Task Scheduler Greyed out

An evolving, supported alternative to Rovi
Forum rules
★ Download the latest EPG123 here: http://epg123.garyan2.net <> Setup guide here: http://epg123.garyan2.net/downloads/epg123_Guide.pdf
Post Reply
Jacksondorf

Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2017 6:55 am
Location: Arizona

HTPC Specs: Show details

Task Scheduler Greyed out

#1

Post by Jacksondorf » Tue Feb 05, 2019 10:37 pm

I wanted to change the time of the task. But all setting in the task scheduler box is greyed out, and I cannot change it. After Deleting it, the check boxes became unchecked, and the original time still shows up, but everything is greyed out, and I cannot create a new task.

Also, is this task setup for the wmcupdate that is listed in the windows task scheduler utility, or one specific to epg123 only.

Any pointers will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!
Tim

Running latest version of epg123 on windows 7, and had been running mostly OK for several months. I wanted to change the time thinking I might be having an issue with the machine doing backups during the same time as epg123 was updating.

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 3333
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#2

Post by garyan2 » Tue Feb 05, 2019 10:43 pm

In order to create/delete a task, the GUI must be run with elevated rights. Clicking the button while there is a 'lock' on it simply closes the current session and opens a new session as administrator ... it doesn't execute the create/delete task. You need to click the create/delete button again.

A quick way to bypass this confusion is to right-click the EPG123 icon and select Run as administrator. Then you are already elevated and clicking the create/delete button will actually perform the task of deleting or creating the task.

The epg123_update task is separate from the mcupdate tasks for WMC. You will find it in Task Scheduler in the "root" folder.
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

Jacksondorf

Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2017 6:55 am
Location: Arizona

HTPC Specs: Show details

#3

Post by Jacksondorf » Sun Feb 10, 2019 3:02 pm

Thanks, that answers my questions. I will give the run as admin a try. I thought I tried that, but I am getting old. :-)

Post Reply