Video Error when backing up live tv

Discussion of getting WMC to work on Windows 10 (unsupported)
Post Reply
sdowney717

Posts: 134
Joined: Sun Jan 05, 2014 2:21 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

Video Error when backing up live tv

#1

Post by sdowney717 » Sun Mar 01, 2020 11:51 am

It has worked great for months, but a week of errors, only when moving the time bar on WMC in live TV. IT can no longer backup live TV.
it gives this error message after halting and struggling for a few minutes.

So far all I can do is close and restart to watch TV again, but I can never move the slider time bar anymore.Previously Recorded TV is fine.

And a very long time to start livetv, circle goes round and round for a minute or more before tv shows up.

I am using WMC 8.8.4 on windows 1903, which is locked down using stopupdates10

Also how do I reinstall WMC 8.8.4 without losing anything? I am using epg123 with schedules direct.
Attachments
20200301_010227.jpg

sdowney717

Posts: 134
Joined: Sun Jan 05, 2014 2:21 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#2

Post by sdowney717 » Sun Mar 01, 2020 3:47 pm

I ran dism restore health and sfc and the os has no issues.
I uninstalled the WMC and reinstalled and still no better and of course lost epg123 guide.
So now got to figure that out. And I think I will replace drive with an SSD ultra 3D 1 TB, because maybe the drive is the problem.

muranoone

Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Feb 02, 2014 10:18 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#3

Post by muranoone » Tue Mar 03, 2020 12:04 am

Please don’t go crazy over this issue it’s a long known issue with windows media center.
Please check your audio driver and confirm that it is proper and updated to the latest version available for your hardware.

And advise.

Thanks

sdowney717

Posts: 134
Joined: Sun Jan 05, 2014 2:21 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#4

Post by sdowney717 » Tue Mar 03, 2020 11:01 pm

afaik i did not change the audio driver. do you have any more info?
I use Nvidia audio as it sends the audio down the HDMI cable.

My boot time has become absurdly long. so was thinking drive issue.

If new wd blue ssd 3d drive does not fix this, maybe I will reinstall the os

sdowney717

Posts: 134
Joined: Sun Jan 05, 2014 2:21 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#5

Post by sdowney717 » Fri Mar 06, 2020 1:45 pm

I found the problem. I checked the smart info on the C drive. Had a 199 CRC error showing. That can be the cable connection. Changed the sata cable. Boot times are very fast, so that was the issue. But WMC now says tuner error. So now plan is to upgrade to windows version 1909, reinstall WMC. I have no clue why WMC has a tuner error now after the cable replacement.

Ok upgrade to 1909 is done, WMC simply still works, did not have to reinstall. WMC can now back up live TV. So the issue was the cable connection to the Sata drive.

Post Reply