Indexing of EPG list not finished

Discussion of getting WMC to work on Windows 10 (unsupported)
Post Reply
1ST1

Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2016 8:29 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

Indexing of EPG list not finished

#1

Post by 1ST1 » Wed Jun 20, 2018 9:50 pm

Hello, I am using WMC with 1803 and DVBS2 card. Basically it works. But I can not search for titles or desctiption contents of the EPG for recording. I have set up several keywords to record TV shows by topic, but only one (the 2nd in the priority) in list regulary is found, scheduled and recorded, others not. If I go to EPG and start a search I get an error message (in German) which says that the search result is incomplete as the indexing of the TV programm lists is not finished. It's never finished. What can I do?

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 3844
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#2

Post by garyan2 » Thu Jun 21, 2018 8:16 pm

The last couple Win10 updates have disabled indexing of the media center database. You just need to re-enable it. Not at my computer so can't describe it, but that is the direction you need to go.
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 3844
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#3

Post by garyan2 » Fri Jun 22, 2018 2:23 am

Search for "Indexing Options" and run it.
Click the 'Advanced' button and then the 'Rebuild' button.
After a few seconds, you should then see Windows Media Center in the main window. If not, you can add it by using the 'Modify' button. It will start indexing automatically.

To hurry up things, you may go to 'Task Scheduler', \Microsoft\Windows\Media Center, and run 'ReindexSearchRoot' and 'PvrScheduleTask'.
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

1ST1

Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2016 8:29 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#4

Post by 1ST1 » Sun Jun 24, 2018 7:14 am

Hello, thanks, did that, but there is no ''PvrScheduleTask'.

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 3844
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#5

Post by garyan2 » Sun Jun 24, 2018 3:23 pm

1ST1 wrote:Hello, thanks, did that, but there is no ''PvrScheduleTask'.
Really? There's no PvrScheduleTask, but there is ReindexSearchRoot?
PvrScheduleTask.PNG
To do it manually, you can run "c:\windows\ehome\mcupdate.exe -PvrSchedule"
A manual ReindexSearchRoot looks like "c:\windows\ehome\ehPrivJob.exe /DoReindexSearchRoot"
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

1ST1

Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2016 8:29 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#6

Post by 1ST1 » Sun Jun 24, 2018 9:01 pm

I have added that scheduled task manually and now it works. Thanks for your help.

sdowney717

Posts: 114
Joined: Sun Jan 05, 2014 2:21 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#7

Post by sdowney717 » Sun Nov 10, 2019 6:26 pm

Thanks for pointing this indexing and running those tasks. I just installed WMC 8.8.4 on windows 10 ver 1903 and had same issue, nothing was searchable.

Will this also fix WMC rerecording duplicate shows? I set WMC to use all my recorded tv libraries but it ignored already recorded tv shows and recorded it again.

User avatar
garyan2

Posts: 3844
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:23 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#8

Post by garyan2 » Sun Nov 10, 2019 6:58 pm

sdowney717 wrote:
Sun Nov 10, 2019 6:26 pm
Will this also fix WMC rerecording duplicate shows? I set WMC to use all my recorded tv libraries but it ignored already recorded tv shows and recorded it again.
Unfortunately, it doesn't work that way. The recording history is stored in the database so if you have a new database (new install), or went through a "recovery" task which creates a new database, then you lose that history. WMC doesn't consider any existing recordings as part of the history.
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

sdowney717

Posts: 114
Joined: Sun Jan 05, 2014 2:21 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#9

Post by sdowney717 » Mon Nov 11, 2019 10:23 am

garyan2 wrote:
Sun Nov 10, 2019 6:58 pm
sdowney717 wrote:
Sun Nov 10, 2019 6:26 pm
Will this also fix WMC rerecording duplicate shows? I set WMC to use all my recorded tv libraries but it ignored already recorded tv shows and recorded it again.
Unfortunately, it doesn't work that way. The recording history is stored in the database so if you have a new database (new install), or went through a "recovery" task which creates a new database, then you lose that history. WMC doesn't consider any existing recordings as part of the history.
Thanks, nice to know its working as designed.
I can say that with windows 7, I was having more glitching and slower hard drive performance visible in WMC.
In win 10 ver 1903, it is much peppier performance. I have 4 drives with recorded shows, 8 terabytes worth of data. In win 7, the panels when viewing the shows were slow to populate, in win 10 they are almost instant. So better hard drive performance in win 10.
And fewer glitches. in win 7, sometimes computer would do something that demanded a lot of resources, and the show would stop, stutter till the CPU or whatever was done. I have not seem any of that in win 10.

I also setup WMC pooler and it seems to work. It set the WMC to record to any available space you tell it.

I set updates to delay the max 35 days. I wonder if 1909 since its a minor update from 1903 will affect WMC?

Post Reply