Missing range of channels when using EPG123 (newbie setup)

An evolving, supported alternative to Rovi
Forum rules
★ Download the latest EPG123 here: http://epg123.garyan2.net <> Setup guide here: http://epg123.garyan2.net/downloads/epg123_Guide.pdf
Post Reply
grachor

Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2019 4:52 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

Missing range of channels when using EPG123 (newbie setup)

#1

Post by grachor » Thu Nov 21, 2019 5:16 am

Portland Oregon Antenna lineup. Gets the info from schedules direct. 97124

WMC missing channels from 7-21 when using EPG123.

Example of missing channel: 8.1. KGW tv

This channel is listed in the list I see in the lineup in EPG123.

The missing channels are not seen on the listing on the left on EPG123 client. They are visible on the right hand list.

The result is the missing channels don't show up in WMC channel guide.

If I go back to the Microsoft provided program guide the channels appear. Repeatable on second WMC.

EPG123 is perfect if I get this to work. What did I miss during setup?
Best Regards,

George Rachor
georgerachor@gmail.com

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 3835
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#2

Post by garyan2 » Thu Nov 21, 2019 5:27 am

For your example of 8.1, you have to manually add the VHF channels to the guide. WMC does not scan the VHF band (channels 2 - 13) for ATSC transmissions for some unknown reason. Refer to the website (http://epg123.garyan2.net/tools/#vhfAddChannel)

Base on your zip code, you will need to add:
8.1, 8.2, 8.3 (frequency 8)
10.1, 10.2, 10.3, 10.4 (frequency 10)
12.1, 12.2, 12.3, 12.4 (frequency 12)
32.1, 32.2, 32.3 (frequency 5)
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

grachor

Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2019 4:52 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#3

Post by grachor » Thu Nov 21, 2019 6:03 am

Tedious but cool! I can move forward now. I'll try that in the morning. George

grachor

Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2019 4:52 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#4

Post by grachor » Thu Nov 21, 2019 6:07 am

fyi.. It did find channels 2-6 and channels abovt 21... Just a thought... Thanks again for the quick reply!

grachor

Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2019 4:52 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#5

Post by grachor » Thu Nov 21, 2019 6:25 am

Hmmmm Why are these channels detected when using the Microsoft programming guide? I know too many questions...

George

grachor

Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2019 4:52 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#6

Post by grachor » Thu Nov 21, 2019 6:49 am

Couldn't wait.. Channel 8.1 is in and working... Cool! George

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 3835
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#7

Post by garyan2 » Thu Nov 21, 2019 7:43 am

When using MS/Rovi, they provide your tuner setups to include the VHF band. The tuner doesn't actually scan them. Since we denied the guide ToS, we dont get that tuner information and have to program it ourselves.
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 3835
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#8

Post by garyan2 » Thu Nov 21, 2019 7:50 am

grachor wrote:
Thu Nov 21, 2019 6:07 am
fyi.. It did find channels 2-6 and channels abovt 21... Just a thought... Thanks again for the quick reply!
Channels 2.x are on UHF channel 24
Channels 6.x are on UHF channel 25
Channels 10.x are on UHF channel 48 (probably don't get these)

Actually, in the client, you can scroll right until you see the TuningInfo column. You will see the physical channels there.
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

Post Reply