range of channels when using EPG123 (newbie setup)

Posted: Thu Nov 21, 2019 5:16 am
by grachor
Portland Oregon Antenna lineup. Gets the info from schedules direct. 97124

WMC missing channels from 7-21 when using EPG123.

Example of missing channel: 8.1. KGW tv

This channel is listed in the list I see in the lineup in EPG123.

The missing channels are not seen on the listing on the left on EPG123 client. They are visible on the right hand list.

The result is the missing channels don't show up in WMC channel guide.

If I go back to the Microsoft provided program guide the channels appear. Repeatable on second WMC.

EPG123 is perfect if I get this to work. What did I miss during setup?
Best Regards,

George Rachor
georgerachor@gmail.com

Re: missing range of channels when using EPG123 (newbie setup)

Posted: Thu Nov 21, 2019 5:27 am
by garyan2
For your example of 8.1, you have to manually add the VHF channels to the guide. WMC does not scan the VHF band (channels 2 - 13) for ATSC transmissions for some unknown reason. Refer to the website (http://epg123.garyan2.net/tools/#vhfAddChannel)

Base on your zip code, you will need to add:
8.1, 8.2, 8.3 (frequency 8)
10.1, 10.2, 10.3, 10.4 (frequency 10)
12.1, 12.2, 12.3, 12.4 (frequency 12)
32.1, 32.2, 32.3 (frequency 5)

Re: missing range of channels when using EPG123 (newbie setup)

Posted: Thu Nov 21, 2019 6:03 am
by grachor
Tedious but cool! I can move forward now. I'll try that in the morning. George

Re: missing range of channels when using EPG123 (newbie setup)

Posted: Thu Nov 21, 2019 6:07 am
by grachor
fyi.. It did find channels 2-6 and channels abovt 21... Just a thought... Thanks again for the quick reply!

Re: missing range of channels when using EPG123 (newbie setup)

Posted: Thu Nov 21, 2019 6:25 am
by grachor
Hmmmm Why are these channels detected when using the Microsoft programming guide? I know too many questions...

George

Re: missing range of channels when using EPG123 (newbie setup)

Posted: Thu Nov 21, 2019 6:49 am
by grachor
Couldn't wait.. Channel 8.1 is in and working... Cool! George

Re: missing range of channels when using EPG123 (newbie setup)

Posted: Thu Nov 21, 2019 7:43 am
by garyan2
When using MS/Rovi, they provide your tuner setups to include the VHF band. The tuner doesn't actually scan them. Since we denied the guide ToS, we dont get that tuner information and have to program it ourselves.

Re: missing range of channels when using EPG123 (newbie setup)

Posted: Thu Nov 21, 2019 7:50 am
by garyan2
grachor wrote:
Thu Nov 21, 2019 6:07 am
fyi.. It did find channels 2-6 and channels abovt 21... Just a thought... Thanks again for the quick reply!
Channels 2.x are on UHF channel 24
Channels 6.x are on UHF channel 25
Channels 10.x are on UHF channel 48 (probably don't get these)

Actually, in the client, you can scroll right until you see the TuningInfo column. You will see the physical channels there.