Windows10 1909 - WMC8.84 - HDHR3CC

Discussion of getting WMC to work on Windows 10 (unsupported)
Post Reply
jppl2000

Posts: 12
Joined: Tue May 22, 2012 3:10 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

Windows10 1909 - WMC8.84 - HDHR3CC

#1

Post by jppl2000 » Fri Dec 27, 2019 2:57 pm

Here I am, so close. HDHomerun setup sees the cable card. I can even double click a channel number and the live tv appears in a new windows media player window. But when I run WMC tv signal setup, no tuner is found. Does anyone know what the next tweak is to get this up and running? I turned off updates for windows. Am I now waiting for the programmers to solve issues with version 1909? Thanks.

SpencerC

Posts: 130
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2015 1:35 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#2

Post by SpencerC » Fri Dec 27, 2019 4:54 pm

you need to go back to a much older version of Win10 in order to use a cable card tuner. Version 1511 is the last known version to work with cable card tuners.

jppl2000

Posts: 12
Joined: Tue May 22, 2012 3:10 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#3

Post by jppl2000 » Fri Dec 27, 2019 5:36 pm

I appreciate your reply, thank you. I suppose there is no path back to 1511 from here!? I've been hanging onto Windows 7 for a long while, until now.

SpencerC

Posts: 130
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2015 1:35 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#4

Post by SpencerC » Fri Dec 27, 2019 6:10 pm

You can go back if you find the 1511 installer. Honestly though, don't bother. I had the windows update service disabled and I still got updated. I gave up after every update broke WMC and now use the HDHomeRun DVR. It doesn't even compare to WMC, but it does work.

technodevotee

Posts: 581
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2015 4:10 pm
Location: West Midlands

HTPC Specs: Show details

#5

Post by technodevotee » Fri Dec 27, 2019 6:42 pm

jppl2000 wrote:
Fri Dec 27, 2019 5:36 pm
I appreciate your reply, thank you. I suppose there is no path back to 1511 from here!? I've been hanging onto Windows 7 for a long while, until now.
as SpencerC says, you would have to re-install using a 1511 ISO. It can be found on the My Digital Life Forums but you would need to use something like StopUpdates10 to prevent it getting updated and would be stuck in almost the same place as you were/are with Windows 7 - an unsupported O/S with no updates.
My WMC Downloads: https://technodevotee.co.uk/WMC-Downloads.htm
Please note: This will only be available until the middle of September.

User avatar
StinkyImp

Posts: 313
Joined: Thu May 11, 2017 7:53 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#6

Post by StinkyImp » Fri Dec 27, 2019 10:33 pm

SpencerC wrote:
Fri Dec 27, 2019 6:10 pm
I had the windows update service disabled and I still got updated. I gave up after every update broke WMC...
This is a known issue. Disabling the Windows Update Service is the equivalent of putting duct tape on a ripped tire to stop leaks.

Please read this post for a full discussion: viewtopic.php?f=97&t=12358#p132704

Jenny05

Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2020 9:22 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#7

Post by Jenny05 » Thu Jan 02, 2020 9:29 am

I am using windows 10 for the last three years. But last month when I went for windows update, it is suddenly showing an error 0x80248007. Now I want to disable my windows update immediately. What should I do now? I am very confused about that.

technodevotee

Posts: 581
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2015 4:10 pm
Location: West Midlands

HTPC Specs: Show details

#8

Post by technodevotee » Thu Jan 02, 2020 8:36 pm

StopUpdates10 works a treat on a couple of PCs for me.
My WMC Downloads: https://technodevotee.co.uk/WMC-Downloads.htm
Please note: This will only be available until the middle of September.

sdowney717

Posts: 134
Joined: Sun Jan 05, 2014 2:21 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#9

Post by sdowney717 » Tue Mar 03, 2020 11:07 pm

technodevotee wrote:
Thu Jan 02, 2020 8:36 pm
StopUpdates10 works a treat on a couple of PCs for me.
agree, that stops updates.

jeksleine

Posts: 1
Joined: Wed May 06, 2020 2:38 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#10

Post by jeksleine » Wed May 06, 2020 2:40 pm

SpencerC wrote:
Fri Dec 27, 2019 4:54 pm
you need to go back to a much older version of Win10 in order to use a cable card tuner. Version 1511 is the last known version to work with cable card tuners.
Its pretty awesome and cool.

jachin99

Posts: 1235
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 3:36 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#11

Post by jachin99 » Wed May 06, 2020 10:47 pm

When I was on win 10 1511, I disabled the Windows update service and all of that. But what I think really stopped the updates was to not allow updates or automatic downloads over a metered connection. I then found a registry hack that I think is only in early versions of windows ten that let me set my Ethernet connection as metered. Mine never updated on its own.

At the end of the day though WMC was always at its best on win 7

Post Reply