How do I upgrade my EPG123?

An evolving, supported alternative to Rovi
Forum rules
★ Download the latest EPG123 here: http://epg123.garyan2.net <> Setup guide here: http://epg123.garyan2.net/downloads/epg123_Guide.pdf
Post Reply
Paul Anderegg

Posts: 106
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2012 4:39 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

How do I upgrade my EPG123?

#1

Post by Paul Anderegg » Sat Oct 19, 2019 11:37 am

I downloaded the latest version, but not sure if I have to run through the whole install again, or there is something about copying over the folder? Not clear on how to proceed. :-\

I already ran a backup within the client.

Paul

User avatar
Scallica

Posts: 2595
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2011 7:09 pm
Location: USA!

HTPC Specs: Show details

#2

Post by Scallica » Sat Oct 19, 2019 12:41 pm

Start by creating a copy of C:\EPG123 to C:\EPG123.old

Then, run the installer EXE and click Next through the wizard. No need to change any settings.
HTPC Enthusiast / Forum Moderator - TGB.tv Code of Conduct

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 3733
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#3

Post by garyan2 » Sat Oct 19, 2019 3:51 pm

I have a note on the download page concerning upgrades.
UPGRADE NOTE

If performing an upgrade from a previous version of EPG123, it is only necessary to run the new setup file or copy over the old files with the contents of the portable zip file. No further action is required.
No need to worry about making a backup of the epg123 folder. It can take quite a bit of time to do that as well if you have 60000 files in your cache folder.
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

adam1991

Posts: 2664
Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2011 2:31 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#4

Post by adam1991 » Sat Oct 19, 2019 10:16 pm

Step 0: evaluate the need for the later version, or if your current version does everything you need it to do.

Paul Anderegg

Posts: 106
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2012 4:39 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#5

Post by Paul Anderegg » Sun Oct 20, 2019 3:01 am

Ran the new installer, completed in a few seconds, that was all...was afraid it would run me through the entire setup and wipe process again, but it didn't :-)

Paul

Paul Anderegg

Posts: 106
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2012 4:39 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#6

Post by Paul Anderegg » Sun Oct 20, 2019 3:22 am

Well, after running the installer, WMC still says it is using the old version, with the "!"...so....?

Paul

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 3733
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#7

Post by garyan2 » Sun Oct 20, 2019 3:36 am

Paul Anderegg wrote:
Sun Oct 20, 2019 3:22 am
Well, after running the installer, WMC still says it is using the old version, with the "!"...so....?

Paul
The '+' indicator for an upgrade available will clear once you import a new MXF file that was created by the current version.

The '!' indicator is a Warning from the last update. You will find the source of that Warning within the trace.log file by the [WARNG] entry. You can view that file using the [View Log] button.
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

Post Reply