TV card busy for live tv

Discussion of getting WMC to work on Windows 10 (unsupported)
Post Reply
1ST1

Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2016 8:29 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

TV card busy for live tv

#1

Post by 1ST1 » Tue Aug 20, 2019 10:14 pm

Hello, I have installed WMC 8.8.4 on Win 10 1903. I have a twin DVBs card and it is setup to work with WMC. It does record TV fine from epg. But for live TV the card is always busy, even if there is currently no recording. It looks like the recording service always takes the TV card and never ends.

I already reset the WMC settings using that ResetSettings.cmd and setu again. No change. I also uninstalled WMC and reinstalled. No change.

Any idea?

technodevotee

Posts: 328
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2015 4:10 pm
Location: West Midlands

HTPC Specs: Show details

#2

Post by technodevotee » Tue Aug 20, 2019 10:27 pm

So you can play recorded TV OK? What is the exact message you get when trying to watch Live TV? If you leave it with the error message showing, does WMC ever restart itself?

1ST1

Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2016 8:29 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#3

Post by 1ST1 » Tue Aug 20, 2019 10:39 pm

Watching recorded WTV works fine.

Image

This is the message that the TV cards are busy.

Image
Translation is something like that:

Tuner conflict
At the moment all tuners are in use
To choose another channel select the other channel or the recorded video.

I can close WMC, I can restart WMC, I can reboot PC, allways the same.

technodevotee

Posts: 328
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2015 4:10 pm
Location: West Midlands

HTPC Specs: Show details

#4

Post by technodevotee » Tue Aug 20, 2019 11:36 pm

I would suggest that you try my utility roll_back_dlls, which can be downloaded from here: https://www.dropbox.com/s/6y5h6a9zwo8yq ... s.zip?dl=1

If that doesn't work you could uninstall V8.8.4 and try V13 instead.

In either case you will need to use the utility or the supplied add-on replace_dlls.cmd and/or fix_thumbnails.cmd the next time MS break it.

V13 is available here: https://www.dropbox.com/s/hlr28dec8htod ... 64.7z?dl=1.

1ST1

Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2016 8:29 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#5

Post by 1ST1 » Wed Aug 21, 2019 6:27 pm

Hello, thanks, the rollback dll script did the job. So I hope that it will not have negative side effects.

technodevotee

Posts: 328
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2015 4:10 pm
Location: West Midlands

HTPC Specs: Show details

#6

Post by technodevotee » Wed Aug 21, 2019 8:07 pm

1ST1 wrote:
Wed Aug 21, 2019 6:27 pm
Hello, thanks, the rollback dll script did the job. So I hope that it will not have negative side effects.
I'm glad about that.

I haven't had any issues on any of my PCs that could be attributed to using my add-ons or roll back utility and I haven't had any complaints yet.

But someone, somewhere may have some software that requires the latest filters and codecs so I thought it was prudent to issue warnings about potential undesirable effects.

Post Reply