WMC-V13 for 32 bit and 64 bit Windows 10

Discussion of getting WMC to work on Windows 10 (unsupported)
Onceaweek

Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2022 4:12 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#221

Post by Onceaweek » Wed Mar 02, 2022 4:33 am

The links are NOT working!!!

paulcarrm9mx

Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2020 8:41 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#222

Post by paulcarrm9mx » Wed Mar 02, 2022 4:40 am

Looks like he's let the domain slip away, gutted it was really handy.

User avatar
plplplpl

Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2012 5:45 pm
Location: Montreal

HTPC Specs: Show details

#223

Post by plplplpl » Wed Mar 02, 2022 4:53 am

The solution is to travel back in time. :)

https://web.archive.org/web/20200826082 ... nloads.htm

Onceaweek

Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2022 4:12 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#224

Post by Onceaweek » Wed Mar 02, 2022 4:56 am

Thank you but I am looking for 32 bit

User avatar
plplplpl

Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2012 5:45 pm
Location: Montreal

HTPC Specs: Show details

#225

Post by plplplpl » Wed Mar 02, 2022 5:17 am

Seems 64-bit is all he had and left us with.

https://web.archive.org/web/20200826082 ... tee.co.uk/

If you try it anyway and it happens to work, post your results.

Onceaweek

Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2022 4:12 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#226

Post by Onceaweek » Wed Mar 02, 2022 5:44 am

No luck :(

User avatar
plplplpl

Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2012 5:45 pm
Location: Montreal

HTPC Specs: Show details

#227

Post by plplplpl » Wed Mar 02, 2022 5:46 am

Sad to hear. Have you considered getting a 64-bit rig?

technodevotee

Posts: 817
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2015 4:10 pm
Location: West Midlands

HTPC Specs: Show details

#228

Post by technodevotee » Wed Mar 02, 2022 9:15 am

@Onceaweek

PM sent to you.

@Anyone else looking for V13 or my tools

They are no longer publicly available because:

1/ there is a small chance of vulnerabilities being introduced by backdating system DLLs
2/ there is a small possibility of causing incompatibility issues with other software
3/ the newer versions offer a much better solution for the vast majority of users

Having said that, If anyone *needs* any of my stuff, send me a PM and I'll send you a one time link to it.

ginger334

Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2022 2:32 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#229

Post by ginger334 » Wed Mar 16, 2022 2:48 pm

Link is dead! :thumbdown:

User avatar
plplplpl

Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2012 5:45 pm
Location: Montreal

HTPC Specs: Show details

#230

Post by plplplpl » Wed Mar 16, 2022 3:57 pm

Contact our friend technodevotee via PM, or find some of his good stuff here: https://web.archive.org/web/20200826082 ... tee.co.uk/ Still live for me.

Onceaweek

Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2022 4:12 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#231

Post by Onceaweek » Thu Mar 24, 2022 2:26 am

Thank you so much technodevotee for taking the time to send this to me. I really appreciate it. :thumbup:

alect71

Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2020 11:27 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#232

Post by alect71 » Wed Apr 06, 2022 9:32 am

Hey all

I've been happily running WMC on win10 for a few years. After some recent updates it won't start up.

I have found the windows log file and the following:

Log Name: Application
Source: Application Error
Date: 5/04/2022 10:57:12 PM
Event ID: 1000
Task Category: (100)
Level: Error
Keywords: Classic
User: N/A
Computer: Media-Hub
Description:
Faulting application name: ehshell.exe, version: 6.3.9600.16384, time stamp: 0x5215efc2
Faulting module name: KERNELBASE.dll, version: 10.0.19041.1566, time stamp: 0x0833f2d4
Exception code: 0xe0434352
Fault offset: 0x0000000000034f69
Faulting process id: 0x23b0
Faulting application start time: 0x01d848ec96861a7e
Faulting application path: C:\Windows\ehome\ehshell.exe
Faulting module path: C:\WINDOWS\System32\KERNELBASE.dll
Report Id: e19de0ea-315a-409e-8537-4b3b150c8d4b
Faulting package full name:
Faulting package-relative application ID:
Event Xml:
<Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
<System>
<Provider Name="Application Error" />
<EventID Qualifiers="0">1000</EventID>
<Version>0</Version>
<Level>2</Level>
<Task>100</Task>
<Opcode>0</Opcode>
<Keywords>0x80000000000000</Keywords>
<TimeCreated SystemTime="2022-04-05T12:57:12.4086070Z" />
<EventRecordID>905</EventRecordID>
<Correlation />
<Execution ProcessID="0" ThreadID="0" />
<Channel>Application</Channel>
<Computer>Media-Hub</Computer>
<Security />
</System>
<EventData>
<Data>ehshell.exe</Data>
<Data>6.3.9600.16384</Data>
<Data>5215efc2</Data>
<Data>KERNELBASE.dll</Data>
<Data>10.0.19041.1566</Data>
<Data>0833f2d4</Data>
<Data>e0434352</Data>
<Data>0000000000034f69</Data>
<Data>23b0</Data>
<Data>01d848ec96861a7e</Data>
<Data>C:\Windows\ehome\ehshell.exe</Data>
<Data>C:\WINDOWS\System32\KERNELBASE.dll</Data>
<Data>e19de0ea-315a-409e-8537-4b3b150c8d4b</Data>
<Data>
</Data>
<Data>
</Data>
</EventData>
</Event>


Any ideas of how to fix this and to keep using WMC as I want to do?

technodevotee

Posts: 817
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2015 4:10 pm
Location: West Midlands

HTPC Specs: Show details

#233

Post by technodevotee » Wed Apr 06, 2022 11:13 am

Given the thread you posted in, I assume you are running V13 so my question is this:

Have you tried running restore_MSSQLLite.cmd from within the installer folder?

alect71

Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2020 11:27 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#234

Post by alect71 » Wed Apr 06, 2022 11:57 am

technodevotee wrote:
Wed Apr 06, 2022 11:13 am
Given the thread you posted in, I assume you are running V13 so my question is this:

Have you tried running restore_MSSQLLite.cmd from within the installer folder?
hm....v13 - need to check - but can't since it doesn't start up. How do I check?

Is there a link to the v13 install file if I can't determine the version i am running?

technodevotee

Posts: 817
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2015 4:10 pm
Location: West Midlands

HTPC Specs: Show details

#235

Post by technodevotee » Wed Apr 06, 2022 1:01 pm

V13 is the only version that contains the file in the installer folder, wherever that is located.

alect71

Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2020 11:27 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#236

Post by alect71 » Wed Apr 06, 2022 1:35 pm

technodevotee wrote:
Wed Apr 06, 2022 1:01 pm
V13 is the only version that contains the file in the installer folder, wherever that is located.
sorry don't understand that...

technodevotee

Posts: 817
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2015 4:10 pm
Location: West Midlands

HTPC Specs: Show details

#237

Post by technodevotee » Wed Apr 06, 2022 1:55 pm

With the exception of Gary's MSI installer, all WMC installers come as a compressed file that needs to be uncompressed to somewhere so that the installer.cmd file can be executed.

Unless it was saved on removeable media or deleted, the installer folder should still be somewhere on your hard disk.

It will be called WMC-V(something or other).

If you can't find it, then you'll need to download a new copy.

alect71

Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2020 11:27 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#238

Post by alect71 » Sun Apr 10, 2022 12:33 am

is there a link to v13 donwload?

alect71

Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2020 11:27 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#239

Post by alect71 » Sun Apr 10, 2022 12:44 am

I have V6 .3.9600 - am I best to go to V 8.8.5? - https://mega.nz/file/GKQx3aTB#1PY2AgBQh ... Sc5b2G1XhE

technodevotee

Posts: 817
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2015 4:10 pm
Location: West Midlands

HTPC Specs: Show details

#240

Post by technodevotee » Sun Apr 10, 2022 5:11 am

V8.8.5 or Gary's MSI installer is the way to go for most people but whichever one you install, you would need to use an old style installer package to uninstall what you have first and you might have trouble uninstalling if you don't use the same one that was used to install it.

Unfortunately, the file version doesn't help with determining which installer was used but the dates of the files in \windows\ehome does.

If they are mostly dated 2014 then it was probably V 8.8.4 or earlier
If they are virtually all dated 2015 then it was probably V13
If they are all dated 2020 then it was probably V8.8.5

You could try using WMC multi tool to fix it but if that doesn't work then removing and reinstalling may be your only option.

I don't make any of my stuff available publicly any more because of the chance of introducing vulnerabilities by backdating system DLLs but I can send you a link if you need it.
Last edited by technodevotee on Sun Apr 10, 2022 11:43 am, edited 2 times in total.

Post Reply