Page 1 of 1

WMC - Win10-32bit

Posted: Sat Jul 22, 2017 8:58 pm
by aeblank
Howdy,

My Win10 machine updated and broke WMC. It's a Lenovo stick 300.
I caught up on WMC/Win10 and found 8.8.1. Looked promising (I don't need tuners).

Well, it's only for 64 bit. The stick 300 seems to be *not* a good idea to update to 64 bit.

So, what do I do now? What is the latest version of WMC that might work? I can perhaps restore to a previous version of windows 10, but it'll eventually update again without my permission and break again. Is there any way to make a 64bit version *into* a 32 bit version?

Thanks.

Re: WMC - Win10-32bit

Posted: Sat Jul 22, 2017 9:30 pm
by mrduab
No you can't covert it, someone needs to build a 32bit version. I have asked this before on other forums and they won't create one for V8.8.1 as most people have 64bit OS these days.

I have 2 PC sticks similar to you which are 32 bit and have the same issue. The only fix I have is to "reset" windows 10 and reinstall all apps and use the V12 WMC10 install for 32bit.

Bit of a pain but only happens when Microsoft do a big update which hopefully should.only be annually.

Re: WMC - Win10-32bit

Posted: Sat Jul 22, 2017 10:09 pm
by aeblank
bleah. Wish I was smart enough to build my own.

Oddly though, I tried re-installing what I had (winaero something, from well over a year ago) and it WORKED. re-set it up and it *seems* to be fine. Go figure.

That said, I'd love 8.8.1 for x86.

the stick is the best form factor for traveling ("camping", in this case). If it weren't for that, I'd just run win7 and be done.

Re: WMC - Win10-32bit

Posted: Sun Jul 23, 2017 5:23 am
by Crash2009
aeblank wrote:bleah. Wish I was smart enough to build my own.

Oddly though, I tried re-installing what I had (winaero something, from well over a year ago) and it WORKED. re-set it up and it *seems* to be fine. Go figure.

That said, I'd love 8.8.1 for x86.

the stick is the best form factor for traveling ("camping", in this case). If it weren't for that, I'd just run win7 and be done.
x86 is available in v12 You need to be a member to see the links. Click on the Spoiler under Release History

https://forums.mydigitallife.net/thread ... ves.61061/

Re: WMC - Win10-32bit

Posted: Mon Mar 26, 2018 2:46 am
by aeblank
Crash2009 wrote:
aeblank wrote:bleah. Wish I was smart enough to build my own.

Oddly though, I tried re-installing what I had (winaero something, from well over a year ago) and it WORKED. re-set it up and it *seems* to be fine. Go figure.

That said, I'd love 8.8.1 for x86.

the stick is the best form factor for traveling ("camping", in this case). If it weren't for that, I'd just run win7 and be done.
x86 is available in v12 You need to be a member to see the links. Click on the Spoiler under Release History

https://forums.mydigitallife.net/thread ... ves.61061/
My ibm stick just updated and WMC is gone. I'm on vacation. Any chance for a link for the latest 32bit version? Hard to navigate 400 some pages on that link you gave being away from home.

Sorry / thanks.

Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk

Re: WMC - Win10-32bit

Posted: Mon Mar 26, 2018 2:57 am
by cwinfield
Original .7z Installers: : That is v12 and should work with x86 . https://mega.nz/#!PwUCQK5K!XLwP6W-RFrYu ... FMeRGBjd80

Re: WMC - Win10-32bit

Posted: Mon Mar 26, 2018 1:28 pm
by aeblank
cwinfield wrote:Original .7z Installers: : That is v12 and should work with x86 . https://mega.nz/#!PwUCQK5K!XLwP6W-RFrYu ... FMeRGBjd80
Thanks. Will give it a try as soon as I can.

Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk

Re: WMC - Win10-32bit

Posted: Mon Mar 26, 2018 1:56 pm
by DavidinCT
aeblank wrote:My ibm stick just updated and WMC is gone. I'm on vacation.
Welcome to WMC on Windows 10....Sigh... I think everyone who keeps updates on runs into this one...

Re: WMC - Win10-32bit

Posted: Mon Mar 26, 2018 3:15 pm
by aeblank
DavidinCT wrote:
aeblank wrote:My ibm stick just updated and WMC is gone. I'm on vacation.
Welcome to WMC on Windows 10....Sigh... I think everyone who keeps updates on runs into this one...
I turned updates off, I swear it. Can't remember how. Some registry "hack" methinks.

Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk

Re: WMC - Win10-32bit

Posted: Mon Mar 26, 2018 4:06 pm
by Crash2009
you might have to shut off Defender as well. I suspect if "WE" disable Update Service, that might be considered critical to the O/S..... easy enough for MS to place a scheduled time bomb task with the assistance of Defender.

No proof, just a hunch.

BTW...My Updates were disabled by Disable the Service

Re: WMC - Win10-32bit

Posted: Mon Jul 30, 2018 5:55 pm
by aeblank
I *keep* having windows update (INFURIATING) despite me trying to stop it.

Is there an x86 version that works on whatever the current windows 10 is (creator's update or whatever it is now)?
I don't need cablecard (or even tuner) support.

Over the weekend it updated, so I had to wait for the update. Then I had to go back to a previous version. Then all is good again, except I always forget to unplug my external drive, and I lose a bunch of stuff. I'm working on restoring it right now, but it's a 14 hour scan. It (my laptop, when I plugged in the "media center external drive") wanted to do a scandisk which took hours upon hours too.

I already deleted the windows update program (the .exe that does it), so windows update proper is not updating. (long ago)
I did a registry edit that's supposed to ask me before updates. (after this most recent incident)
I uninstalled some update sounding things in the apps. (after this most recent incident)
But what it's doing isn't a windows update thing, it's a version update or something. Not sure what to call it. Not sure how to stop it.

So anyway, either a better way to stop it or a x86 version that *works* on the most recent version. Are either a possibility?

Re: WMC - Win10-32bit

Posted: Sun May 05, 2019 6:39 pm
by AZDoug
Are there any new developments regarding installing WMC on Win 10 32 bit? If so, I haven't found anything more recent.

My original HTPC has an early AMD dual core and it won't run Win 10 64.

Re: WMC - Win10-32bit

Posted: Mon May 06, 2019 1:18 pm
by aeblank
Not that I'm aware of. I've managed to get there updates to stop. Not positive what did it. I tried so many things.

I'll be tempted to get a low power "normal" computer that'll just do win7 and I can hide it in a cabinet....if this gives me very much more trouble.

Sent from my moto z3 using Tapatalk


Re: WMC - Win10-32bit

Posted: Thu May 23, 2019 11:22 pm
by technodevotee
AZDoug wrote:
Sun May 05, 2019 6:39 pm
Are there any new developments regarding installing WMC on Win 10 32 bit?
As far as I am aware, V12 is the last readily available 32 bit version (there was a later non DISM 32 bit version published briefly but it vanished).

Problem is that quite apart from the numerous workarounds required to keep it going, V12 almost certainly won't ever be made to install on anything after 1803 because it uses DISM and fails to extract the packages from the image.

Because I wanted a way to continue to run WMC full screen in an RDP session, I have built my own 64 bit installer using the files from V12 cobbled together with a modified installer from V8.8. I called it Version 13 because it is a nightmare!

Before you ask, no, I don't think I have the resources to build a 32 bit version.

Re: WMC - Win10-32bit

Posted: Wed Jun 19, 2019 11:16 am
by technodevotee
Since my last post, I've created a 32 bit installer for WMC-V13.

Details are here: viewtopic.php?f=97&t=12255