The ongoing "It's safe to install this month's win10/11 updates" thread

Discussion of getting WMC to work on Windows 10 (unsupported)
Post Reply
prsa01

Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2019 4:19 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

The ongoing "It's safe to install this month's win10/11 updates" thread

#1

Post by prsa01 » Thu Apr 07, 2022 3:53 pm

If there is already something like this, please delete. I didn't see one.

Should be useful, at least to me, to have one place to look to see if anyone has confirmed whether a given month's updates cause WMC/mce problems and potentially the steps someone used to recover from the problem(s).

example only:
win10 April monthly updates did not cause any WMC/mce problems

or

win11 April monthly update caused x problem solved by the following steps.

layth

Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2017 12:20 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#2

Post by layth » Fri Apr 22, 2022 10:23 pm

I can't open on my new computer build version 21H1 OS build 19043.1645 . Had it working on my old win 10 machine . That was two years ago with ver.13

technodevotee

Posts: 817
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2015 4:10 pm
Location: West Midlands

HTPC Specs: Show details

#3

Post by technodevotee » Sat Apr 23, 2022 6:40 am

There have been a lot of changes made to Windows 10 in the last two years.

Which version did you install this time?

If it is still V13, did you run the post installation scripts as outlined in the file Known Issues.txt?

Have you tried V8.8.5 or Gary's MSI installer?

Some have also found that it is necessary to run the shortcut as administrator the first time.

layth

Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2017 12:20 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#4

Post by layth » Sat Apr 23, 2022 12:17 pm

Yeah I forgot to do that and after I did I was able to get an install. My problem now is to get MC to see my silicondust tuners. I installed their HD homerun app, but that didn't help. Still searching to find the software to do that.

technodevotee

Posts: 817
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2015 4:10 pm
Location: West Midlands

HTPC Specs: Show details

#5

Post by technodevotee » Sat Apr 23, 2022 3:10 pm

Have you got Cable Cards or regular?

Which version of Windows 10 did you have before?

Which version of HD Homerun software are you using?

People seem to have to use an old version (from 2015) to get WMC to see the HDHR tuners but it is outside my area of expertise.

layth

Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2017 12:20 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#6

Post by layth » Sat Apr 23, 2022 4:49 pm

Just a plain old tuner based system. Windows 10 pro 64 bit version 21H1 OS build 19043.1645 and yes I used, but still cannot get MC to se those tuners.

technodevotee

Posts: 817
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2015 4:10 pm
Location: West Midlands

HTPC Specs: Show details

#7

Post by technodevotee » Sat Apr 23, 2022 4:54 pm

I'm out of ideas I'm afraid.

Hopefully someone else will chime in with some help.

Post Reply