WMC on Windows 11?

Discussion of getting WMC to work on Windows 10 (unsupported)
Tweakfiend

Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2020 2:25 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

Re: WMC on Windows 11?

#21

Post by Tweakfiend » Sun Aug 29, 2021 8:59 am

Hi

Reinstalled 8.8.5 and opened again 1st time as administrator ( as opposed to second time etc )
Now seems ok
Thanks for your input Techdevotee

Tweakfiend

Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2020 2:25 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#22

Post by Tweakfiend » Sun Aug 29, 2021 9:01 am

Now loading after reinstall / first open as administrator
Thanks for your input

A few minutes later can confirm that I have a message that ""setting up media libraries, some components are missing "
So no music , video , DVD libraries etc will populate .

Tweakfiend

Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2020 2:25 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#23

Post by Tweakfiend » Sun Aug 29, 2021 10:58 am

Strangely, will now store libraries with "Sebas1974" recent ehres.dll update

sebas197422

Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2021 4:11 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#24

Post by sebas197422 » Sun Aug 29, 2021 2:12 pm

you need too install codecs for it i installed shark007 and it worked after !

Tweakfiend

Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2020 2:25 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#25

Post by Tweakfiend » Sun Aug 29, 2021 9:49 pm

I had mpg 2 codecs installed but made no difference , perhaps you mean something else ?

sebas197422

Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2021 4:11 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#26

Post by sebas197422 » Mon Aug 30, 2021 2:50 am

i installed the 64 bit codecs pack from shark007 and after this it worked

User avatar
Mugsy

Posts: 132
Joined: Tue Oct 15, 2013 11:29 am
Location: Houston

HTPC Specs: Show details

#27

Post by Mugsy » Wed Oct 06, 2021 10:43 pm

Just "upgraded" to Win11 (22000.one-ninety-four) and WMC won't launch.

I haven't tried a reinstall yet.

ADDENDUM: Tried to reinstall. Gives "ERROR: Already installed". I don't wish to uninstall/reinstall. I had it all setup with EPG123. Tried the supplied "8.7-8.8-QuickFix.reg" too. Didn't help. Tried running "ehshell.exe" directly as Admin. Didn't help.

Suggestions?

Image
Last edited by Mugsy on Thu Oct 07, 2021 3:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.

john321

Posts: 81
Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2016 9:53 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#28

Post by john321 » Thu Oct 07, 2021 5:07 am

Why bother? Buy a new Tivo.

User avatar
Mugsy

Posts: 132
Joined: Tue Oct 15, 2013 11:29 am
Location: Houston

HTPC Specs: Show details

#29

Post by Mugsy » Thu Oct 07, 2021 12:42 pm

john321 wrote:
Thu Oct 07, 2021 5:07 am
Why bother? Buy a new Tivo.
I assume that reply is directed to everybody, or are you not aware of the purpose of this site? :wtf:

technodevotee

Posts: 745
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2015 4:10 pm
Location: West Midlands

HTPC Specs: Show details

#30

Post by technodevotee » Thu Oct 07, 2021 6:26 pm

Mugsy wrote:
Wed Oct 06, 2021 10:43 pm
Just "upgraded" to Win11 (22000.one-ninety-four) and WMC won't launch.

I haven't tried a reinstall yet.

ADDENDUM: Tried to reinstall. Gives "ERROR: Already installed". I don't wish to uninstall/reinstall. I had it all setup with EPG123. Tried the supplied "8.7-8.8-QuickFix.reg" too. Didn't help. Tried running "ehshell.exe" directly as Admin. Didn't help.

Suggestions?

Image
The thing is, Windows upgrades remove the WMC services, registry entries, assembles and a lot of other stuff. Many attempts have been made by me and others at doing repair (over the top) installs but it doesn't work so I'm afraid that you will almost certainly have to uninstall and re-install.

And that will almost certainly mean setting up from scratch as backuprestoresettings doesn't seem to help when going from Windows 10 to Windows 11.

It is a bummer I know but that is the hand we were dealt by MS when they discontinued support for the product.
Last edited by technodevotee on Fri Oct 08, 2021 3:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Mugsy

Posts: 132
Joined: Tue Oct 15, 2013 11:29 am
Location: Houston

HTPC Specs: Show details

#31

Post by Mugsy » Thu Oct 07, 2021 8:32 pm

Thanks. :(

User avatar
aquadextrous

Posts: 100
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2018 8:09 pm
Location: Bristol, UK

HTPC Specs: Show details

#32

Post by aquadextrous » Fri Oct 08, 2021 2:41 pm

The good news is (hopefully) that after the initial reinstall on Windows 11, it looks like future W11 updates come through as cumulative updates and so far none of these (there have been quite a few dev/beta builds in the 22000.XXX range and none of these have broken WMC for me (where as when i was on the W10 insider program almost every build released broke WMC in some way)) Plus Windows 11 will only receive the big feature updates annually instead of every 6 months so even if need to reinstall WMC it's only half the work!

User avatar
Mugsy

Posts: 132
Joined: Tue Oct 15, 2013 11:29 am
Location: Houston

HTPC Specs: Show details

#33

Post by Mugsy » Fri Oct 08, 2021 5:13 pm

I uninstalled EPG123 then WMC, rebooted, reinstalled WMC and it worked.

I then reinstalled EPG123 and it remembered my username/password, making setting back up easier.

It'll be a while before I recall/reset all of my scheduled recordings.

tonwes

Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2021 4:20 am
Location: Netherlands

HTPC Specs: Show details

#34

Post by tonwes » Fri Oct 08, 2021 8:12 pm

@Tweakfriend, did you get .168 to work? What was the trick?

Tweakfiend

Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2020 2:25 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#35

Post by Tweakfiend » Wed Oct 20, 2021 4:12 pm

Yes , Media Center works up to current 22000.258 with visual facelift previously provided in Aug/ Sept.

Make sure you as usual run the 2 part installer as administrator , as well as initial shortcut start after installation
You do have to start and stop and restart to get the media libraries to populate properly.

I wish the non working "Shared network drives" issue was that easy.

Djpasek

Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2020 2:39 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#36

Post by Djpasek » Thu Oct 21, 2021 6:50 pm

aquadextrous wrote: ↑Sun Aug 15, 2021 1:24 pm
lachape_one wrote: ↑Sun Aug 15, 2021 1:25 am
Everything work fine except the red button while recording does not appear. I don't remember if this issue was already on the latest version on 10 or not.
Make sure that in the Start Menu > Programs > Start-up folder is a shortcut to ehtray.exe with the target set as C:\Windows\ehome\ehtray.exe /surviveehschedtermination this will keep the tray icon alive in the background and show the red symbol in the taskbar when recording. Also I think it helps keep the green button active to launch WMC via remote.

OK thanks for the reminder. In fact, the feature is already integrated on 8.8.5 by default, but I don't know why I turned it off on Startup Apps. My bad.

On my newly built HTPC w/W11, WMC 8.8.5, the Start Menu > Programs > Start-up folder DOES have ehtray.exe present with the target set as C:\Windows\ehome\ehtray.exe /surviveehschedtermination, and it IS enabled in Task Manager, Startup but I DO NOT get the "green button" in my taskbar upon booting or after loading up and using Media Center, nor do I see ehtray running in Task Manager. I DO get the red globe in the taskbar when recording, however, then after recording completes, the taskbar icon disappears again. Is this normal behavior or should the taskbar show the "green button" at all times (other than when recording) to indicate that ehtray is loaded and running? I have no trouble lauching WMC with my remote despite the "green button" not showing in the taskbar. Thanks to anyone with any comments or suggestions.

User avatar
aquadextrous

Posts: 100
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2018 8:09 pm
Location: Bristol, UK

HTPC Specs: Show details

#37

Post by aquadextrous » Thu Oct 21, 2021 10:28 pm

Djpasek wrote:
Thu Oct 21, 2021 6:50 pm
On my newly built HTPC w/W11, WMC 8.8.5, the Start Menu > Programs > Start-up folder DOES have ehtray.exe present with the target set as C:\Windows\ehome\ehtray.exe /surviveehschedtermination, and it IS enabled in Task Manager, Startup but I DO NOT get the "green button" in my taskbar upon booting or after loading up and using Media Center, nor do I see ehtray running in Task Manager. I DO get the red globe in the taskbar when recording, however, then after recording completes, the taskbar icon disappears again. Is this normal behavior or should the taskbar show the "green button" at all times (other than when recording) to indicate that ehtray is loaded and running? I have no trouble lauching WMC with my remote despite the "green button" not showing in the taskbar. Thanks to anyone with any comments or suggestions.
Just the red circle when recording. A green WMC logo does show occasionally in the taskbar if WMC is doing certain tasks or attempting to update or connect to a server.
I think the ehtray keeps other background programs alive which allow the recording symbol in the tray and also allows the green button (and others like DVR and Guide) on a WMC remote to open WMC from the desktop. I could be wrong on this but I'm sure the 'surviveehschedtermination' tag fixed this for my remote.

Post Reply