Volume control doesnt work for h264 MKVs

Discussion of getting WMC to work on Windows 10 (unsupported)
Post Reply
Bryn

Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2020 11:38 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

Volume control doesnt work for h264 MKVs

#1

Post by Bryn » Sat Mar 19, 2022 12:42 pm

Hi all,

For some reason some h264 MKVs I download the volume control has no effect, it plays at a constant volume no matter where the slider is.

Plays fine outside of media centre, the volume works.

265s it doesnt seem to be an issue, they work fine.

Seems to be the same with Shark or KLIte codecs

Anybody got a fix for this?

Thanks
Bryn

prsa01

Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2019 4:19 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#2

Post by prsa01 » Sat Mar 19, 2022 1:43 pm

I'm assuming you are using the source (PC/WMC) volume rather than or in conjunction with the output device (tv/soundbar/stereo/whatever) volume controls. I am not sure what the benefit of controlling volume that way is. Less remotes, maybe? I leave the source volume at max and control output volume on the audio output device.

Anyway, that doesn't get to your issue. I had a different audio related issue in WMC that MIGHT be related. Was persistent thru many different codecs and versions. Ultimately, following the WMC specific config instructions in shark setup resolved my issue. From memory, something like a reset followed by a WMC settings/save.

As I say, different issue so may not hel with what you are seeing.

Good luck. Hope you find a solution.

Bryn

Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2020 11:38 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#3

Post by Bryn » Mon Mar 21, 2022 8:52 am

Hi, sorry for the delay in replying, major family crisis at home.

Yes it's definitely the WMC volume that's the issue, it works fine using media player classic playing the same video file.

I will check out the shark WMC specific shark codec instructions.

Thanks a lot for your reply

Post Reply