Cable card tuners and HDHomeRun

Discussion of getting WMC to work on Windows 10 (unsupported)
JanSiegrist

Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2019 11:07 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#21

Post by JanSiegrist » Tue Jan 03, 2023 8:05 pm

To Gary - how does EPG123 or WMC decide what appears in the guide? My OTA channels show but not the QAM ones. While I was working on this I briefly got the QAM channels to show but then after a subsequent change lost them - and I can't figure out how to get them back. Do you know which file WMC uses to display the guide? mcepg2-0.db ? Do you know if the QAM files are filtered out from the view as the guide is displayed or what is displayed is built and stored somewhere?
I know I'm a pain but thanks in advance for your patients and time.
Jan

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 7476
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#22

Post by garyan2 » Tue Jan 03, 2023 8:47 pm

Everything for WMC resides in the db file. Open the epg123 client and see if your QAM channels are there... I'm assuming they are and what happened was you ran a guide update with automatch enabled. In this case, epg123 will see there are no guide listings mapped to the channel and disable it from the guide. The channels are still there, just not visible.
- Gary
Keeping WMC alive beyond January 2020. https://garyan2.github.io

User avatar
Hi-Def_PCs

Posts: 51
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2021 6:24 pm
Location: Salem, Oregon USA

HTPC Specs: Show details

#23

Post by Hi-Def_PCs » Thu Jan 05, 2023 5:42 pm

JanSiegrist wrote: Tue Jan 03, 2023 5:43 pm ...unfortunately HDHR's latest HDHR app for their tuners does not work on Win7 due to lack of the latest .Net - that was the main reason for going to Win10.
Jan,

Was the HDHR app update truly necessary, or was it just to better support itself in Windows 10? :?:
Did HDHR add anything to the "new" app that you just cannot live without, or just cosmetics? :roll:
Could you just revert back to a Windows 7 machine with HDHR's last known app supported by 7? :idea:

Cheers!

JanSiegrist

Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2019 11:07 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#24

Post by JanSiegrist » Thu Jan 05, 2023 6:35 pm

To Hi-Def-PCs - there is a HUGE difference in the HDHR app for Win10 - for one thing it's actually usable with a grid view and better recording. The HDHR app that runs on Win7 is sparce to say the least and it gets a lot of pixilation for some reason.

User avatar
Hi-Def_PCs

Posts: 51
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2021 6:24 pm
Location: Salem, Oregon USA

HTPC Specs: Show details

#25

Post by Hi-Def_PCs » Thu Jan 05, 2023 9:42 pm

Jan,

WMC on Win 10/11 users may find this thread useful.

https://thegreenbutton.tv/forums/viewto ... 67#p150067

Doesn't WMC on Win 7 control the HDHR tuners on its own?

Cheers!

JanSiegrist

Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2019 11:07 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#26

Post by JanSiegrist » Fri Jan 06, 2023 5:49 am

To Hi-Def - yes on Win7 WMC installs the tuners but only AFTER they are installed from HDHR. Additionally if you like to do a picture in picture once in a while it's nice to have an app besides WMC to tune a particular channel. You 'window' WMC then run an HDHR in a 2nd window. On my large screen TV it works quite well.

User avatar
Hi-Def_PCs

Posts: 51
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2021 6:24 pm
Location: Salem, Oregon USA

HTPC Specs: Show details

#27

Post by Hi-Def_PCs » Thu Jan 12, 2023 3:45 pm

JanSiegrist wrote: Fri Jan 06, 2023 5:49 am To Hi-Def - yes on Win7 WMC installs the tuners but only AFTER they are installed from HDHR. Additionally if you like to do a picture in picture once in a while it's nice to have an app besides WMC to tune a particular channel. You 'window' WMC then run an HDHR in a 2nd window. On my large screen TV it works quite well.
Jan, are your HDHR tuners ATSC 3.0, and if so, did WMC7 access them and play/record in 4K?

stuartm

Posts: 722
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 8:05 pm
Location: Longmont, CO

HTPC Specs: Show details

#28

Post by stuartm » Thu Jan 12, 2023 6:01 pm

I doubt WMC will handle ATSC 3.0 streams since it does not have codecs for h.265

patrick0525

Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2017 8:38 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#29

Post by patrick0525 » Mon Jan 30, 2023 7:09 pm

Gary, I have a cable card and running Win10 1511 with HDHomeRuns. It was working perfectly but now the recorded video has skips and the audio is horrible.
Do I need to back to the old firmware and .NET Framework supported on 1511 is 4.6.2?

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 7476
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#30

Post by garyan2 » Tue Jan 31, 2023 1:45 am

I'm not sure what you mean by firmware. Are you talking about the HDHomeRun drivers? EPG123 only supplies the guide data... has nothing to do with playback issues.

Yes, the highest .NET Framework that is installable in Win10 1511 is 4.6.2. The best HDHomeRun software to install on 1511 is also from 2015 (hdhomerun_windows_20150826.exe).
- Gary
Keeping WMC alive beyond January 2020. https://garyan2.github.io

patrick0525

Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2017 8:38 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#31

Post by patrick0525 » Thu Feb 02, 2023 12:35 am

Gary, the firmware is the tuner firmware. I updated the ota and cable card tuner to the latest firmware. SiliconDust solved my packet loss problem causing video and audio break-up. The new cat6/7 cables are incompatible with my 1gb Realtek nic. Once I returned to my previous cable everything worked properly.

Post Reply