Would a XP era WMC Remote work on Win10 WMC?

Discussion of getting WMC to work on Windows 10 (unsupported)
Post Reply
WMCRocks5439

Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2021 7:48 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

Would a XP era WMC Remote work on Win10 WMC?

#1

Post by WMCRocks5439 » Thu Mar 11, 2021 2:54 pm

I'm looking forward to buying a XP era WMC Remote, and I was wondering if it would work on Win10 WMC.


Thanks.

Metalman

Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2017 6:51 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#2

Post by Metalman » Thu Mar 11, 2021 5:29 pm

Yes. I use the Microsoft WMC Remote all the time in Windows 10.

WMCRocks5439

Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2021 7:48 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#3

Post by WMCRocks5439 » Thu Mar 11, 2021 11:02 pm

Alright thanks!

Metalman

Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2017 6:51 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#4

Post by Metalman » Fri Mar 12, 2021 3:30 am

Glad I could help.

WMCRocks5439

Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2021 7:48 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#5

Post by WMCRocks5439 » Fri Mar 12, 2021 2:47 pm

Also would the computer brand ones work (e.g Lenovo, Dell, etc) for Windows 10 or no?

technodevotee

Posts: 824
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2015 4:10 pm
Location: West Midlands

HTPC Specs: Show details

#6

Post by technodevotee » Fri Mar 12, 2021 10:40 pm

I've got a few different remotes that came with computers and they work fine with WMC. The main thing to look for is that they have the big green Media Center button.
OIP.jpg
OIP.jpg (13.56 KiB) Viewed 3508 times
Rb070b04c7faf7037d7584cc39fc009b8.jpg

WMCRocks5439

Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2021 7:48 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#7

Post by WMCRocks5439 » Fri Mar 12, 2021 10:50 pm

Alright thanks!

1ST1

Posts: 68
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2016 8:29 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#8

Post by 1ST1 » Thu Apr 15, 2021 3:40 pm

I recommend using the one Gyration made. That's a nice beast as it allows also to move the mouse pointer in a similar way the Nintendo Wii Remote can do. The bonus is that it is not infrared but RF for the MCE/Computer control. And additionally it can learn additional IR commands for other devices like TV set like any other simple universal IR remote control.

Image

fabjazz

Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2021 9:06 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#9

Post by fabjazz » Sun Apr 25, 2021 8:14 pm

Hi !
Do you think this will work ?
https://www.hauppauge.com/pages/webstor ... mckit.html
Before to buy maybe someone use it with windows 10 20h2 and WMC can confirm.
I use hauppauge dualhd
Thanks !

P.S.:
Finally after some time of research, I found that:
https://www.ebay.fr/itm/302141883557

with that :
https://www.ebay.fr/itm/192902152850

What will I have to do? Is it plug and play ? Or do I have to do some configurations?

prsa01

Posts: 72
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2019 4:19 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#10

Post by prsa01 » Mon Apr 26, 2021 9:56 am

You need a USB connected IR receiver rather than the style in the 2nd link.

Your first link has the correct style usb receiver in the picture.

https://www.ebay.fr/sch/i.html?_from=R4 ... r&_sacat=0

fabjazz

Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2021 9:06 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#11

Post by fabjazz » Mon Apr 26, 2021 9:13 pm

I did not know if thé second link was useful because it can be connected in the usb receiver, so I took the 2.
Ok, thanks I will receive that in a month maybe and I let you know if it was a good choice.

Post Reply