Possible to port WMC from Win10 Preview builds to Final?

Discussion of getting WMC to work on Windows 10 (unsupported)
User avatar
IT Troll

Posts: 633
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2011 9:42 am
Location: Edinburgh, UK

HTPC Specs: Show details

Re: Possible to port WMC from Win10 Preview builds to Final?

#121

Post by IT Troll » Tue Sep 08, 2015 10:06 pm

Awesome news! This really cheered me up after days of guide data woes.

There is light on the horizon.

jwckauman

Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 7:32 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#122

Post by jwckauman » Wed Sep 09, 2015 1:23 am

Anyone seen this? Evidently some folks figured out how to install WMC on Windows 10 and it works!

http://www.windowscentral.com/install-m ... windows-10

Haven't tried it myself yet. Sticking around on stable Windows 8.1 as a platform for WMC for the fall season of OTA content. Will probably stay this way until XBOX One gets DVR support (and it works as good as what I have today).

[Moderator note: topic merged; search before posting]

User avatar
IT Troll

Posts: 633
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2011 9:42 am
Location: Edinburgh, UK

HTPC Specs: Show details

#123

Post by IT Troll » Wed Sep 09, 2015 6:58 am

Well this thread is buried in a sub forum that I suspect many people don't browse so it is not surprising people keep creating separate new threads.

I posted a link to this thread in the "No WMC in Win 10" thread and it was deleted.

Are we trying to keep this a secret?

Mike_TV

Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2012 12:00 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#124

Post by Mike_TV » Wed Sep 09, 2015 12:06 pm

The Dropbox link to the zip file has been suspended.

Error (429)
This account's public links are generating too much traffic and have been temporarily disabled!

3rob3

Posts: 548
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2011 8:48 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#125

Post by 3rob3 » Wed Sep 09, 2015 12:43 pm

There are mirrors. Just Google the file name.

User avatar
DavidinCT

Posts: 1414
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 3:45 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#126

Post by DavidinCT » Wed Sep 09, 2015 7:27 pm

Mods, shouldn't this be front page news now ? Or you going to have to move all new threads, people are seeing this more and more each day.

WMC works on Windows 10, finally....

Guide data issues are being worked on...
-Dave
Twitter @TheCoolDave

Windows Media Center certified and WMC MVP 2010 - 2012

ricktendo

Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2013 8:52 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#127

Post by ricktendo » Wed Sep 09, 2015 7:43 pm

Anybody try to port WMC from Windows 7 see if 3rd party extenders work on it?

Also does anyone know why the used the files from build 10134 vs 10135?

ajhieb

Posts: 272
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 2:34 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#128

Post by ajhieb » Wed Sep 09, 2015 7:59 pm

ricktendo wrote:Anybody try to port WMC from Windows 7 see if 3rd party extenders work on it?

Also does anyone know why the used the files from build 10134 vs 10135?
3rd Party Extenders aren't going to work regardless of which version of WMC is used. WMC didn't break 3rd party extender functionality, a change to the Remote Desktop Protocol did.

User avatar
DavidinCT

Posts: 1414
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 3:45 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#129

Post by DavidinCT » Wed Sep 09, 2015 9:27 pm

Latest news= Files were ripped and patched from Windows 8.1 and guide data appears to be working. I have not seen or tested at this point but, when I have access and I can test, I will post a update...

With the current version, in the US (with the files from 10134), Guide data pulled from MS is not working AND Xbox 360 extenders do not work as of now (3rd party ones will never work due to changes in RDP on 8)
-Dave
Twitter @TheCoolDave

Windows Media Center certified and WMC MVP 2010 - 2012

mogulman

Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2011 9:35 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#130

Post by mogulman » Wed Sep 09, 2015 11:07 pm

Interested to see where this goes. I saw a post on another forum about this. Waiting to see how well it works.

User avatar
DavidinCT

Posts: 1414
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 3:45 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#131

Post by DavidinCT » Thu Sep 10, 2015 12:42 am

new files with 8.1 installer....

http://www.datafilehost.com/d/08f55fd8
-Dave
Twitter @TheCoolDave

Windows Media Center certified and WMC MVP 2010 - 2012

werds

Posts: 495
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 3:35 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#132

Post by werds » Thu Sep 10, 2015 3:36 am

All I know is that I am rooting for you guys to figure this out, would be nice to put a working copy of my Win7 WMC in storage and move everything up to Win 10 with a working WMC while I still have access to a free license :)

(Basically if the WMC thing in Win10 can't be smoothed out... all our home PC's plus the HTPC stay Win7!

User avatar
Bill

Posts: 60
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 5:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#133

Post by Bill » Thu Sep 10, 2015 5:37 am

Just ran the installer here http://www.datafilehost.com/d/eaa8e932 and it works great! Working with my (networked on another HTPC) Ceton ETH6 & PCIe4. Even MCXL guide logos work!. i did reinstall the drivers. Ran TV tuner setup twice to get guide data working.
HTPCs, InfiniTVs, and Extenders OH MY!

milli260876

Posts: 726
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 2:56 pm
Location: Barnsley Sth Yorks

HTPC Specs: Show details

#134

Post by milli260876 » Thu Sep 10, 2015 8:48 am

Didn't work for me, guess its because I deleted the ehome folder! DOH!!!!
Lee

Him

Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2015 3:01 am
Location: Hong Kong

HTPC Specs: Show details

#135

Post by Him » Thu Sep 10, 2015 1:44 pm

DavidinCT wrote:Latest news= Files were ripped and patched from Windows 8.1 and guide data appears to be working. I have not seen or tested at this point but, when I have access and I can test, I will post a update...

With the current version, in the US (with the files from 10134), Guide data pulled from MS is not working AND Xbox 360 extenders do not work as of now (3rd party ones will never work due to changes in RDP on 8)
Is that you mean using the Media Center ripped from Windows 8.1 will able to connect Xbox 360 Extender?

jjwatmyself

Posts: 67
Joined: Sun Dec 15, 2013 1:56 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#136

Post by jjwatmyself » Fri Sep 11, 2015 12:56 am

I'm hoping, but doubt, there will be OCUD support which is required (I think) for CC support.

docluv01

Posts: 95
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2013 2:44 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#137

Post by docluv01 » Fri Sep 11, 2015 5:20 pm

i tried using the insytalkler, got it installed

but it wont find my tuners...

truied re-installign hdhomrun drivers too...
not sure...

docluv01

Posts: 95
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2013 2:44 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#138

Post by docluv01 » Fri Sep 11, 2015 7:13 pm

for those guys that have it workign with CC tuners...

How did you get past the digital cable key activation? what key would I use?

User avatar
mcewinter

Posts: 997
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 8:33 pm
Location: Chicago

HTPC Specs: Show details

#139

Post by mcewinter » Fri Sep 11, 2015 7:28 pm


docluv01

Posts: 95
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2013 2:44 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#140

Post by docluv01 » Fri Sep 11, 2015 7:32 pm

tried that key...no go.

remember, this is win 10, using the win 8.1 installer....not sure if that has somethign to do with it

Post Reply