WMC 8.8.5 MSI Installation Package for Win10/11

Discussion of getting WMC to work on Windows 10 (unsupported)
User avatar
Fpostgate

Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2017 12:59 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#41

Post by Fpostgate » Sun Mar 13, 2022 7:37 pm

I guess its too much work to get HD Homerun Prime working on Win 10. Any other tuner recommendations?

So nice to get feedback from anyone on this thanks!

Farley

stuartm

Posts: 622
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 8:05 pm
Location: Longmont, CO

HTPC Specs: Show details

#42

Post by stuartm » Sun Mar 13, 2022 11:30 pm

If you want cable tuners with WMC there are no options for Win 10. (Other than freezing your Win 10 at an early release and never updating)

User avatar
Fpostgate

Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2017 12:59 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#43

Post by Fpostgate » Mon Mar 14, 2022 9:29 pm

stuartm wrote:
Sun Mar 13, 2022 11:30 pm
If you want cable tuners with WMC there are no options for Win 10. (Other than freezing your Win 10 at an early release and never updating)
:roll:

Yeah, guess if 8.1 stops working it is Myth TV linux time...

I Just don't think the guide would compete

User avatar
Fpostgate

Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2017 12:59 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#44

Post by Fpostgate » Sat Mar 19, 2022 8:05 pm

So please don't be too upset with my posting this question, I had a fully functional HD HomeRun Prime cableCARD Windows 8.1 WMC working yesterday, and today the hard disk failed. I was able to get the Windows 8.1 installed on another drive and windows media center installed. I was so upset when it no longer can find my network HD HomeRUN Prime, just like the windows 10 version of WMC. Does anyone know a trick to get this 8.1 WMC back to being able to see the carbleCARD? I used the installation MSI from the top of this post. I hope I am just missing something.

Thanks,
Farley

Space

Posts: 2524
Joined: Sun Jun 02, 2013 9:44 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#45

Post by Space » Sat Mar 19, 2022 9:29 pm

I don't know anything about installing this version of WMC (meant for Win10?) on Win8.1 but...

Did you install the driver for the Prime?

prsa01

Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2019 4:19 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#46

Post by prsa01 » Sat Mar 19, 2022 10:03 pm

You may need to install the old driver from 2015. Search here for more info and links

mwpeterson

Posts: 93
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 11:55 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#47

Post by mwpeterson » Sun Mar 20, 2022 12:19 am

You should be able to use the new HDHomeRun software on 8.1. Make sure your network is set to private. Install Playready and Digital Cable Advisor.

User avatar
Fpostgate

Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2017 12:59 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#48

Post by Fpostgate » Sun Mar 20, 2022 2:01 am

Space wrote:
Sat Mar 19, 2022 9:29 pm
I don't know anything about installing this version of WMC (meant for Win10?) on Win8.1 but...

Did you install the driver for the Prime?
You know I didn't even try. Thanks I'll post back with results...

Farley

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 6549
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#49

Post by garyan2 » Sun Mar 20, 2022 4:41 am

You'll need the Digital Cable Advisor as well. https://garyan2.github.io/drm.html
- Gary
Keeping WMC alive beyond January 2020. https://garyan2.github.io

boxcar32

Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2019 11:40 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#50

Post by boxcar32 » Sun Mar 20, 2022 12:43 pm

Hi Garyan2,

I was able to install the msi but clicking WMC icon does not open WMC. I have win 11 pro. Have not been able to use WMC since May after building a new HTPC.

11th Gen Intel(R) 8.00 GB (7.83 GB usable)
Core(TM) i5-11400 @ 2.60GHz 2.59 GHz
Windows 11 Pro
21H2
22000.556
Windows Feature Experience Pack 1000.22000.556.0

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 6549
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#51

Post by garyan2 » Sun Mar 20, 2022 2:41 pm

Did you install one of the older WMC installation packages before on this machine? There is an installation log file (c:\program files\windows media center\install.log) that may show something that failed. The only time I've seen it not work was if there was an old installation that was not properly removed and left the folder c:\windows\ehome with some files that the msi installer could not delete.

In the log file, you should see something like the below.

Code: Select all

2022-02-20T14:28:44.3149231-07:00 - C:\WINDOWS\System32\cmd.exe /c mklink /j "C:\WINDOWS\ehome" "C:\Program Files\Windows Media Center\ehome"
2022-02-20T14:28:44.3774410-07:00 - Junction created for C:\WINDOWS\ehome <<===>> C:\Program Files\Windows Media Center\ehome
If something was left over from an old installer, then this junction would fail due to the folder being present.
- Gary
Keeping WMC alive beyond January 2020. https://garyan2.github.io

User avatar
Fpostgate

Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2017 12:59 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#52

Post by Fpostgate » Sun Mar 20, 2022 7:48 pm

Hello all,

Thanks so much for the feedback.

Short Installation Guide for new Windows 8.1 HDHomeRun Prime setup with CableCARD.

1. Finally I re-installed windows 8.1 from a dvd, lol, my old one with BIOS support non UEFI, figured might as well try from absolute scratch.
2. After install lots of updates were needed, I however did find my old WMC $10 code and upgraded the system. (Start -> type "features": Select add features it will ask for a new windows key, You can find some codes in this forum if you lost yours...)
3. Lots of updates, PIA
4. HDHomeRun Prime windows software from Silicondust. - wouldn't install at first, needed updates required for the .Net driver. Afer I let it restart and update a few times, the silicondust executable worked...
5. Don't bother scanning for channels here just get the C++ redistributible files installed and finish.
6. EPG123 install, run Client Setup and use the Fresh install button.
7. Make sure you have e schedules direct UN/PW
8. make sure to have it on Green light, channels, you can select add all.
9. For me add the schedule direct UN/PW and it found my cableCard and Verizon Syracuse lineup.
10. Save and execute
11. Back to normal. Got My guide and DVR again. Now with a new 3DNAND Solid State 1TB drive OS and a 2TB WD blue drive for recording.

Can't say thanks enough for all the messages. Very helpful.

Thanks,
Farley

Post Reply