Past time to move to Win10

Discussion of getting WMC to work on Windows 10 (unsupported)
adam1991

Posts: 2854
Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2011 2:31 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

Re: Past time to move to Win10

#21

Post by adam1991 » Mon Apr 13, 2020 11:51 am

yeah, it's always been that "removes commercials" that stopped me. I use ShowAnalyzer to mark commercials, and it does a good job, but it's not 100%. Same with Video ReDo. There's just no good solution for *removing* commercials that doesn't involve hand work.

Space

Posts: 1988
Joined: Sun Jun 02, 2013 9:44 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#22

Post by Space » Tue Apr 14, 2020 12:14 am

I was going to ask "what program/parameters are you using that is so reliable at detecting and removing commercials that you can automate the REMOVAL of them?". I have comskip mark the commercials (so they can be skipped on playback), but it is nowhere near reliable enough to have it remove them.

jachin99

Posts: 1235
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 3:36 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#23

Post by jachin99 » Thu Apr 16, 2020 4:37 pm

I cut all of mine out with the paid version of comskip. In the past I was using video redo but I moved to MCE Buddy. I don't have any issues with either combination.

Space

Posts: 1988
Joined: Sun Jun 02, 2013 9:44 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#24

Post by Space » Thu Apr 16, 2020 8:04 pm

I use the paid version of comskip and there is no way it is reliable enough to cut out commercials on all programming. Do you use the default configuration or did you tweak it?

adam1991

Posts: 2854
Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2011 2:31 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#25

Post by adam1991 » Thu Apr 16, 2020 9:28 pm

I've tried tweaking comskip and no way is it reliable enough to cut commercials.

Post Reply