The eHome directory is not deleting

An evolving, supported alternative to Rovi
Forum rules
★ Download the latest EPG123 here: http://epg123.garyan2.net <> Setup guide here: http://epg123.garyan2.net/downloads/epg123_Guide.pdf
Post Reply
squidboy

Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2015 11:29 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

The eHome directory is not deleting

#1

Post by squidboy » Thu Jul 13, 2017 1:33 pm

Im trying to set this up and I did the clean start in safe mode but that ehome directory is still there with all its contents. should the entire folder be gone or just its contents?

User avatar
Scallica

Posts: 2679
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2011 7:09 pm
Location: USA!

HTPC Specs: Show details

#2

Post by Scallica » Thu Jul 13, 2017 1:38 pm

Make sure the Windows Media Center Receiver Service and Scheduler Service are stopped before attempting to delete the folder or its contents.
HTPC Enthusiast / Forum Moderator - TGB.tv Code of Conduct

squidboy

Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2015 11:29 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#3

Post by squidboy » Thu Jul 13, 2017 1:47 pm

In safe mode they aren't running

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 4774
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#4

Post by garyan2 » Thu Jul 13, 2017 2:06 pm

squidboy wrote:Im trying to set this up and I did the clean start in safe mode but that ehome directory is still there with all its contents. should the entire folder be gone or just its contents?
Code was changed to only delete the contents for those that use symlinks on the ehome folder.

You can manually delete the folder/contents.
- Gary
Keeping WMC alive beyond January 2020. http://epg123.garyan2.net

squidboy

Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2015 11:29 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#5

Post by squidboy » Thu Jul 13, 2017 2:16 pm

I can right click right on the ehome folder and delete it? It will recreate it?

squidboy

Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2015 11:29 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#6

Post by squidboy » Thu Jul 13, 2017 2:23 pm

Tried deleting the entire folder and I get an error "you require permission from trustedinstaller to make changes to this folder" happens in regular and safemode

squidboy

Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2015 11:29 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#7

Post by squidboy » Thu Jul 13, 2017 2:29 pm

So I was poking around and I right clicked on the ehome folder and went to properties, clicked security and under groups and usernames is trustedinstaller

squidboy

Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2015 11:29 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#8

Post by squidboy » Thu Jul 13, 2017 2:32 pm


squidboy

Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2015 11:29 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#9

Post by squidboy » Thu Jul 13, 2017 2:35 pm

Ok scratch that. Didn't work.

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 4774
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#10

Post by garyan2 » Thu Jul 13, 2017 2:47 pm

Sounds like you need to take ownership of the folder and then delete. Did you not get a prompt to delete it with elevated privileges?
- Gary
Keeping WMC alive beyond January 2020. http://epg123.garyan2.net

squidboy

Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2015 11:29 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#11

Post by squidboy » Thu Jul 13, 2017 2:51 pm

So I went to command prompt to delete the files and it deleted some. Rebooted windows in regular mode and now WMC won't open. It's as if it's not installed

User avatar
Scallica

Posts: 2679
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2011 7:09 pm
Location: USA!

HTPC Specs: Show details

#12

Post by Scallica » Thu Jul 13, 2017 3:41 pm

HTPC Enthusiast / Forum Moderator - TGB.tv Code of Conduct

squidboy

Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2015 11:29 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#13

Post by squidboy » Thu Jul 13, 2017 3:50 pm

Already doing that. Gave me an error removing. Trying again

Sammy2

Posts: 1685
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2012 7:35 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#14

Post by Sammy2 » Thu Jul 13, 2017 4:48 pm

Who is this "trustedinstaller" user? Do you have the credentials to that so you can log in as that user and do it?

mchias13

Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2017 4:58 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#15

Post by mchias13 » Thu Jul 13, 2017 5:04 pm

I had the same issue you did. I made a backup of the eHome directory before I started messing with it. I tried everything to delete the folder and contents like you did, but could never get everything to delete. I ended up deleting some files and that cause WMC to not open anymore. I copied the backup files back into the active eHome folder and was able to open WMC again.

What I ended up doing was going through the guide setup again and selecting "i don't agree" with using Rovi guide. It went on to the next screen and just sat there. I hit cancel and exiting WMC. I opened up EPG123 server app and set everything up. I then opened up WMC and it had been converted to the SD guide data. I may end up with issues for not following the instructions exactly, but so far I've been running for a week with no issues.

squidboy

Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2015 11:29 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#16

Post by squidboy » Thu Jul 13, 2017 5:42 pm

Too late. I'm already reinstalling windows. Gary... anything special I should or need to do to use epg123. Should I instal that before I configure WMC

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 4774
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#17

Post by garyan2 » Thu Jul 13, 2017 6:30 pm

squidboy wrote:Too late. I'm already reinstalling windows. Gary... anything special I should or need to do to use epg123. Should I instal that before I configure WMC
With a fresh install, you can skip Step 1. Nothing else to note other than tuners need to be installed as well.
- Gary
Keeping WMC alive beyond January 2020. http://epg123.garyan2.net

squidboy

Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2015 11:29 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#18

Post by squidboy » Fri Jul 14, 2017 3:04 am

And we are up and running again. As a side note, after I did my windows install and using dates, before I opened WMC, there is already a home folder with stuff in it. So there was prob no need to delete everything. The program prob deleted the necessary files

User avatar
Scallica

Posts: 2679
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2011 7:09 pm
Location: USA!

HTPC Specs: Show details

#19

Post by Scallica » Fri Jul 14, 2017 10:31 am

squidboy wrote:And we are up and running again.
Good, now take a snapshot of your system.

https://www.howtogeek.com/howto/4241/ho ... windows-7/
HTPC Enthusiast / Forum Moderator - TGB.tv Code of Conduct

Post Reply