Need help installing Tuning Adapter service in Windows 10

Discussion of getting WMC to work on Windows 10 (unsupported)
Post Reply
TechSavvy

Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2016 10:47 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

Need help installing Tuning Adapter service in Windows 10

#1

Post by TechSavvy » Sun Sep 17, 2017 8:28 pm

Cross-post: viewtopic.php?p=121938#p121938

tl;dr: Has anyone been able to install a tuning adapter (TA) / tuning resolver service successfully in Windows 10? My specific problem is for a Hauppauge DCR-2650 (installed successfully) and a Cisco STA1520 (shows in Device Manager, but not detected by DCR-2650 and service not installed). I have run Hauppauge's tuning resolver service installer (as admin account), but the service doesn't show up in Services. I don't know whether this is an issue installing legacy services in Windows 10 or what. (Windows 10 Version 1703, Build 15063.540) I also have tried the HDHomeRun installer (as required by NextPVR) but it stops configuring things after not detecting an HDHomeRun tuner.

Greetings!

I just bought an Intel NUC (Kaby Lake model) and am trying to get it set up to replace my current HTPC (Media Center 7) setup. (I probably should have gone with a Skylake model that supports Windows 8, but I wanted something that could output 4K to the TV. Oh well.) After failing to install the graphics driver on Windows 8.1 -- the only thing that stood between me and a MCE setup -- I decided to just go with the Windows 10 upgrade (which is still working using the Windows 10 Upgrade Tool).

Before trying to get DVR software (unsupported Windows 10 MCE or NextPVR) working, I need to get my Hauppauge DCR-2650 and TA (Cisco STA1520) squared away. I have the DCR-2650 working with an already-activated CableCard -- it even will tune channels that don't require the tuning adapter -- but I have not been able to get the _tuning resolver service_ installed yet in Windows 10. The actual device shows up with a working driver in the Device Manager, but the Hauppauge status page (web browser) does not see it connected (most likely because the service isn't installed).

One thing I haven't tried is doing the install in Windows 8.1 before upgrading to 10 to see whether it carries over.

Thanks in advance!

jachin99

Posts: 1145
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 3:36 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#2

Post by jachin99 » Mon Sep 18, 2017 4:58 pm

its a long shot but could have to do with Win 10 anniversary update requiring all drivers to be signed? If so, your tuner might not be installing properly.

SpencerC

Posts: 119
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2015 1:35 am
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#3

Post by SpencerC » Mon Sep 18, 2017 11:38 pm

For my HDHomeRun tuner, I actually had to use an older driver for it to work. Maybe the same thing applies to your Hauppauge tuner?

TechSavvy

Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2016 10:47 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#4

Post by TechSavvy » Tue Sep 19, 2017 11:56 am

I'll check both of these things out and report back. Thanks!

TechSavvy

Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2016 10:47 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details

#5

Post by TechSavvy » Wed Sep 20, 2017 3:03 am

I contacted Hauppauge and the support guy said to enable .NET Framework 3.5 manually in Turn Windows Features On and Off. I did that and now see the service in the Services panel. Unfortunately, the CableCard status page reports that no tuning resolver is connected. So, I replied with that status and we'll see what happens. I can't imagine what would be preventing that from working.

User avatar
Crash2009

Posts: 4355
Joined: Thu May 17, 2012 12:38 am
Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan

HTPC Specs: Show details
5+ Yrs TGB Veteran

#6

Post by Crash2009 » Wed Sep 20, 2017 5:54 am

CableCards in Win10 have been knocked out since August 2016. If you want Win 10 and CableCard you need to use a 2015 version of Win10.

If Win10 ever gives you any back-talk.....Run TestRights as admin and install through TestRights. TestRights has the highest privledges.

One thing I just thought of, but never tried is..... Install the tuner with no CableCard in it

User avatar
DavidinCT

Posts: 1390
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 3:45 pm
Location:

HTPC Specs: Show details
5+ Yrs TGB Veteran Microsoft MVP

#7

Post by DavidinCT » Sun Sep 24, 2017 3:28 pm

Also you could go back to Windows 7, there is some 3rd party hack that makes the OS support the CPU and not get the annoying "This CPU is not supported by this version of Windows"

Info here....

http://digiworthy.com/2017/01/28/window ... gp-driver/

And I understand installing Windows 7 on this hardware can be a little challenging to say the least.

Sad to say, Windows 10 and Windows Media Center WITH a cablecard is not a way anyone should attempt. Unless you want to be completely outdated (the Version of Windows 10 that WMC supports is no longer supported by Microsoft), if that is a case, you might as well run 8.1 or 7...
-Dave
Twitter @TheCoolDave

Windows Media Center certified and WMC MVP 2010 - 2012

Post Reply