Duplicate Channels

An evolving, supported alternative to Rovi
Forum rules
★ Download the latest EPG123 here: http://epg123.garyan2.net <> Setup guide here: http://epg123.garyan2.net/downloads/epg123_Guide.pdf
Post Reply
User avatar
IT Troll

Posts: 653
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2011 9:42 am
Location: Edinburgh, UK

HTPC Specs: Show details

Duplicate Channels

#1

Post by IT Troll » Thu Oct 18, 2018 6:13 pm

I think this may have been discussed previously with regards to US cable channels, but I am seeing something similar with UK DVB-T (Freeview).

I've had to do a few rescans recently following channel frequency changes. For some reason certain channels now have duplicates. The name and channel numbers are identical but only one will actually work as the others do not include the correct frequency. This is something that Media Center is doing as the duplicates appear after running the add channels scan and before EPG123 has done anything.

It is not a problem as such because once unticked in the Client Guide Tool they remain disabled for subsequent runs (even with Automatch enabled).

Is there a safe way to clean these up without starting over?
Duplicates.PNG

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 3851
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#2

Post by garyan2 » Thu Oct 18, 2018 6:58 pm

Does DVB-T have the same option as ATSC does in the US to delete all channels before scanning for more channels? It is a separate button for us. After this, you would need to perform a station mapping between the "new" channels and the guide listings, but you will keep all your recording histories and not have to go through a full blown setup again.

Another thing to think about, this may clean itself up eventually... it still does a background scan correct? You weren't able to completely shut that off, if I recall.
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

User avatar
IT Troll

Posts: 653
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2011 9:42 am
Location: Edinburgh, UK

HTPC Specs: Show details

#3

Post by IT Troll » Sat Oct 20, 2018 5:54 pm

Sorry for delay replying. Yes there is indeed a Delete All button to the right of the Scan Now. So doing this will retain recording history and series recordings? But I would need to perhaps redo my Guide > Lineup mappings?

Background/periodic/opportunistic scanning is disabled. But what cannot be disabled is the in-band channel announcement/discovery. This only kicks in if you watch live TV (not if you record) but it only adds new and deselected channels and won't clean up these duplicates.

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 3851
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#4

Post by garyan2 » Sat Oct 20, 2018 6:08 pm

IT Troll wrote:
Sat Oct 20, 2018 5:54 pm
Sorry for delay replying. Yes there is indeed a Delete All button to the right of the Scan Now. So doing this will retain recording history and series recordings? But I would need to perhaps redo my Guide > Lineup mappings?
Correct.
IT Troll wrote:
Sat Oct 20, 2018 5:54 pm
Background/periodic/opportunistic scanning is disabled. But what cannot be disabled is the in-band channel announcement/discovery. This only kicks in if you watch live TV (not if you record) but it only adds new and deselected channels and won't clean up these duplicates.
If you want to manually clean up, you can highlight all the "dead" channels and click the 'X' button to the right of the Scanned Sources pulldown.
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

User avatar
IT Troll

Posts: 653
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2011 9:42 am
Location: Edinburgh, UK

HTPC Specs: Show details

#5

Post by IT Troll » Sat Oct 20, 2018 6:12 pm

garyan2 wrote:
Sat Oct 20, 2018 6:08 pm
If you want to manually clean up, you can highlight all the "dead" channels and click the 'X' button to the right of the Scanned Sources pulldown.
Thanks for the tip, I'll give that a try, assuming I can tell which is which.

Any chance the Client Guide Tool could have a delete option in future?

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 3851
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#6

Post by garyan2 » Sat Oct 20, 2018 6:16 pm

IT Troll wrote:
Sat Oct 20, 2018 6:12 pm
Any chance the Client Guide Tool could have a delete option in future?
That's what the 'X' button is... to delete individual channels.
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

User avatar
IT Troll

Posts: 653
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2011 9:42 am
Location: Edinburgh, UK

HTPC Specs: Show details

#7

Post by IT Troll » Sun Oct 21, 2018 6:34 pm

Ah, sorry for being dim. I thought you were talking about something within Media Center. If you notice on my screenshot of the Client Guide Tool, my window size has hidden the toolbar icons under a rather subtle dropdown menu. I had completely missed that these functions even existed! :oops:

All tidied up now. Many thanks.

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 3851
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#8

Post by garyan2 » Sun Oct 21, 2018 7:09 pm

Yah, and I would say that it was intentional to "hide" the other buttons. I would consider the 'Delete' and 'Add' buttons to be advanced while the 'Store Explorer' and 'MXF Export' are considered expert. I don't advertise them, but they are there for the inquisitive minds to find.
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

Post Reply