Announcing WMC 8.8.2

Discussion of getting WMC to work on Windows 10 (unsupported)
cwinfield

Posts: 548
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2013 1:14 am
Location: Monroe, NC

HTPC Specs: Show details

Re: Announcing WMC 8.8.2

#21

Post by cwinfield » Tue Apr 09, 2019 12:07 am

Read here for the fix viewtopic.php?f=97&t=12186

juzdownunder

Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2019 11:47 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#22

Post by juzdownunder » Wed Apr 10, 2019 11:29 pm

Thanks. Mine wasn't a BSoD but it does sound similar.

Regardless, I kept working at it, uninstalling, rebooting and reinstalling 8.8.2, and trying various compatibility settings with WMC. On about the 4th install I actually ran installGreen instead of Blue, and the script finally got past the "installing files" line, it looked to go smoothly. And sure enough now it runs....may be coincidence, perhaps installBlue would have worked on that run as well, there's something about this WMC that seems to need multiple installs and reboots to finally get going.

Anyway....it is now SO much better than it has been for years...it's back to full functionality from when it used to be supported by MS.....all free to air HD channels working, ff/rew, skip fw/back all working exactly as they should. Resuming from sleep properly without the windows logo getting stuck on the screen. Everything seems exactly as it should be. What a relief after all these years of struggilng with it! My family is just so used to using WMC for their TV watching, we've tried so many alternatives and they just don't match it.

Mind you the green coloured WMC looks awful! Why did anyone ever go with that? Text descriptions of shows are almost impossible to read....is there a way to switch colors without having to reinstall all over again?
EDIT: discovered the "ehres.dll" file does the color. Took quite a while to work out how to take the correct security rights to be able to change it, but got there in the end. The blue is a much better interface imho

hk2000

Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2019 11:04 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#23

Post by hk2000 » Wed Apr 17, 2019 8:37 pm

It won't run on Win 10 1809 version, not only that, it will break windows, and you'll have to reinstall or restore your system via windows10 Recovery options..

juzdownunder

Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2019 11:47 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#24

Post by juzdownunder » Wed Apr 17, 2019 11:24 pm

That's not quote true, I have 1809 and it's working perfectly for me now. It did (possibly) kill my Windows, but after a brand new install of Win10 and a few runs of the install it's doing everything it should. I didn't have to do the registry changes mentioned in viewtopic.php?f=97&t=12186

Post Reply