Restoring EPG123 after installing new tuners

An evolving, supported alternative to Rovi
Forum rules
★ Download the latest EPG123 here: http://epg123.garyan2.net <> Setup guide here: http://epg123.garyan2.net/downloads/epg123_Guide.pdf
Post Reply
Hobbes

Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2019 12:40 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

Restoring EPG123 after installing new tuners

#1

Post by Hobbes » Thu Sep 12, 2019 12:56 am

I have been using EPG123 with Schedules Direct for a quite some time (version 1.1.10) and have been quite happy with it. Unfortunately, my Ceton InfiniTV 6 ETH died from a lighting strike and I had to get a new one. I had to reinstall the cable card and tuners in WMC to get it functional again.

I tried to figure out how to proceed without automatically loading new guide data as part of the tuner install process, but it didn't give me the option to decline it. So WMC is using the standard guide data. Now I am reluctant to take any further steps toward reinstalling EPG for fear of screwing up any of my existing EPG data. I'm hoping somebody can assist.

I'd like to restore the guide info from my existing install of EPG, with scheduled recordings etc. When I run the EPG client all my configuration info is still there. My older version didn't have a backup button and I was hesitant to install a new version as the install guides were unclear about how to upgrade or how to reload an existing setup. Is there a way to connect my existing EPG setup back to WMC? I'd be happy to install the current version if that helps, but I wanted to make sure that wouldn't cause further problems. Any help or guidance would be much appreciated.

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 3491
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#2

Post by garyan2 » Thu Sep 12, 2019 1:50 am

Install the latest version of EPG123 and then perform a Client Setup from the client GUI... just follow the installation guide. The first thing it will do is make a backup of your configuration which includes your schedule recordings and can be restored once Step 3 is complete.

An upgrade to EPG123 is simply running the installation package and it will replace the executables... nothing more.
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 3491
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#3

Post by garyan2 » Thu Sep 12, 2019 2:01 am

Since your current version was a couple years back, you won't be familiar with the Transfer Tool. The tool will pop up at the completion of Step 3 and will show all your backed up recording requests that you can then transfer into the new database. If that is empty, give a shout and I will help. Depending on where you installed EPG123 initially will determine where your backup files are.
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

Hobbes

Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2019 12:40 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#4

Post by Hobbes » Thu Sep 12, 2019 2:22 am

Thanks! I was hoping it would be that straightforward, but I didn't want to take any unrecoverable actions. I'll give it a try and let you know if I run into problems.

Hobbes

Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2019 12:40 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#5

Post by Hobbes » Thu Sep 12, 2019 11:12 am

This did the trick to get my guide data and scheduled recordings back. I'm mostly back to where I began. Thanks again.

Is there a way to restore my custom channel lineups? I had a couple of them. If not it will be tedious to go through WMC to set them up again, so I figured I would check first to see if the old ones can be restored.

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 3491
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#6

Post by garyan2 » Thu Sep 12, 2019 2:18 pm

Hobbes wrote:
Thu Sep 12, 2019 11:12 am
Is there a way to restore my custom channel lineups? I had a couple of them. If not it will be tedious to go through WMC to set them up again, so I figured I would check first to see if the old ones can be restored.
There is, but unfortunately not for you. The only way to restore the custom lineups will also restore your old tuners (and delete the new tuners) which will put you back to where you started.
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

Hobbes

Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2019 12:40 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#7

Post by Hobbes » Thu Sep 12, 2019 3:11 pm

Thanks. I figured as much, but was hopeful there was an easier solution.

One more thing. You posted the following to another recent question:
garyan2 wrote:
Tue Aug 27, 2019 2:17 pm
Paul Anderegg wrote:
Tue Aug 27, 2019 10:11 am
...would have been nice to have a mention of the 4 tuner limit...
At the end of Step 1, EPG123 will apply the tuner limit increase giving a max limit of 32. If it failed for you, then this might be a side effect of putting in a timeout for an mcupdate operation prior to the limit increase. I'll have to check. Did your Step 1 take over a minute to complete?
My setup also said it was setting up 4 tuners, and Step 1 automatically jumped into step 2 after completion. How can I tell if I have access to all 6 tuners? If it only set up the 4 tuners can I have it add the other 2?

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 3491
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#8

Post by garyan2 » Thu Sep 12, 2019 6:34 pm

Hobbes wrote:
Thu Sep 12, 2019 3:11 pm
My setup also said it was setting up 4 tuners, and Step 1 automatically jumped into step 2 after completion. How can I tell if I have access to all 6 tuners? If it only set up the 4 tuners can I have it add the other 2?
Sorry, you'll have to open the client GUI, click the [Tweak WMC] button, and then the [Increase] tuner limit button. After that, close the client and perform a TV Setup in WMC to get all 6 tuners. Once that is complete, you will have to reimport your guide data with the [Save & Execute] from the configuration GUI or a [Manual Import] from the client GUI.

1. Open client
2. Click [Tweak WMC]
3. Click [Increase]
4. Close client
5. Open WMC and perform TV Setup
6. Close WMC
7. Open configuration GUI and click [Save & Execute]
or
7. Open client GUI and click [Manual Import] and select epg123.mxf file
8. In client GUI click the Match by: [# Number] button if listings are not mapped to the channels

I'm going to have to rework that initial setup... trying to fix one thing and made another less reliable.
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

Hobbes

Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2019 12:40 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#9

Post by Hobbes » Fri Sep 13, 2019 12:25 pm

Just wanted to follow up and say that I'm back to normal and everything is working fine again. Thanks so much for your help.

Post Reply