Silverstone case, IR receiver not recognized in Win10

Discussion of getting WMC to work on Windows 10 (unsupported)
Post Reply
ScAtMaN

Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 6:59 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

Silverstone case, IR receiver not recognized in Win10

#1

Post by ScAtMaN » Fri Oct 18, 2019 4:24 pm

Hi there.
I have an older HTPC case from Silverstone that has a built in IR receiver and touchscreen. Here it is:
IMG_20191018_111732.jpg
The IR sensor built in to the Silverstone case I am sure used to come up as a 'Microsoft eHome Infrared Transceiver' under win7/8.

Under win10 I see no separate ehome entries anywhere under device manager.

Using an official MS Windows media center remote only the directional, volume, arrow, back and enter keys work.

Under Human Interface Devices I have a couple of 'USB Input Devices' and then a
HID-compliant consumer control device, a HID-compliant system controller and a HID-compliant vendor-defined device.
Under keyboards I have an extra HID keyboard device.

I strongly suspect it is being recognized as a keyboard rather than a ehome Ir receiver, which I believe needs to be in device manager for the buttons on a MS media center remote to work. It which would explain why the arrow keys, enter and back are working but nothing else.
I've tried uninstalling the keyboard and random HID devices and re-scanning but they are still not showing up as a ehome device.

I've tried looking for a download of the ehome receiver drivers with no luck.
Can anyone help??!

technodevotee

Posts: 328
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2015 4:10 pm
Location: West Midlands

HTPC Specs: Show details

#2

Post by technodevotee » Fri Oct 18, 2019 5:18 pm

This is really frustrating: I went through a load of troubleshooting a couple of years ago and had all sorts of information about these things but I can't find it now.

I found a load of information and a tool called showkey.exe on the XBMC, mediaportal or KODI website that helped with troubleshooting.

I'll keep looking for the info and check back. Meanwhile......

The IR device on my PC listed as 'Microsoft eHome Infrared Transceiver' is identified as such under the HID tree.

The information I can see is the device instance path is CIRCLASS\IRDEVICEV2\1&79F5D87&0&PORT1. The driver is HIDIR.SYS, INF File is HIDIR, INF section is HIDIR_Inst.NT and the configuration ID is hidir.inf:CIRCLASS\IrDeviceV2,HIDIR_Inst.NT. Class GUID is {745a17a0-74d3-11d0-b6fe-00a0c90f57da}.

there are also Keyboard entries:
INFRA.png
edit: The other thing I meant to say was that I used to use a USB transceiver on one of my PCs. It would work in a USB2 port but not in a USB3 port. Then there was an update and it stopped working altogether. I never found out whether it was Microsoft, Gigabyte or Intel that broke it.

Some keywords to search on in case you haven't already are RC6 beanbag and snowflake.

ScAtMaN

Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 6:59 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#3

Post by ScAtMaN » Fri Oct 18, 2019 6:37 pm

After some searching around on Silverstone's website I found my case model GD02-MT, and a drivers download page here:
https://www.silverstonetek.com.tw/iMON/
The version of imon on the site is 7.77.1022, not as new as the version 8.something but crutually this silverstone package is nearly 100mb as opposed to the 50mb package I had saves and seems to include the specialist Silverstone OEM drivers.

I run the installer but was dismayed to see nothing had changed in device manager. No new IR device or ehome one.
The difference this time was that I could load up windows media player and the play and pause was now working! Unfortunately it is still not working for apps like Plex or Emby which I was hoping to replace WMC with as I don't have that installed yet.
Still at least some progress.

technodevotee

Posts: 328
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2015 4:10 pm
Location: West Midlands

HTPC Specs: Show details

#4

Post by technodevotee » Fri Oct 18, 2019 6:58 pm

Some of the files in that package are REALLY old.

technodevotee

Posts: 328
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2015 4:10 pm
Location: West Midlands

HTPC Specs: Show details

#5

Post by technodevotee » Fri Oct 18, 2019 7:35 pm

It seems that you are not alone in your problem as I've found quite a few people searching for a resolution.

I also found this https://en.freedownloadmanager.org/Wind ... -FREE.html but didn't download it.

IDK if it would help.

jachin99

Posts: 1181
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 3:36 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#6

Post by jachin99 » Mon Oct 21, 2019 2:01 pm

I don't think the old ehome drivers are compatible with Windows 10, and the imon software is only going to get your second screen working but I do have something you can try, and a newer copy of IMon if you want it. I had to setup ehome drivers in windows 10 a while back, so that I could use EventGhost to control my TV, AVR, Etc. In order to get IR working correctly I have always had to disable driver signing enforcement in Windows 10, and this might be enough to get your remote working. Before doing this it might be a good idea to uninstall all of your ehome drivers, and you can always reinstall them afterwards. Here are the steps to disable driver signing enforcement described by KGSchlosser from the EventGhost forums from: http://eventghost.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=13&t=9785 If this doesn't work, you can always re-enable signing enforcement using the same process

*****This will restart the computer right after pressing enter*****
First, the computer has to be restarted in the so-called "Options" menu. This is easiest to do with the "Run" dialog. Which is opened by means of the key combination Win + R. The command to boot into the Options menu is as follows:

Code: Select all

shutdown.exe /r /o /f /t 00
Nobody likes to carry out orders, of which he does not know what they are doing. Therefore, the explanation of the individual parameters:
Shutdown.exe - Is a Windows standard program that can shut down and reboot the computer in various ways
/ R - means: Restart
/ O - means: The computer should start in the Options menu
/ F - means: to restart directly and to close all programs automatically
/ T 00 -means the time in seconds until the restart is performed. In this case 0 seconds - ie immediate restart.

-In the first menu, click the "Troubleshooting" button. In the second menu screen, click the "Advanced Options" button.

-In the "Advanced Options", go to "Start Settings". Click the "Restart" button.

-After restarting the computer you land in the startup settings. Several options are available here, which are selected by pressing the numeric key. We need the option 7 - "Disable the driver signature" - to install unsigned drivers on Windows 1After another restart from the startup settings, you can now also install unsigned drivers in Windows via the device manager.

-Immediately upon restart at the earliest possible time, make sure you have your remote ready, and pointed at the receiver then pick any button and press it as quickly as possible over and over again all the way through the boot process, the login process and a maybe a minute or two after login. I actually typed in my password with one hand, and kept pressing the remote button with another. If you feel like you are up to the task then this is something to try, and the whole thing is easily reversible. Once you have signing enforcement disabled you will have to leave it that way in order for your remote to work. I also can't be sure your case uses ehome for IR but it probably does.

You might also want to uninstall the ehome drivers, before you do this, and reinstall them afterwards. If this doesn't work out you can always re-enable signing enforcement

Post Reply